Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: nice location
Cons: hotel restuarants
Location: nice location
nice hotel, needs to improve on the restuarants. the same food every day. breakfast was the same. food was not that good. room was clean but had a hard time getting towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location poor food and drink

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The location of the hotel was awesome beach and pool area are very nice and it is located right in the middle of the strip. The condition of the hotel is poor and it shows that it is not maintained, wall paper was peeling bathtub had caulk all over it to stop it from leaking. We got a ocean view the hotels idea of an ocean view is the balcony over looks the parking lot and the ocean is only visible if you look to the left. The food was horrible. Went to the Mexican place and had to leave after the appetizer it was that bad. The only place that was ok was the italian place. The booze was all very cheap and stuff. The only way you could drink it was in a mixed drink loaded with sugar. Won't be staying at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Jersey

Disappointing

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: the security guards and some of the employees were nice, but thats because they are nice people that has nothing to do with the hotel.
Cons: lots! the food should be improved rite away, that was horrible.
Location: near by the hotel and downtown was great many restaurants and bars things to do, traveling around the island is easy and a safe place to travel.
you can find a way better hotel for that price, the overall experience was whatever. we only slept there, the condition of the beach at the hotel was horrible, cup and cigarette butts were everywhere the beach was not cleaned at night so that you can enjoy it clean the next day like with most hotels I've stayed at; also the chairs at the pool and beach were old and not comfy. every single table we sat at for dinner was wobbly, the food was horrible i couldn't eat there after the second day we ate outside of hotel almost every day which sucks cause we paid for all inclusive. also something i hated was you had to wear bracelets to identify that you stayed at that hotel which sucked cause it gave you a tan line and i had professional pics taken so i had to take that bracelet off. there were a lot of things that this hotel can do to make it better. but i would not recommend this place to a friend nor will i stay at an Occidential ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k new york

Nice hotel very nice staff all smiles

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Me and my husband had the most amazing time the hotel was very good all the staff was very polite and all smiles always willing to help you with anything you need I recommend this Hotel to anyone that is looking for a nice place to stay in Aruba . Very affordable too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Va

A Grand Surprise for a Solo Traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The location and ALL INCLUSIVE. The nighttime activities were very entertaining. Easy check in and check out.
Cons: Bathtub/shower combo was very tricky to maneuver. Could offer free wifi. Acquire more floating devices so that everyone can utilize them.
Location: Close to everything nightlife and shopping malls aplenty. The bus stop is in front of the resort.
Please do not read any negative reviews about this gem of a hotel. I stayed at the Occidental Grand from August 13 to August 18. I did not want to leave. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly. I want to personally thank the Italian restaurant manager -Armando- and server -Sylvester- who were very accommodating. They made me feel very welcome and at home and alleviated any fears I had initially as a solo female traveler. The resort is situated right on the beach. I did not have any trouble finding a palapa. The wind is strong but a welcome breeze. Bring clothes pins to secure your beach towel and to hang up wet clothes on balcony. The resort has so many activities that it makes it very hard to want to do an excursion because you don't want to leave the resort. The specialty restaurants do require a reservation. I suggest emailing the hotel a week before your stay to make your dinner reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good Vacation All Inclusive Resort

Posted Aug 25, 2014
All services and venue as expected. Great location in the middle of the high rise resorts, close to great aditional entertaiment venues. One little issue with the reservation, which was fixed once there. Reservations are not good answering email, nor they comunicate well between front and back offices, so call by phone for any special request. The front of the house staff were very attentive, and all the culinary choices were good. If you enyoy wine with dinner I recomend paying extra and get a decent bottle, the house choices given, well as they said, ignorance is a blessing, they are not at the same food level. May be been in the bussiness for long time make me too observant of the details. All these said, I would recomend this Resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Dated hotel but close to beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Very poor hotel. Both elevators were not working for one entire day so we had to use the staircase. On the other days there was always one being repaired. The buffet was poor and the a la carte restaurants had better food but it was very difficult to get reservations. Unfriendly hotel staff. Watered down drinks. The beach and sea was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Attention to detail

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: attention to detail regarding a good deep cleaning.
I read all of the reviews and was concerned but went for it. The hotel has been renovated and was a great deal. The staff are attentive and positive. The housekeeping staff need some further training, I was surprised at the amount of mold in the shower area (i.e. under bath tub) that could be easily missed, but based on the amount I observed while soaking, caused concern. My thoughts then jumped to, what else need more attention. In my books, cleanliness is one of the basics..so a little training for staff, bleach and good daily scrubbing is the foundation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn N.Y

Best location on the strip!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff by far is the best of all. The make you feel like kings and queens! They give it their all to make your stay enjoyable.
Cons: The only suggestion I have is to try to improve on the dinners. The breakfast and lunches are good, the dinners need spices and a little love put in.
Location: So much to do inside the hotel however if you should wan to venture outside, Senor Frogs, Hard Rock and so much more is right across the street.
This is absolutly the place to stay at. Please do not believe the bad reviews. I really do not understand where they come from, they are not true at all. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a smile and hello from everyone. They make you feel like family here. I stayed in Royal club suite #1714 and 1717 for the rest of our clan, the views were incredible. The rooms were beautiful, marble floors, clean and well stocked with towels and drinks. The bathroom was very nice,jetted tub and walk through shower. I miss that shower already : ( I can not say one bad thing about this place. I could have stayed in any of these hotels and I am glad we chose this one. As a matter of fact you can walk on the path in back along the beach to see all the other hotels and the OCCIDENTAL has the best pool! All the action was at the Occidental! The other hotels didn't have the entertainment all day. Tons of fun for everyone. Go and stay they call Aruba the Happy Island - I call the OCCIDENTAL the Happy Hotel!!! It's nice to tip the staff every now and then the really show their appreciation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

beach and pool excellent location.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: the pool
Cons: food choices and food preparation (food in warming trays was cool (not heated) and sometimes were nearly emplty.
Location: other hotels to visit at Palm Beach and bus ride downtown to visit city.
Below par. Food quality and choices for meals was disappointing. Furniture in room was antiquated. Came for vacation, not to be bothered with vacation packages (time shares). Pool was excellent. Nightly entertainment was awful, very amateurish. Casino play was non-existent (a little play and pay) wouldn't hurt for someone to stay here for a week.