Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible costumer service.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
The hotel couldn't provide us with the room we reserved at the time of check in and within a series of problems and verbal complaints to management we waited four hours before we had a decent room. The first room they gave us had a problem with the locking mechanism and it took four trips to the lobby before the decided to send maintenance to fix it. This was room 703. We asked to be moved to a different room because we suspected that room had those problems in the past. After a long discussion with Brian "the manager" at the time, he gave us room 1522. To our surprise and that of the guest of that room, that room was ALREADY OCCUPIED. This error was unbelievable! This is the first time that we experience this in a "4 star" hotel. the only solution Brian Could give us was to wait to be assigned a new room. We know that many other guest were having problems with their rooms. Based on this experience we plan to never put a foot on a RIU Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Beach, activities, pool, food, customer service, two balcony room, no kids
Cons: The pillows were the worst part. I stacked pillows & sank like I didn't have any pillows at all & I'm a 110 pound woman. Bring own pillows!!
The overall experience was great. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in had two private balconies that looked out at the ocean. The food was great at the restaurants and even the buffet. Drinks were decent (weaker than I'm used to, but still tasty). Lots of things to do for entertainment via on the ocean or at the hotel. All ocean fun is close to you via jet ski, parasailing, kayak, ect.. Different Nightly entertainment which is great. Pool was great just closed early, I'm assuming because of the time of year? There's no night swimming so it closed around 6pm. The couples massage was relaxing & fair price. The mini bar drink mixers aren't the best. I'm not a soda drinker so juice would have been nice. The room service menu is very limited. Adults only so no screaming kids around. Great for adult friend fun or romantic getaway. It says tips and gratuity is included but they definitely want tips and give you more/better service if you tip. Overall this hotel is beautiful and people work hard to make your stay great. I would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2015
I never review my vacations, but I must say my stay at the Riu Antillas was Excellent... Starting with the managers Duke and Brian who were very accommodating to us at the front desk. They are truly a team. Our room was perfect, We had a great poolside and oceanview... Hotel staff was very professional and nice.... Our room was clean & our stay was comfortable.... We Never go any place twice but I would definitely come back here ..... Highly Recommended....Perfect! July 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from houston

Very nice hotel, friendly and chic atmosphere

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Mostly the pianist who played in the early evening. Loved the beach, the pools, the bars, the service.
Cons: Sometimes I could smell some dampness, hope this is fixable.
Location: Very nice location, but we did not leave the hotel.
Very nice beach and very good service I like the idea of having nice, and chic restaurants, which need reservations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Worst all- inclusive I have ever been to.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Beach was ok, although there were no services offered such as drinks or food.
Cons: Rooms are dated and the shower is right out of a cheap motel. Management at this hotel could care less about their guests. Zero communications.
Location: We were in Palm Beach area. the town is in walking distance, with restaurants and shopping
We arrived on July 11 for a one week vacation, checked in and went to our room. The mini-bar had 4 bottles of low end alcohol and a couple of cans of soda in the fridge. that was it. We were told we could not make a dinner reservation for that evening and would have to go to the buffet( which is what they want, it saves them money. The buffet in no better that cafeteria food. The next morning we had to wait on line for 40 minutes to make reservations for the theme restaurants. We were only allowed to book two nights and would have to come down and get in line in two days to make more. The second day of our stay we were advised by another guest that the main pool was closing for up to 10 days due to a leak. the next morning the pool was drained and the jack hammering began for the next three days. PS: our room looked directly over this disaster. We complained to the manager of the hotel and were told there was nothing he could do and told us to contact RIU customer service. He wrote the email address on his card and gave it to us. The email turned out to be wrong, I am sure on purpose. We were told to use the facilities at the sister hotel which was a family resort. We both love kids, but not on our vacation. I could mention many more problems, but why bother. I would never stay in another RIU hotel after the way we were treated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Experiencia inolvidable

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Me encanto la cercanía al mar,actividades diarias ,la vista desde mi balcón al despertar y ver el Mar Caribe una belleza.el hotel muy limpio.
Cons: Todo estuvo perfecto para mi gusto. Podría mejorarse al mantenerlo siempre en buenas condiciones y con el buen trato al cliente.
Location: Aruba es una isla encantadora,pude bucear y conocer a cerca de su historia mediante un tour que nos llevo a explorar zonas bellas de esta pequeña isla
Desde que llegamos al hotel, el recibimiento fue cordial de parte del personal . Durante la estadía de 5 días recibimos una muy buena atención en los comedores,bares,etc. Me encanto la parte de entretener a los clientes con shows diarios por la noche,la discoteca muy acogedora. Todo muy bueno y de calidad especialmente en el buffet la variedad de comidas,bebidas y en los comedores de noche ,la cena deliciosa. Fue una perfecta estadía para celebrar mis 17 años de casada.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbano

Riu Antillas not up to standards

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Ive stayed in Riu's before & this one is not up to the general Riu standards. Its old and has a lot of work that need to be done. We were informed 2 days in the main pool would be closed for construction via a note posted in the elevators. Pools were disgusting anyway i wouldnt let my worst enemy swim in there. they tried to rip us off at the spa saying we received an 80 min massage when we clearly only had 50 mins. Had to argue for a 1/2 hour to het our money returned. 2 days in a row maids left us w/ no clean towels. One day i was in the shower when i realized this & called asking them if they could drop some off quickly. 45 minutes later still no towels.... Toilet didnt flush, old furniture in the rooms. List goes on and on and on. When i complained to front desk i was told we will put notes in the computer. Never again will we stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Honeymoon 21 years in the making

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: More information on their evening entertainment. Many great shows but we always arrived late because we never knew ahead. Advertise throughout hotel
Location: We stayed in the area this time but will do more exploring next time.
First vacation without our children and this adults only hotel was perfect. Staff was friendly, very culturally diversified, many dinner options. Flexibility to use pools at both their locations. Beautiful decor and always clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location, beach and pool
Cons: Food and service needs improvement
Location: Walk to the nearby hotels and casinos, and some nice restaurants
Not a big fan of this hotel, service was so-so, food was not good, and the facilities need some love and tender
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Friend 40th b 'day. Overall was very good.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location, drinks, services
Cons: The Mexican food could be better.
Was very good. we had a great time. The location was very good, service, drinks.