Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevington from Derby

Just the Job!

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Appreciated the welcome on arrival from David, even though we were only staying the one night and not dining there - we could have been staying a week
Cons: Not much - a slip proof mat in the shower cubicle please - I nearly knocked myself out when slipped getting out!
Location: Loads! Walking directly from the Tissington trail, access across the road. Variety of shops in town, coffee shops, cafes, nice pubs, quaint square.
Lovely olde worlde hotel, located opposite the entrance to the Tissington Trail "tunnel" and just a short walk (approx 10) minutes into Ashbourne town/village centre. Great, friendly greeting on arrival by David, who showed us to our room and explained all facilities, dinner, breakfast etc. Also asked if we had been to Ashbourne before, but we had, so he didn't need to give any information on that one! Room was spacious, and just for a change we were on the front, overlooking the Tissington Trail, which was nice. Large, comfortable, king size bed, dressing table for one's make up! and large modern TV for the other half! Bathroom also spacious with those little individual shampoo bottles that make you feel posh! (We didnt use them - or take them home though - just liked looking at them!) Great breakfast offered, included everything you can think of from cereal, toast, juice, fruit and yoghurt, followed by full english with tea and toast - gluttoneous and felt rather sick afterwards - serves me right! But, nothing was too much trouble - service with a smile - for a change!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LP from Tamworth

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel with a very warm welcome and ideally located for the town centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Mansfield

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Room was exceptionally comfortable and very clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very good. Excellent location for walking. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasent stay

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The bed felt palacial and the memory foam mattress was fabulous.
Cons: Hot chocolate in the room? (I don't like tea or coffee)
Location: The Peak District has so much to do it would takes weeks to do all of it
Welcomed immediatly and made to feel that nothing would be too much trouble despite my late arrival time. The room was spacious and had everything I needed, the memory foam mattress was heavenly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre, good base for travel

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pleasant stay staff friendly room great.......................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We wish we'd upgraded to larger room/kingsize bed

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: The food in the restaurant was brilliant and excellently priced. The service was always friendly with a smile
This was our fault for me being to stingey! The owners were very helpful and pleasant. The full English breakfasts were spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jon from Toronto

Very nice location

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Close to stores, rec centre, and tissington trail
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ee from UK

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: The food and the 4 poster bed
Cons: Parking was a tad awkward as small area
Location: Nice location and alot of walking routes close by.
Comfortable beds and nice clean rooms. Excellent food for breakfast and evening meals!! Friendly and welcoming staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly hotel with warm welcome and good breakfast. Short walk to town center. Only downside was at junction of busy road, would have been ok but sweltering weather so had to keep window open (no aircon), thus very noisy. At any other time of year would be great.