Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Tired rooms with cracked tiles and dirty grouting. Very basic for price - room at the same sort of level as a travel lodge. Facilities OK but again a bit tired. Staff kept us waiting at checkin for ages while they crawled around in a cupboard looking for a robe for another guest. Checkout was 10am which i thought was a little early, plus, they want to charge you if you use the facilities that day. Seems a little harsh. Won't be going back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trading on its name, needs refurb & staff training

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location
Cons: Replace mouldy smelling corridor carpet. Clean rooms properly. Replace reusable blue plastic glasses with real glass or disposable plastic.
I stayed here on business for 2 lots of 3 nights. I did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on how good or otherwise they are. First week I got a very nice room with a good modern bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath. The only problems I had were the heat in the bathroom which was about 30c and no ability to turn off the electric radiator keeping it that hot. Secondly the sound proofing between me and the room above me. It sounded like a Herd of elephants rumbling around although I suspect it was just people walking back and forth in the room. Unfortunately they did this at midnight and again around 3am and once more at about 6am so not great for my sleep. The second week I got a room also on ground floor but clearly much more basic with std shower over the bath. No glasses for water only horrible scratched blue plastic reusable ones in the bathroom. Floor needed a good vacuum and the furniture was well worn. I nearly forgot to mention the unpleasant smell in the main corridor which smells like an old piece of carpet you left outside in the rain. There is also no regular hotel bar only wine in the restaurant. I got the place cheap at a rate more like a regular 3* hotel at such rates it's ok. However regular prices are much higher at about 3 times my rate and at those prices I'd be very unhappy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Devon

Nice hotel to relax in

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: food, Gym, pool
Cons: Rooms
Location: good location for me travelling to MIRA
No bar, yet this is a health spa Nice food Excellent staff rooms need updating and could have been cleaner. My advertised king bed was just two singles pushed together!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yousaf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich-mich from Southampton

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleased with hotel generally. Went on late break accommodation only and was placed an older room. Which needed some general refurb and a proper clean (mould in bathroom). Was also disappointed that there was no bar or chips!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Justyn from London

Good service

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived late & unfortuantely the hotel had not received my booking however staff were friendly and very helpful found me a room for the night and resolved the problem in the morning and upgraded my room for the inconvenience. The spa facilities were great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kathryn Grassie from Brighton

Quality hotel and service

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed at other Champneys hotels and always been impressed but this hotel, as it has recently been refurbished, was outstanding. The staff are very, very welcoming and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. Delicious food that caters for any dietary requirements and the surroundings are great too.very comfortable room and excellent facilities. Thoroughly recommend and I will be staying there again :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nina from Leicester

Fantastic Romantic escape!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: staff in the restaurant seemed to be busy and constantly preparing for the next meal seating. Its not a complaint....just an observation. It took a be
Location: Everything is on site...no need to leave the hotel and spa
The lady who checked us in was great. We said we had booked this romantic getaway and she upgraded us and just made us feel so special. The room was big and the bed huge!! The sauna and pool was perfect. The food was lovely and wine choice good. The breakfast was well catered. Fantastic stay overall. Would love to go back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DJ from Oakham

Disapointing!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disorganised and tired looking room. Noise from some electrical equipment during the night. Hardly relaxing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by njntaylor from surrey

Great Staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a strange hotel for me to stay in as I was on business but it was a refreshing change from the norm. The staff were so friendly and helpful on arrival one couldn't help but be relaxed. The facilities were great.