Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville, tn

Great downtown location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Our stay was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful with recommendations on things to see and places to eat. It is the perfect location and in walking distance to all the sites we wanted to see and restaurants we wanted to eat at.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISY!!! Paper thin walls, lousy service

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
If you enjoy thin walls such that you can hear what your neighbors are DOING in their beds and showers including bodily functions then this is the place for you! This was the lousiest hotel to date I have stayed in. Front desk staff was nonplused at your checking in or out. No interest in you staying there. For the price, and convenience to downtown, you can stay across the street at the Renaissance Hotel. This is a Sheraton dump on the edge of downtown Asheville. The rooms were small and bathroom has no exhaust fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpectedly nice

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I read the complaints about noise and construction and was prepared for the worst. The hotel was not busy, there was no noise from the halls or highway at night. Wherever the construction was, it must have been on the higher floors. The staff was very helpful and always greeted us on entry. Having access to the YMCA across the street was a nice perk. They have two heated indoor pools, full exercise equipment, sauna, steam room. Entry was free with your hotel key. There is an adequate exercise room in the hotel, too. Breakfast buffet was $10.99 and was quite mediocre. The hotel location was an easy walk to downtown restaurants and the main square. I extended our stay an extra day. The staff said sometimes the halls ca be noisy on weekends when there is a wedding party..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, N.C.

Good value if not for some disappointment.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location, parking, size and cleanliness of room all of which were a good value for the price via Expedia.com.
Cons: Front desk agent named "Connor" (first name) could use customer service training.
Location: Short walk to shopping and restaurants and easy access to Interstate.
We had an early arrival and asked for early check in and were told we could put our name on a list and would be called on my cell phone when a room was available. Several hours later around 4:00 p.m. we had not received a call so went back to the hotel to check in. The front desk agent said he had forgotten to call but made no apology. The next morning we awoke to no hot water and were told by housekeeping that it was a overall hotel problem but probably due to so many people taking showers at the same time and that hot water should be available shortly. We waited about 1.5 hours and still no hot water so we took cold showers so we could go out and enjoy our visit to Asheville. That evening I asked the same front desk agent if we could have compensation for our inconvenience and he said that since we booked via Expedia that the only thing he could do was offer us an appetizer or drink in the restaurant which I found inadequate to accept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Very near downtown Asheville

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We only stayed one night, but loved the convenience to downtown. It was not as pricey as the other options near downtown, and was comfortable and clean. It's not the nicest, hip-style with lots of extras, but for a decent place to sleep close by, it worked well. We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too noisy

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location
The location of this hotel is great with an easy walk to all the restaurants and shops downtown. Our room was unfortunately behind the elevator so we could hear a terrible vibrating sound every time it was in use. Also, the area where you get on and off the elevator was tiled so the sound just echoed and we were woken many times all during the night. The air conditioning unit was so loud that you had to crank the volume on the television to hear and when it stopped running it became warm very quickly. The bathroom was very small. The room itself had plenty of space. The hotel is right next to the interstate so that can be noisy as well. We knew that because we had stayed here previously but will not return. The price is too high to deal with all of the noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downtown Chicago

Good location to downtown Asheville, walking dista

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff training and room cleaning training. The renovation seemed incomplete and what was done was of poor quality and workmanship. Repair rooms & hall
Very very poor wifi in room and no at&t reception in room. Room card keys failed at least once per day sometimes three times requiring a trip back to the desk. This occurred for both my key and my wife's key. Drawer to dresser would slide open 18' after closing due to un-level floor or dresser.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Signe from Durham, NC

Great hotel in downtown.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Waking distance to restaurants, bars, coffee shops, etc. under construction right now so the hallways were a bit drab - but everything else was great. Wish it had free breakfast though!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction, stench of paint and mildew

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Cons: Proper renovations, notification of work going on, consideration on costs for rooms due to work.
Location: Asheville is a hippies dream in the foothill mountains. Lots of breweries and a decent downtown nightlife, check out the drum circle on Friday.
I wasn't impressed at all with the hotel. There's currently renovations taking place, but they seem to be moving slowly and just masking the bigger structural issues. There was a horrible mildew smell and It cause a pretty decent headache while staying in the room.
2 out of 5
by john from g

Open during renovations

Posted Jun 9, 2014
It will be a nice hotel someday. They really should have closed during renovations. For the price they charged, it should have been much nicer , two stars at the most. The place was a mess. The staff held up the elevators during room cleanings, walls were busted up. A disappointment for a Starwood resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by RJC, Hotel Management
I am sorry that we fell short with your stay. I hope that in the future you will give us another chance, Until then have a great day.