Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L, NY

Very disappointed!!!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I have been travelled to this hotel about 3 times. Last time I was there 5 years ago. I was very satisfied all these times. Unfortunately, at this time I was very disappointed. The air conditioner in my room did not work, the painting was chipping from all over the walls and ceiling, there was musty, disgusting smell in the room, half of electric plugs did not work, I saw a cockroaches in the bathroom, the bedsheets were always wet and smelled of mold. Overall, the hotel needs a complete renovation and upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Amenities

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Location & activities.
Cons: Diversity of music. Too Latin focused
Location: Convenient location to beach, shopping, restaurants
Everything good but 1 Towel allowance/guest at pool & beach. Gym needs updating - old equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Great location, Decent food

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The room we stayed in was huge: The bed was bigger than a California King, the closet was huge (for hotel standards), there was a double sink in the bathroom, and a sitting room with a couch. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was decent. I usually like "healthier food", but there wasn't a ton of healthy choices. Location was amazing. The hotel looks like it needs sprucing up here and there, especially the Spa facilities. But overall it was a great experience and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aruba-All Inclusive

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: All inclusive
Cons: Improvement needs to be made with how the resort handles making reservations for Dinner.
Location: Plenty of near by In and outdoor shops and restaurants within walking distance of Resort
Stayed at the all Inclusive RIU Palace Aruba Dec 16th thru the 20th 2014. Resort was clean and safe. Walking distance to many Shops and all other high end-well known resort hotels. Friendly Staff. I reserved an Ocean View Suite and the room was exceptionally clean and staff visited room not only to clean but to pull down the bed spread every evening. Nice touch. Food at Buffet was good with a wide selection Morning, afternoon and Dinner times.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

Love aruba just not Riu Palace

Posted Dec 23, 2014
This hotel is completely outdated and needs a serious clean up and renovation. We were scared to walk barefoot in our hotel room because the floors were filthy and wet all the time. The beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were flat. The food for an all inclusive was the worse I have ever had in an all inclusive. We ate out everyday because the food was so bad in the hotel. Aruba itself and the beach and the restaurants on the outside were great, just not riu palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Hotel Riu Review

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The pool, the entertainment, the very close prosimity to the beach, the rooms.
Cons: As noted in the overall review - the reservation system and the 24X7 eating area.
Location: There were many places across from the property, to eat shop, etc., and an easy bus or taxi ride into Orjjanestad.
The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were excellent. The pool, the entertainment and the proximity to the beach were great! The food at the primary eating place, Don Nichols, was very good, however, some of the wait staff and some of the personnel behind the food lines, were not very friendly especially if you had any type of special requests, such as wanting eggs cooked a certain way, etc. T here were four other restaurants on the property that you could not eat at - unless - you went to the hotel lobby, to the restaurant reservation desk between 8-11 and made a reservation for that day only! Needless to say that never happened, since we slept in and a couple of attempts to eat at the restaurants without a reservation were unsuccessful. I don't understand why you couldn't make a reservation from your room phone for any upcoming day - that aspect of our stay was very disappointing as we could not eat at the Nautilus or Milano's for the evening meal. Since it was an all inclusive, you kind of stayed away from eating off the property and there was not anywhere to get food other than during the designated eating times. Yes, they did have a 24X7 area with bar and snacks, but that needed to be enhanced a bit to suffice for the inbetween eating, should you miss the designated eating time. Other than the issue with the restaurant reservation system, we enjoyed our stay and certainly got plenty to eat at the Don Nichols location. We certainly would choose other Riu locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Nothing in my opinion
Amazing experience and will most definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 16, 2014
This was our 2nd time at this hotel in Aruba. We enjoyed it so much the first time we returned the following year. The food, staff, and service was excellent. We booked an ocean view room and the room and view was beautiful. We enjoyed being able to go to the Riu Antillas right next door too. Everything there was just as amazing as the Riu Palace. Definitely plan to return next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vitoria, Brasil

Excelente para Lua de Mel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
O sistema all inclusive é excelente para quem quer comodidade e praticidade. Como era nossa lua de mel todos os dias arrumavam nosso quarto de formas diferentes. Serviço perfeito do hotel em todos os sentidos. Adoramos e iremos voltar com certeza.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pool area, restaurants, and hotel staff were excellent! The rooms are shoeing their age and were not as clean as I normally like. Beds were also not very comfortable.