Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

very good hotel close to town centre

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Its old charm
Cons: Still redecorating but when finished very nice place to stay.
Location: It would be ideal spot for touring in derbyshire.
We only stayed one night,but staff were very polite and helpful and the food we had was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bec from Perth

Excellent short stay, great service

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed at this hotel for one night but it was excellent, I cannot fault the room, the service or the surrounding neighbourhood. Close to the centre of the small town and there are lots of places to eat and drink around. The breakfast was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Early checkin...

Posted May 27, 2014
I was in Asbourne to attend a wedding and needed to get room keys before it started. The price of checking in 1h 30mins early, £10! I really wouldn't mind, but the room had already been cleaned, there were no forms to fill out because I had pre paid. I was literally handed the keys and told to pay the money. Furthermore £90 for a dated, smelly and grim hotel. On the upside, breakfast was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 16, 2014
Very friendly snd helpful staff. Breakfast arrived lovely and hot. Good selection for breakfast. Would stay again. On arrival were up graded to a four poster bed which was a nice surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pez 12 from Warwickshire

Warm welcome, great location

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Station Hotel is a great location for Ashbourne and surrounding areas. The Hotel its self is 'tired' in places (bathroom very clean, but showers 'dated') however, a lot of refurbishment is currently happening and it is what the hotel deserves as it has a lot of interesting history and has many original features, it will be interesting to see it again after work is completed. The staff were welcoming, very attentive and efficient.The breakfast is also worth mentioning, very generous, just what you need before walking in the dales!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Redditch

Touch of luxury

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Lovely hotel that makes the perfect base for a couple visiting the nearby Peak district and Derbyshire Dales. We stayed one night and were only looking for a BnB at a reasonable price, but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel manager was exceptionally polite and helpful, showing us personally to our room, which was excellent. As one of their simplest rooms it still had lots of space, lots of amenities and a stunning 4 poster (but not canopied) bed. The only quibble we would raise would be that the shower, being on the 2nd floor, was warm but very weak. We ate in the hotel's AA rosette restaurant in the evening and the food and service was outstanding. This Hotel has a very clear idea of who they are catering for and they do it very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stef from Surrey

My stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Nicky, the receptionist, assistant manager, general do anything person.
Cons: The decor, amount of beverages in the room, more choice to the menu.
Location: Location is very good for access to the town. Wonderful restaurant (The Bridge) close by.
The hotel is faded English elegance. The decor is nice but old. The rooms are ok but the decoration and fittings are below average. The meals are over priced but are well cooked and presented very well. However, the condiments are in sachets reminding me of a road side cafe. On a real plus side the girl who looks after you (Nicky) is outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Keith from Suffolk

Great for the Shrovetide Football.

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old hotel but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pmurfin from derby

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
four poster bed lovely but not very comfortable. shower was low pressure and not very warm. bed and floorboards very creeky. room cold during the day and radiators not very warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevington from Derby

Just the Job!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Appreciated the welcome on arrival from David, even though we were only staying the one night and not dining there - we could have been staying a week
Cons: Not much - a slip proof mat in the shower cubicle please - I nearly knocked myself out when slipped getting out!
Location: Loads! Walking directly from the Tissington trail, access across the road. Variety of shops in town, coffee shops, cafes, nice pubs, quaint square.
Lovely olde worlde hotel, located opposite the entrance to the Tissington Trail "tunnel" and just a short walk (approx 10) minutes into Ashbourne town/village centre. Great, friendly greeting on arrival by David, who showed us to our room and explained all facilities, dinner, breakfast etc. Also asked if we had been to Ashbourne before, but we had, so he didn't need to give any information on that one! Room was spacious, and just for a change we were on the front, overlooking the Tissington Trail, which was nice. Large, comfortable, king size bed, dressing table for one's make up! and large modern TV for the other half! Bathroom also spacious with those little individual shampoo bottles that make you feel posh! (We didnt use them - or take them home though - just liked looking at them!) Great breakfast offered, included everything you can think of from cereal, toast, juice, fruit and yoghurt, followed by full english with tea and toast - gluttoneous and felt rather sick afterwards - serves me right! But, nothing was too much trouble - service with a smile - for a change!