Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach and close to shopping center

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Service, restaurants reservation
Location: beach, shopping center
Nice hotel, however the resrvation of the restaurants was very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Staff was great really friendly. Rooms need to be upgraded but everything was exactly what you would expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a ball, don't need to leave resort everything

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The activities they had.
Cons: The time the pool closes needs to be later. And the staff should focus cleaning the pool more often & around the pool.
Had a ball, don't need to leave resort for anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Very friendly staff, spacious room, and good food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible disappointing stay

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: not much. entertainment subpar, food subpar. the most terrible customer service we have ever had in the caribbean
Cons: see above
Location: location not far from airport. activities insignificant
apparently this is not the real RIU and is a westin while the original is undergoing renovations. buyers beware. we were supposed to review an ocean view suite and received a view of the parking lot and a carpet smelling of urine. it was disgusting. only with complaining to a supervisor we were moved to an alternative room, although not even a suite - the hotel stay was for 7 days and we found out later that we were supposed to have been moved to a suite when it became available and this did not happen. Also, we were refused entry to restaurants even though no one told us how to book them - i am 6 months pregnant and clearly showing and they did not want to feed us in an all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: EVEYTHING
THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST THE BEST THE BESTTHE BEST
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
i would not stay anywhere else on my next trip to aruba. first rate staff, the friendliest most attentive people. abundant food choices and very well prepared. themed restaurants are fantastic. clean facilities both in room and common areas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, food horrible, not recommend

Posted May 27, 2015
We were so upset with our stay here. Upon checking in we were put in a room with two queen beds when we booked a king. Then we were told the restaurants were booked for the night so our only option was the buffet (which was plentiful in quantity and options but nothing tasted good). Then the only time to make your reservations is between 8-11 am at a little desk in the lobby. The following morning we went down to do that and had one option Mexican-which was fine. You get 2 dining times only 630 or 9pm (and the nightly shows are 930). At dinner, even though this is an ALL-INCLUSIVE you can only choose 1 thing from the menu. So my 6'5" husband left starving every night with their small portions. Overall we were extremely disappointed with our stay here. It reminded me of a place I would have gone as a teen on spring break.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Highly, highly, highly disappointing

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: Honor an oceanfront booking (do not "upgrade" them to a view of the construction next door).
Location: There isn't much around the hotel - it's at the tip of the strip.
We booked the oceanfront room and after being told they have overbooked, they "upgraded" us to a suite which overlooks the construction site. The construction site has jackhammering that goes from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. every day. They said because it was an upgrade that if anything, we should be charged more money for the room. And the suite really wasn't a suite, they just took two normal rooms, combined them, and made on a sitting room (there's no kitchen or anything like that). We weren't the only one this occurred with - we saw a few folks with the same problem and encountered and talked to them in the lobby. You're really stuck at that point having pre-paid for the room and all. Noone had helped us and everyone was complicit. So, if I had to do it over again, I would not stay here and I would not pay for an oceanfront.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warsaw Poland

May 2015

Posted May 26, 2015
The hotel is bit old and there is a construction of the new hotel nearby First I was offered a room on the odd side - limited ocean view Very noisy becayse of the construction of another Riu next to this hotel And what is much worse a stink of a rot (it was a carpet on the floor) Then i went back to the Reception and insisted to change the room into another side Then my paradise stay started Btw there is quite windy on the beach also because the building works like gigantic sail so you have to find a good place to enjoy the sun. Otherwise you will have a full body peeling most of the time for free