Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
NOT UP TO PAR WITH SURROUNDING HOTELS. WOULD RECOMMEND THE HOMEWOOD SUITES AT THE SAME RATE. HAS BREAKFAST AND DINNER PROVIDED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Disappointing ....

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: clean bed and hot shower. Terrible view; of a ran down building see other reviews.
Cons: Training of some of their employees. Be honest and Remove the "Downtown" from their name since they are not located in that area.
Location: misleading name "Downtown".
Disappointing based on a terrible experience checking in. Stayed on Friday 9/26/2014 for 2 nights, checked in around 5 pm. Booked via Expedia for a 2 bed room for my wife, I and my 12 year so, A female receptionist 1st initial (K) informed us that our room is a one bed room. When I expressed to her that the reservation was for a 2 bed room her response was" That's what you get for booking through a third party like expedia". When I begged her many times to try to get to a reslalution, hopefully there was a cancellation: her response was the same plus that they were "Booked Solid". She never tried was to check her computer. When I rejected her offer for a free drink and that won't really solve the issue of having 3 people sleep on one bed, sadly she got very emotional. Kylie showed no customer service skills, rudeness and never tried to check to see if there could be a room with 2 beds for that night or even the following night and lied about the hotel being fully booked. 3 minutes after taking the room key I contacted the hotel via phone and asked if rooms with 2 beds were available I was told there were. The reason I gave 2 stars and not one is the next day I approached the morning receptionist by the name of Jessica: She immediately (within 10 minutes) moved us to another room with two beds. I just hope that this hotel's management provide better training for Kylie and a "good job" to Jessica who showed great skills and professionalism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, IL

Nice hotel.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Close to everything. Helpful staff.
Location: Downtown, Biltmore, Blue Ridge Parkway.
Easy access from interstate, close to downtown. Staff was friendly and helpful. Some covered parking under building. Nice, clean rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Downtown

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: They lost me in the parking lot. I pulled out and went to another facility. Will not use Expedia again unless I've seen the location first hand.
Cons: Stop the misinformation about the location. I will never book with a third party again without location confirmation. This is not downtown.
Location: Again, this hotel is not downtown. The name needs to be changed.
This hotel is not in downtown Asheville as the name implies. It might be the closest Holiday Inn to downtown, but that does not cut it. It is not within walking distance of the downtown shops, restaurants and microbreweries as advertised. I was so disgusted by the location that I did not even stay. And I won't book with Expedia anymore unless I am certain about the location because the reservation is non-refundable. Very misleading information from the hotel. I was so dissatisfied, I ate the nonrefundable reservation amount.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girls beer weekend

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Had a great time-enjoyed the patio for drinks. Pool was nice to have-indoor and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Good hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Good hotel, not quite in the 'downtown' location that it's name implies, however they do run a free shuttle bus (4-10pm) which is nice. There are a few restaurants directly around the hotel along with a grocery store and gas station . The hotel staff were at all times friendly and courteous during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and room was nice and clean. Which is very important to us. Close to downtown and restaurants nearby. Disappointed with the size of the pool. Although it was clean and well kept, I would not recommend if having a pool is important.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Asheville holiday inn

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient to shopping via car
Cons: Smoking area and breakfast area as it appeared no one was dining there when we check it out, so we needed to go via car to eat breakfast.
Location: Get in car and drive
As you drive up to check in you are greeted at front door with smokers staying in hotel. You pull up to check in and there's a cloud of cigarette smoke to walk through. Once you register and go to move car and bring luggage in, again you walk to and from this smokers area. Couldn't this with ashtrays be located somewhere else? My actual first impression was do I have to stay here but I did since I prepaid with credit card on our way to Asheville, but probably would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great!