Ratings based on 743 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location and convenience.
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Good restaurants, shopping and the beach.
Have stayed at the Renaissance 7 of my last nine trips to Aruba and have always been totally satisfied. We had one of the renovated suites which was lovely and comfortable. Discovered that one of the sinks in the bathroom the drain was closed and we could not get it open. Front desk said someone would be up to fix it - no one ever showed up so I gave up and got it open myself - but we could not close it if we wanted to. The Sole pool side restaurant was understaffed, and unattentive. Sat down for lunch - no one else seated. The bartender and the one server both ignored us until I went to the bar and asked for menus and drinks.( I checked the time and we had been seated for 15 minutes) Asked at the front desk if we could borrow a pair of scissors to cut a tag and they refused. Last day when we packed and I was doing a sweep of the unit to make sure we had everything and I looked under the couch in the sitting room and there were empty drink bottles ( not ours) and wrappers. Planning on returning to Aruba next year - but for the first time questioning whether or not we will stay at the Renaissance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

great hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
perfect. close to beach and shopping. Nice pool. Nice room. Great staff. Free shuttle to private island. Better than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location Downtown Aruba, private beach.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Lovely stay. Adults only hotel,great staff, Happy hour at the pool,perfect location,very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The private island!
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Shops, restaurants and walking distance to the bus stop to see other places on the island.
We stayed 6 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Hotel was walking distance to many shops as it was in the center of downtown Aruba. Loved the private island and wish that we had spent more time there. It was available from 7am to 7pm. Our last day there we got up early to go stay on the private island and was the first ones to arrive except for the workers. It is absolutely divine! So peaceful and quiet. We also enjoyed the Casino within the hotel. Not big gamblers but fun playing on the penny machine and actually won both nights. The bed was most comfortable. The room we got was a king size bed with an island view. The balcony was small only able to stand out and view the island but was nice. Even though our hotel was not on the beach I think it was perfect as we had excess to the private island beach just for hotel guest only. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guyana

Very nice hotel and it's close to most restaurant

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The island is amazing and the hotel is very beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Hotel OK, Steak House restaurant terrible.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms were cleaned promptly and the room service meals were prompt.
Cons: Steakhouse and private island restaurant need improvement.
Location: Good location to shopping, some restaurants.
The hotel was clean and room service staff was good. The "adult only" section is on the other side of the road from the waterfront, which is not clearly stated on the website. I was looking forward to a good steak dinner, and got served a $44 porterhouse that was mostly gristle, half raw, and half overcooked. It was so bad I ate seafood for the rest of the trip. (The Old Fisherman, Delamar, and Redfish restaurants were all good and the first two are two blocks from the hotel.) The private island swimming is fine, but the restaurant there was filthy. The tables weren't bussed, the floor hadn't been cleaned all day with lizards and birds fighting over the food scraps on the floor. The flies were horrendous - we had to eat with one hand and continuously fan the air with the other hand. This restaurant needs new management, retrained staff, and a powerwashing. The hotel regular restaurant serves a mediocre breakfast, but is at least clean and well-staffed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from caracas

Excellent

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Near the AirPort
Near the airport. Very comfortable and excellent facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgetown, Guyana

Great location with excellent settings

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We love to stay at the Renaissance. The settings is really beautiful especially the incoming planes. The pool is great with nice confined beaches. Had a wonderful family vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from GA

Decent moderate hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: private beach island
I would rate this hotel somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. Very close to the airport in downtown, pools are nice and small beach for kids at hotel. The selling point is the private island with very nice beach and bar/restaurant. Very relaxing. Breakfast is fine, the other meals are moderate. We had all inclusive but would not do that again. Airco in bedroom was noisy so slept on the sleeper sofa. Rooms in Ocean suites are roomy. Renovations are ongoing but not disturbing. Most of the staff are very nice and friendly. Check bill for internet. I was charged for room connection and had only used wifi by pool and in lobby. they did discount however when mentioned. Overall OK hotel and when we were there peaceful and quiet, so we had a relaxing vacation, but if you are looking for a luxury resort then it is better to go to the high rises.area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach and convenient

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We loved the convenience of the hotel. We had everything around us. The staff was very friendly and helpful.