Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Lovely hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 22, 2014
First time here , came here for a friends birthday who had been very stressed at work , unfortunately didn't get chance to have any treatments but we're able to have a very relaxing evening in the pool area, staff were helpful and friendly , the hotel is set in a lovely area to explore the following day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Tired rooms with cracked tiles and dirty grouting. Very basic for price - room at the same sort of level as a travel lodge. Facilities OK but again a bit tired. Staff kept us waiting at checkin for ages while they crawled around in a cupboard looking for a robe for another guest. Checkout was 10am which i thought was a little early, plus, they want to charge you if you use the facilities that day. Seems a little harsh. Won't be going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robmas from Cardiff

Champneys first timer

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. Room was basic but fine. Hotel facilities were great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

no air condition and pool close early

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was no air conditioning which make sleeping difficult and swimming pool closed at 9:30 which did not give me a chance to try it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Hotel Inspector from Hertford

Pleasant stay noisey room

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally nice hotel and facilities.However 1) don't expect to feel full after a 3 courses set evening meal 2) I had a room 3 which is on the ground floor and the walls ans especially ceiling is very thin and noisey you know exactly where the person is upstairs 3) On check out the hotel tried to double charge me for the hotel accomodation! Room for improvement. Hotel welcome to contact me for further info.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trading on its name, needs refurb & staff training

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location
Cons: Replace mouldy smelling corridor carpet. Clean rooms properly. Replace reusable blue plastic glasses with real glass or disposable plastic.
I stayed here on business for 2 lots of 3 nights. I did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on how good or otherwise they are. First week I got a very nice room with a good modern bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath. The only problems I had were the heat in the bathroom which was about 30c and no ability to turn off the electric radiator keeping it that hot. Secondly the sound proofing between me and the room above me. It sounded like a Herd of elephants rumbling around although I suspect it was just people walking back and forth in the room. Unfortunately they did this at midnight and again around 3am and once more at about 6am so not great for my sleep. The second week I got a room also on ground floor but clearly much more basic with std shower over the bath. No glasses for water only horrible scratched blue plastic reusable ones in the bathroom. Floor needed a good vacuum and the furniture was well worn. I nearly forgot to mention the unpleasant smell in the main corridor which smells like an old piece of carpet you left outside in the rain. There is also no regular hotel bar only wine in the restaurant. I got the place cheap at a rate more like a regular 3* hotel at such rates it's ok. However regular prices are much higher at about 3 times my rate and at those prices I'd be very unhappy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ed from manchester

spa hotel - not suitable for business users though

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice enough for spa users but does not cater for business trevellers very well: no bar, intermittent wifi and no use of mobile phones in public areas. Probably just booked the wrong hotel for my needs really!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by hrr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Disgruntled from Tunbridge Wells

No Peace & Quiet

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
arriving late in the evening the room had not been serviced dirty cups were out, the towels were used, as were the tea and coffee. The occupant of the upstairs room must have been a baby elephant and no alternative rooms were available. Eventually I gave up on trying to get any peace in my room and the duty manager paid for a taxi to get me out of there attempting to "shower" me with a goody bag. Floors in rooms to thin visit let down by short staffing at a peak period. Sorry Champneys clean + quiet = relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by El gato from on the motorway

Fantastic hotel in the middle of nowhere :-)

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic hotel with great facilities and spa, it is in the middle of nowhere though !