Ratings based on 804 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia

The hotel was very disappointing

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The food was o.k.
Cons: Update the rooms, be more attentive
Location: The location was right on the beach. Good location. Great shopping area, jewelry shops, restaurants behind hotel on the strip
The hotel looks beautiful on the outside. The rooms are very old. The D.J. played the same 4 songs for 8 days. The beds and pillows are horrible and if you are lucky enough maybe you can get a room with a flat screen t.v. instead of the 1980 model. I would never stay at this hotel again. I have traveled to many islands including Aruba 3 times and this experience was the worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Unforgettable!

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Relaxing, great service, friendly professional staff, great food, great beach and will return again for vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Hotel maravilhoso na beira da praia

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Adorei a estadia, voltaria muitas outras vezes.
Cons: A recreação poderia ter mais atividades para os mais jovens. Na limpeza do quarto é usado um odorizador de ambientes que deixa um cheiro forte.
Location: Muito bem localizado. Bares, restaurantes e lojas próximos. Variedade de oferta de atividades aquáticas na praia.
Hotel muito bem cuidado. Funcionários atenciosos e prestativos. Várias vezes ao dia algum funcionário nos perguntava se o quarto estava ok, oferecendo reposição do frigobar, toalhas limpas, etc. Restaurantes excelentes, sem dificuldade de reservas. Piscina muito boa, com excelente bar. Quarto amplo no terceiro andar do prédio central. No dia do check-out pudemos deixar as malas guardadas numa sala e aproveitar um pouco mais do hotel após deixar o quarto. Praia muito bonita, limpa e com área destinada aos banhistas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Very Nice!!!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
I usually do not post reviews but I felt the need to in the case of the Riu Palace. Me and my wife were a little discouraged prior to going to the Riu Palace resort last week. We were discouraged because we spent a lot of money booking our trip, and were skeptical about staying there after reading many negative reviews that were posted online. Thank goodness we didn't only rely on reviews to actually make a decision to stay there. The resort is VERY nice. To us, the food was better than expected. I enjoyed the buffet (I am not a gourmet only food snob but I do enjoy a quality meal at a nice restaurant). The buffet had a great selection of dishes and the food was well prepared with all of the servers being very attentive and courteous. As far as our room goes, it was not moldy or dirty as some have posted. It was very clean and was turned down each night. When we arrived at our room upon check in we were met by a person (Polo), who said that if there was anything that was out of place in the room or was not to our liking, to please let him know. He was very courteous and seemed to genuinely want to make our stay enjoyable. Me and my wife have learned on this trip that some people just like to complain just for the sake of complaining which is why I decided to post this review. You always hear about the negative, but in this case we had a great stay and wanted to let others know in case they were in the fence about booking here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEEDS TO BE UPDATED….

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: 2nd year here and is very run down in great need of REPAIRS!
Cons: UPDATE NEEDED
Location: Love the beaches ,walking and relaxing
ON ARRIVAL WE WHERE GIVING A BASIC ROOM WHEN PAID FOR A SUITE. TOILET WAS OFF HUSBAND TURNED ON AND FLOODED BATHROOM.. LEFT CAME BACK AND THEY WHERE FIXING SHOWER NOT TOILET. NEXT DAY MOVED TO A SUITE WHAT WE HAD PAID FOR BUT ROOM WAS MUSTIE SMELLING!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good experience.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Property was very well maintained and staff was very helpful. Only negative point is a lackluster casino. Always empty during peak hours probably because table minimums were too high relative to neighboring casinos.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

All inclusive not all that

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The pool and beach area is amazing. Very clean and organize. The amount of stations for drinks throughout hotel is everywhere. Good hotel layout.
Cons: Read my experience. Needs better trained workers who understand acknowledging and greeting workers is mandatory and not optional. Better quality
Location: Everything is near by. Great location.
Usually high end hotels the staff greets you, this staff needs a major change. The staff barely acknowledges you. Perhaps I would say just 20% of staff greet you. Many act as is a request to them is a nuisance. When calling a cab all 5 times staff by exit would say "it will be hard to get a cab now but I will call my contacts and see if I could make it happen". This is done simply as a tactic to try to squeeze a tip out of you because it seems they work so hard. Rui palace in Punta Cana the staff are trained to greet all guest constantly whereas in Aruba the staff are not trained properly and 80% of the staff walks by you looking away.. The food is not of high quality. The Japanese restaurant is horrendous. The sushi taste and looks like it was packaged frozen months ago. The steak at buffet is very chewy. The overall taste of the food is not savory.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beach was beautiful hotel disappointing

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: The food could definitely be improved as well as the appearance and cleanliness of the rooms.
Our hotel room was old and falling apart. The ceiling over the bathtub was peeling and moldy and our room had a musty, stale smell. The food at the restaurant was terrible and we ended up eating every meal out even though we had paid for the all-inclusive package. The beach was gorgeous but you had to get up extra early in order to get a spot on the beach. The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming. I would visit the island again but I would not stay at the Riu and I would't recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: the resturants are very good and the beach and pool area are outstanding
first day we went to our room that had not been cleaned..after that was taken care of, the toilet was broken. they moved us to another room where down the hallway they were renovating a guest room...noise all day but thankfully we were on the beach most of the day..3 days later we came back to our room to find the key card would not work..packed up the luggage and moved once again to another room on the 10th floor...everything went well for the rest of the week but we were very displeased with the service this year..paid park ave prices for motel 6 service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Loved the food and location. Some setbacks; the condition of my room was less than satisfactory and could use renovation. Also, no music during dinner, which was odd.