Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEEDS TO BE UPDATED….

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: 2nd year here and is very run down in great need of REPAIRS!
Cons: UPDATE NEEDED
Location: Love the beaches ,walking and relaxing
ON ARRIVAL WE WHERE GIVING A BASIC ROOM WHEN PAID FOR A SUITE. TOILET WAS OFF HUSBAND TURNED ON AND FLOODED BATHROOM.. LEFT CAME BACK AND THEY WHERE FIXING SHOWER NOT TOILET. NEXT DAY MOVED TO A SUITE WHAT WE HAD PAID FOR BUT ROOM WAS MUSTIE SMELLING!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good experience.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Property was very well maintained and staff was very helpful. Only negative point is a lackluster casino. Always empty during peak hours probably because table minimums were too high relative to neighboring casinos.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

All inclusive not all that

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The pool and beach area is amazing. Very clean and organize. The amount of stations for drinks throughout hotel is everywhere. Good hotel layout.
Cons: Read my experience. Needs better trained workers who understand acknowledging and greeting workers is mandatory and not optional. Better quality
Location: Everything is near by. Great location.
Usually high end hotels the staff greets you, this staff needs a major change. The staff barely acknowledges you. Perhaps I would say just 20% of staff greet you. Many act as is a request to them is a nuisance. When calling a cab all 5 times staff by exit would say "it will be hard to get a cab now but I will call my contacts and see if I could make it happen". This is done simply as a tactic to try to squeeze a tip out of you because it seems they work so hard. Rui palace in Punta Cana the staff are trained to greet all guest constantly whereas in Aruba the staff are not trained properly and 80% of the staff walks by you looking away.. The food is not of high quality. The Japanese restaurant is horrendous. The sushi taste and looks like it was packaged frozen months ago. The steak at buffet is very chewy. The overall taste of the food is not savory.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beach was beautiful hotel disappointing

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: The food could definitely be improved as well as the appearance and cleanliness of the rooms.
Our hotel room was old and falling apart. The ceiling over the bathtub was peeling and moldy and our room had a musty, stale smell. The food at the restaurant was terrible and we ended up eating every meal out even though we had paid for the all-inclusive package. The beach was gorgeous but you had to get up extra early in order to get a spot on the beach. The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming. I would visit the island again but I would not stay at the Riu and I would't recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: the resturants are very good and the beach and pool area are outstanding
first day we went to our room that had not been cleaned..after that was taken care of, the toilet was broken. they moved us to another room where down the hallway they were renovating a guest room...noise all day but thankfully we were on the beach most of the day..3 days later we came back to our room to find the key card would not work..packed up the luggage and moved once again to another room on the 10th floor...everything went well for the rest of the week but we were very displeased with the service this year..paid park ave prices for motel 6 service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Loved the food and location. Some setbacks; the condition of my room was less than satisfactory and could use renovation. Also, no music during dinner, which was odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Very pleased with the Riu Palace!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: All inclusive. Never a reason to leave the grounds.
Cons: How the staff in the restaurants treat guests.
Location: Great location - never felt a need to leave the grounds.
Wonderful experience at the Riu Palace! The room was great and our maid Trudy was awesome. The grounds were beautiful. It was very convenient which made for a very relaxing vacation. Enjoyed the food immensely, however requiring men to wear long pants in the restaurants (not the buffet) was not in the best interest of the guests. Who takes long pants on a trip like that - it is supposed to be relaxed. I think dress shorts would have been acceptable. The only complaint I have is that some of the staff in the restaurants and buffet were rude. Also, considering this is a place that welcomes children, some of the drinking by the guests at the pool got out of hand and nothing was done about it. Some awful language and displays of provocative dancing I did not find acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern VA

Great place for a getaway vacation!!

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The pools and beachfront amenities are beautiful. Could always find a lawn chair for the beach. Buffet was delicious and had so many options.
Riu Palace is an excellent place to stay for your Aruba vacation. The beach amenities and pools are fabulous. The location is very close to the bars, restaurants, and shopping, but with all-inclusive we rarely left the property for meals or drinks. Service is outstanding and we never had to wait long for drinks anywhere on the resort. The buffet meals were outstanding and had tons of variety. We loved our stay here! The rooms were nice and clean. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom argentina

Increible

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Lugar soldó, personal mas que amable, todos los días se esmeran por mejorar. La comida buenísima, el hotel uno de los mejores que fui en mi vida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovation noise was annoying

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Didn't spend time in room during most of the construction hours so dealt with the inconvenience that was from about 8:30 am-5:30 pm