Ratings based on 537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money and lovely people

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Just back today from 2 weeks in beautiful Aruba. The occidental at Palm Beach is in a great position for the lovely beach and also the market and restaurants just across the road. Fabulous staff made the stay. Hotel room fine for a 4 star. Great walks along the beach promenade and great pizza at Casa Tua in the evening. Need to ask about what activities are included in the all inclusive as not advertised well. Sail round to the lighthouse (included) Take a trip to down town Oranjestad and go on the submarine. Amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom north America

Use to be nice here

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Every since the new owner took over less professional behavior and especially lower quality food use to love the place. Sorry I won't be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Great vacation.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This was our second time here, and we again thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. The accommodations are better than most, but the excellent staff make this place the destination it is. Even though it all inclusive if you want something different just walk across the street, the restaurants and bars feel like an extension of the hotel. We will be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Possible bedbugs!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Hot water didnt work for the first day and a half, every fixture had rust and dirt around it and we possibly got bedbugs from the room, i would not recomend, the food was soso
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Howell, NJ

Our second visit, and loved it!

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: We like the resort and the grounds and the beach front location.
Cons: The flies, in the Desire restaurant.
Location: Great night life, right out side the resort there are stores to shop and there are other restaurants,take a local bus to downtown area fore shopping
Thank you to Martin for helping us with our check in and making sure that all went well.. This was our second visit and we loved everyday there. The rooms is big and well kept. The resort is well kept. The beachfront is beautiful and plenty of lounge chairs to sit in. We really liked the Italian restaurant, Great waiter Francisco, was very attentive to us. We had good meals at all the other restaurants too. At the Palm restaurant, a big thank you to Eugene, he too was very attentive to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Amazing view and just an overall great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ringgold Ga

Great Beach

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Clean and bright .
Cons: Most other hotels have free WiFi but this hotel does not
Location: We got a cab down town not to far away .They also so have a bus down town ...across the street there are restaurants and rental for bikes etc...
We had a great stay the beach was wonderful and the pool nice We had a garden view and really enjoyed the view ...Nice and quiet a great place to relax ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

Honeymoon in Aruba

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the nightly shows and the location to the beach. It was right on the water.
Cons: The hotel needs some updating. The wallpaper in the hallways, tv's in the room, and newer showers that aren't so high to step in.
Location: The hotel offered a car rental for the day. We rented a jeep and toured the whole island at our own pleasure which was the highlight of our trip
We went to Aruba for our honeymoon. The location of the hotel was excellent as far as location to the beach. This property is beach front. We loved the huts they had but you need to get there early if you want to be under the shade or later in the afternoon. The restaurants were average at best. It was your typical hotel food. There were 5 places where you could eat. The buffet and 4 other ones. The best one was the Japanese restaurant. The portions were a good size unlike the other restaurants where they were small. We ended up eating at the buffet after dinner a few nights because we weren't full. We paid to do the all inclusive as well. It was our first all inclusive trip. The only plus side of it was the convenience of not worrying where are we going to eat breakfast, lunch, dinner everyday. We were recommended to try some of the restaurants off the resort as well but decided not to since we spent the extra money for all inclusive. As for our room, we had a great view overlooking the pool and could see the shore line. They did a great job servicing our room each day but the cleanliness in the bathroom could use work as there was some mold in some areas. The hotel also offers a show every night which we enjoyed a lot. The staff who did the shows were very entertaining and did a great job. Overall we enjoyed our stay because we went to lay on the beach and relax and eat when we pleased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Nice hotel terrible food

Posted Nov 2, 2014
I just arrived from my 6 days of vacation to aruba and we have a great time !! I only have a complaint with the food it was terrible the only restaurant that have a good food was the Japanese.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY

average hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: good but not great. needs updated.
Cons: a lot !!!
Location: great location. lots of shops and places to eat. great beach.
this was our 2nd stay at this hotel . was a little disapointed with room ,needs new furnature, tryed to stay one night in one room then move again got the hotel manger and told her that wasn't going to happen. she got a room right away. but no king bed. two double beds instead . over all had a good time.