Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Nice resort. Recommend making reservations for restaurants at resort two weeks in advance. Very difficult to get dinner reservations once you've arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. louis

Great hotel, especially adult only. Beach close.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Showers and beds are great!
Cons: The reservations for restaurants is ridiculous!! To stand in line for over an hour to try to get a dinner reservation on my vacation!
Location: didn't leave resort.
Did not like dinner reservation process. It's the worse thing about the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

A lot of dislikes but close to the beautiful beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The dinner reservations. Book ONLY 3 days in advance and we were only to get dinner 1 night out of the 3.
Location: Safe to walk everywhere. Right on the beach
Upon arrival our room wasn't ready until 4:00PM. Paid for FRONT OCEAN view and got a side ocean view. The room was old and had mildew. The safe in our room did not work and had to stay in the room for the 2 hours while maintenance fixed it. I asked to be switched and was told they were booked (didn't seem that way). Dinner reservations were the worst I have EVER experienced. Book ahead for 3 nights however, was only able to get dinner 1 of the 3 nights. The positive parts...Right on the beach, beautiful!!! The pool was clean and beautiful. Staff was friendly and most spoke english. They have a 24 hour "cafe" in the lobby that came in handy. The lobby and restaurants were clean. We went next store to neighboring RIU for buffet lunch and dinner. We found it to be MUCH nicer, cleaner and more food options. I would not go back, very disappointed!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Overbooked

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Nice beach. Good pools, Lobby and restaurants are clean and up to date. Plenty of options for food.
Cons: Rooms have been redone but you can tell. New paint, granite counters and showers but original bathtub..whatever they put on it was peeling off.
Location: Beautiful beach with a lot going on. Nice shopping/dining area.
Arrived for my 50th birthday with a reservation for an Oceanfront Junior Suite. Got to our room which WAS NOT oceanfront. Went back to the front desk and showed them our reservation confirmation. We were directed to a manager who told us they had overbooked these rooms. I do not understand this policy as these reservations are prepaid...they know you are coming. Initially they offered us 5 night complimentary stay on our next visit. Really? Who wins here? What are the chances that we would really be coming back anytime soon for another stay? Finally after getting nasty with a manager, they said they would have an Oceanfront room for us on the following night. Once we were able to move rooms the following day it was fine but we definitely did not get what we paid for the first night. It was a disappointing way to have to start our vacation. You have so little leverage once you arrive at the hotel. It is terrible customer service. Not sure we will book at a Riu location in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fowler, MI

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I loved staying at this hotel. The food was great, the drinks were great. We loved the beach and the overall atmosphere. My one and only complaint is that we had trouble getting reservations for any of the hotel restaurants. Otherwise I had fun and we would want to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: I loved have an adult only hotel!
Cons: Nothing
Location: I would recommend taking an all day tour with ABC Jeep tours. They hit all the highlights of the island!
Everything was very good! I knew what to expect by staying at a RIU. Staff was very friendly and quick to assist you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Allen Park, MI

Right on the beach.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Ocean front suite had the most amazing views off both balconies. The only problem was lack of elevators. Long wait for one at times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is good, food and location are not

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: dissent, but not 5 stars
Cons: Food and way of booking specialty restaurants
Location: Location is not good- very windy
Just returned from our 6 nights trip. We stayed in Westin before Rio bought it. Rooms are the same. we had 1736 room and view was amazing. If you have a chance choose even numbers room and higher floor. Food is ok, but same all days. To book specialty restaurant you have to stay in line from 8 to 11 and there is no place for 6:30 seating and very few for 9 Krystall is good for two location (Riu Palace and Riu Antilus), Stake house is not good, but Lobster there is good, Italian is ok. Wind is very strong in Riu-Westin Area because of 3 big building. Other hotels in Palm beach much less windy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Fantastic all inclusive getaway!!!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The location and the facilities were top notch. The hotel was recently renovated when the Riu took over the Westin and converted it into adult only.
Cons: Availability of dinner reservations at the hotel and the neighboring Aruba palace
Location: One of the main shopping centers is just 5-10 mins walk and starts across the street from the Radisson.
This was our second trip to Aruba, but the first all inclusive at the Riu (first trip was four years ago at the Marriott). Everything about the trip was fantastic - the location, the beach, the friendly staff, the food, the amenities, etc. The only issue was we heard several guests complain about not being able to get dinner reservations at the hotel or the neighboring Riu Palace during their stay. While we were also affected by this, we made three dinner reservations outside of the hotel about two weeks before our arrival so we didn't mind that much. Other than this small hiccup, the week was exactly what my wife and I could have wanted in a completely stress free vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great food, terrible entertainment

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Cons: the entertainment
My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10 day stay at Riu. Pros 1 great buffet food (different theme every night and lots to choose from) 2 great room ( we were on the 17th floor-very clean, neat, with a balcony and everything was in good condition) 3 nice beach bar area (covered bar and seating area which was a nice refuge from the sun when I got super burned) 4 very friendly staff Cons 1 VERY SMALL BEACH (this one bothered me the most. Everyone puts up their lounge chairs so close to the water that it just looks like a clusterf***k and totally ruins the view. You also have to literally wake up at 6 AM to reserve your chairs (as in, you just put a towel or some other belonging on the chairs), but only if you want the huts, most people can still get lounge chairs around 8-9 AM, after that, you're kind of out of luck. I didn't mind this as much because I would wake up at 6 to reserve my hut, do a little yoga on the beach and then head over to breakfast when the food was fresh and plentiful). 2 Horrible, horrible entertainment (you can't even call it that, honestly, it was just bad. Check out the sister hotel next door they play live music in their bar area before the show and much more fun) 3 Really small pool (again, check out the sister hotel's pool, way better in terms of aesthetic and entertainment) 4 Bad drinks (i guess it's a given for all inclusive hotels) 5 De Palm Island Excursion is terrible and boring Overall,it was a nice and relaxing vacation.