Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by DCS

Very starchy sheets and hard beds.

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: It is close to a few very nice eating establishments.
Cons: Needs a lot of work but for starters: 1. Beds & Sheets (it's like sleeping on a bed of nails). 2. Change up the breakfast menu options a bit.
1. Very uncomfortable sleeping arrangements. 2. Guests seemed to stay out in their cars and blast mariachi music through the night (guessing this is due to the non-smoking rooms). 3. Was not made aware that the hotel was going to be under construction during the entire duration of my stay. 4. The continental breakfast was not very good and never really changed from the eggs, sausage, deep fried hash browns and French toast sticks.
2 out of 5
by Wheeler

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The door to our room shook all night and with two small kids....it was a night mare. When we asked about moving they said all of the doors do that. When we asked for a pillow for our son, after almost 15 minutes, they brought us a pillow without a pillow case and said it was all they had. The power went out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Lexington, VA

Fine for a night on the road, a bit dreary

Posted Jan 3, 2014
We chose this hotel at the last minute because we decided to head for Asheville in the late afternoon. We arrived at 11:30 p.m. and checked out about 9:30 a.m. That's about what works for this hotel which really, truly is dreary. Staircases and hallways were grimy. But the room was clean and large, and the bed was firm. Wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than we did. If you are looking to pick up food for a hike or quick breakfast or lunch, try nearby Ingles grocery store food bar. The next night we moved to Hotel Indigo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Works for me

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was great and the hotel was fine. They were working on renovations when we were there but it didn't affect us at all. Breakfast was much better than most hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Atlanta

I would stay at the Clarion in the future.

Posted Dec 31, 2013
The hotel is average, it is aging. The fitness romm is very good and the morning buffet was much better than expected. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. No

Decent enough

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs updating
The hotel is very basic, a bit dated, and has no elevator to the 2nd floor (might be important to some). The room was fairly clean, but we did ask for new sheets as the old ones looked washed but had some set in stains that we weren't crazy about. New sheets arrived at our door within a few minutes. Breakfast was typical for hotels of this type, nothing to write home about but edible. Hotel is located very close to I-26 (about 15 minutes from downtown Asheville) and is close to several chain restaurants (Carrabba's, Chili's) and a big shopping center (Target, Ross, Michael's...).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Having an indoor pool, a restaurant and bar, and wi-fi. We love the king sized bed! The hotel is clean and well taken care of.
Cons: Having a little more variety on the breakfast bar.
Location: It is centrally located off US 26 and convenient to shopping centers, McDonald's, and other restaurants. It is on the Southern part of Asheville.
We have stayed at this Clarion before and always had excellent service. This was the first time that I noted that it was a pet friendly hotel. I have no problems with this, but we did have a family with a yapping little dog a few doors down that was very annoying. I don't know if most pet friendly places have a designated area for pet owners, but this was a first for us. The other thing we noted was that the breakfast bar was the exact same every morning. Would be nice if they bought a waffle iron, so we could make waffles and have something different from scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The room was great and the service was excellent! The rates were very good and comparable to other places in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good for quick family trip

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were visiting relatives nearby and this location was very close to family and has lots of dining options very close by. Older hotels can be nice if properly maintained, and this one is well maintained. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim

Was in town for Continuing Education Classes

Posted Nov 12, 2013
I was in Asheville for my continuing education classes and this was my first time staying at a Clarion Inn. I enjoyed my stay and the full breakfast was greatly appreciated!