Ratings based on 1,151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Nice place to stay in Asbury!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Proximity to attractions
Cons: Better amenities (free wi-fi, in room fridge). Update fixtures (TV, lighting)
Location: Close to Paramount Theatre, Asbury Convention Hall, McLunes's, WonderBar, boardwalk
I stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. It is close to Asbury attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. A few fixtures could be repaired or replaced. Some features could definitely be updated (newer TV, lighting, etc), but if you are looking for a good place in a central Asbury location this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn, ny

No parking??!!? But clean and convenient.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
It was a major annoyance to drive up to our hotel and be told that there was no parking- totally ridiculous. Otherwise, staff was helpful, room was clean and location is great. Provide free parking for your guests!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom C

Minimal amenities

Posted Jan 2, 2015
For a beautiful hotel, no wifi, parking at a fee (metered), no breakfast, no bathrobes/slippers, no minibar or fridge in the room, pillows are small, can't deliver glasses to the room or a bottle opener...felt very bare bones for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We'd visit again

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: It was a bright, clean room.
Cons: The channel selection on tv was non-existant. It was news, children's programming, or weather. HBO would have been nice.
Location: We attended a show at a local venue, and ate at fantastic ethnic restaurants nearby (within walking distance). Main street area after dark is not good
There was a wedding going on the weekend we stayed, so we were awakened by some rather loud guests returning to their rooms (and in the morning were awakened again by rather loud hotel staff speaking on radios about delaying a check out time for some other room until 1pm). Aside from the paper thin walls (we could not hear the neighboring rooms, just the loud guests/staff in the hallway), it was a lovely room. There was no at-hotel parking, due to the wedding going on, we had the option to pay a meter during our stay, or park blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Renee'from New Orleans

Third time is the charm....

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my third time staying here. Each visit get a tad better. No restaurant or bar within the hotel but there is one next door. Great location to activities in Asbury Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richfrom Hackensack

Birthday

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed my stay...water slow to drain in the shower...ugh! ..
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Not worth the stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Wasn't impressed with the hotel or staff at all. Parking situation wasn't ideal. Had to find parking on street and it was expensive. Will my stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Junefrom Princeton

So disappointing

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am so sad to report that the Berkeley is looking very seedy these days. All older hotels -- this one is about 100 years old -- have issues, but the Berkeley's are modern faults. Nothing has been cleaned or repaired since its most recent refurbishment. Upholstery is ripped and dirty, wallpaper in my room is peeling and stained, window sill decayed, glass doors cracked, and most terribly, my bathroom was dirty. It appeared okay on first look, but I soon realized there were makeup and coffee rings on the counter, years of toothpaste and gunk on the wall behind the sink, and stains on the slip guards in the tub, all things that should be caught by housekeeping. Also, a lot of the ammenities we have come to expect in non-budget hotels were missing, such as coffee maker, room service - in fact there is no restaurant and bar service is only in the summer -- even drinking glasses. The delivery options for food are pizza and cheap Chinese, offered on grubby menus at the desk. Even the vending machine was only about 30% full. Despite these complaints, the staff is very upbeat (although the housekeeper is lucky I didn't run into him or her), my room was large, and my bed was comfortable. I always try to stay in refurbished older hotels. In the case of the Berkeley the management has obviously taken on more than they can handle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good place

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok, for a single night, but no-way for a holiday. Very used hotelrooms and hotel. Drafty Windows. Nice oceanview when these rooms are booked. Use Franks Deli on Main St. for breakfast.