Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect honeymoon! We will be back!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
First time to Aruba and we were very impressed and WILL be back! RIU had phenomenal food (and were foodies) fresh seafood, delicious flavors, and many selections. The hotel is on the beach and the water is safe and fun to swim in. The beach is very clean too. The RIU staff was very kind, helpful, clean, and honest. The location of RIU Antillas was excellent aswell. You can walk to bars at night and you are safe!! We've been all over Mexico and Belize and they don't compare to Aruba. You can drink the water in Aruba and you won't get sick, you won't get harassed by people trying to sell you stuff, you won't get harassed by little kids begging for money, you won't get ripped off by taxis. RIU served us lobster tail and filet migon! Delicious and all included in the all inclusive! They have bottom shelf and medium shelf liquor, absolout & Smirnoff vodka, red label, Bacardi superior rum, concha y toro wines from Chile, and good champagne that won't give you a headache! All unlimited!! The wind in aruba is a blessing as it is hot and humid. Just be sure to wear sunglasses and a baseball style hat. This will keep the sand out of your eyes. The only things you might want to know and aren't even a big deal, are that you have to make reservations for the dinner restuarnts between 7-11 am and men need to bring pants, and a few collared shirts to wear. Other than that no reservations are needed for the dinner buffet (that is different every night!) where men can wear t shirts and shorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great time!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The staff was always helpful and with a smile. The buffet always had an assortment so you really could have something different everyday.
Cons: We tried the Steak House and then also the French place. I was not too impressed. Also, please have towels available after 6:00 pm.
Location: The location is good and you can walk to the Butterfly Farm. There is also quite a bit of shopping you can do within a 1/2 mile walk.
We started out this vacation a little bit apprehensive due to mixed reviews. This is our second time back and I can tell you that it was great. We stayed on the 17th floor of the Riu Antilles and looked over the ocean. We have stayed at a few different all inclusives like in Mexico and the Dominican Republic and this was a fun place to stay. I love being able to tour around the island freely with no worries. It is One Happy Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great hotel, great facilities, close to everything

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Great facilities, within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Beach very clean lots of activities staff was very friendly and helpful, would highly recommend. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Wonderful hotel, could not have asked for more...

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything...the staff, our room, the food and drinks
Cons: The bathtub in our oom. There seemed to be a gap where the water got trapped and made it very wobbly. Dangerous for older people especially
Location: There is bus stop right outside the hotel that you can take all the way downtown, much cheaper than taking a cab
We had an incredible time at this hotel. The hotel staff was fun, friendly, and so attentive. There were always activities to choose from or you could just relax and enjoy the beautiful beach or pool. The food was delicious and always fresh
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phx

Nice close hotel to the beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach
Cons: The quality of the drinks and the food
Location: Shopping area was nice and close by, transportation was always available.
The first impression was nice till we got to the room. The bed was old and the bed skirt was stained. The service was nice, and housekeeping made sure our room was always cleaned. One thing for sure it is not a four nor five star resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Love the hotel, not sure why some people gave bad rating, staffs are friendly, room is clean, food is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Everything! Modern, clean, perfect area and a super great staff.
Cons: Better quality drinks, top shelf.
Location: Perfect location with so much to do all around.
It was all that was meant to be. The Riu Hotel and its staff were incredible. Room was super clean and plenty of hot water. Mini frig was refilled every day. My first time in Aruba and I will do it again soon, of course in The Riu. Highly recommend! Zero disappointments!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not what you think!!!!

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The good was great
Cons: The cleanliness in regards to the pools and the rooms should be there first priority.
Location: Beaches are near and you can take a quick bus ride outside the resort to go shopping and view downtown Aruba.
To Whom It May Concern: In the past I’ve had the opportunity to stay at one of your resorts in Cancun. So when I was booking my flight I jumped at the chance to stay at your property in Aruba. However, to my surprise the experience was not the same and I was very displaced at your property in Aruba. Our first impression of the resort was when we checked in and the front desk customer service agents were not helpful at all. They stated our room wasn’t ready and we arrived at the resort at 2:00pm only for us to have to wait until 4:00pm before we were able to get into the room. The next few encounters was by far the worst of the trip and to mention, we were celebrating our three anniversary with a lot of unpleasant memories of our resort. • When we finally got access to the room; the room smelled like mildew and the bathroom floors were not clean. Also, the bathroom paint was chipping away and the mirrors in the room were dirty. ( Please note that I do have pictures) • When we went for a swim that was a lot of debris in the pool and it looked like the pool wasn’t clean for days. This happened several times during our trip. I asked to talk with staff about many of the guest concerns but to no avail. • The food was great it the buffets and the restaurants. However, the wait time in the Restaurant Krystals was extremely long. We had dinner reservations at 9:00pm and we didn’t received our main entrée until 10:25pm. • The overall activities on the resorts were
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Resort

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Everyone was wonderful! You asked for something and they were right there! Great food! Great beach! I will go to another Riu resort!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria

Could be a nicer hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Very good deep tissue massage.
Cons: The cleanliness in and around villas. Beach services/activities.
Nice location, wonderful weather. My problem were the constructions: a new bar and the reconstruction of Rio Aruba. A lot of noise starting 7.30 am to 10 pm. Entertainment team could do a better job especially on the beach. No beach volley in one week even if it was supposed to be twice a day.