Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from Baltimore

lovely place to stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
this hotel was just adorable. loved the room (temperature was a little hard to control, which was the only reason for the 4 on 'comfort of room'), and the downstairs common living room and library were wonderful. Daily breakfast (included in room rate!) was so much better than the typical continental breakfast so many hotels offer. There is a great patio and garden too, which we would've enjoyed had the weather been a bit better. About a 15 minute walk to downtown, which we were fine with, but is partially uphill, so just be aware. If/when we return to Asheville, I will definitely be looking here first for rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don from Auburn, AL

Christmas Vacation

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff. Very good breakfasts, excellent service. Wine and hors d'oeuvres each afternoon were excellent and plentiful. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Sofa in our sitting room was a little worn and lacked support. Squeaky floors in our suite and overhead. But this is normal in a 1924 structure.
Location: Walking distance to downtown Asheville. Close to Biltmore House, Grove Park Inn, and Blue Ridge Parkway.
We originally reserved a suite for three nights during Christmas, 2013, and were going to locate to a motel for our final night in Asheville. However, we enjoyed the hospitality and accommodations at the Princess so much we extended our stay through the fourth night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient, Quaint, and Cordial

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Princess Anne is a charming B&B. Our ratings would be 5-star were it not for the wide variance in room temperature during our stay. While there were individual A/C-Heating units in each room, the venerable boiler was doing yeoman's work pumping heat through the radiators. I actually love hot water heat, so control of the temperature is the only mild criticism. The staff was attentive and helpful, and every breakfast was both delicious and filling (we were so full, we skipped lunches). The location is about a mile from the heart of great shopping/antiquing, and we were more than comfortable with the walk. This is a gem, and if you can get comfortable with a few eccentricities of a 90 year old hotel, she won't disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic setting

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Big fireplace as we were there in winter
Would definitely recommend , grounds in the back need upgraded as that part of the view not that scenic but breakfast was yummy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff Shores from Gainesville, FL

Best place in Asheville

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Been here twice and will never stay anywhere else as long and they have rooms available! Incredible breakfast, cozy rustic rooms, very romantic atmosphere. Nicest people in the world for staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susan from new mexico

Charming, beautiful retreat

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Can't think of anything
On a 3 week, 5000 mile road trip, Princess Anne stands out as one of the best places we stayed, and the best value. The wine & hors d'oeuvres were actually delicious, the full (not buffet!) breakfast in a delightful dining room was great, the suite of sitting room and fully separate bedroom was thoughtfully decorated and very comfortable, and the various charming places to relax (porches, garden, salon & library) were generous. The staff were well informed, flexible and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

my stay at the princess anne hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
everything was absolutely perfect! the way it is layed out and decorated you would expect to see clark gable or someone famous past star! this is our third visit! after a day of exploring Ashville you can come back and relax on one of the porches! the location is great also,a nice quiet neighborhood.will be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from Belmont, NC

Excellent Choice

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!!
I was in Asheville for a conference that I attend annually. We (my wife and myself) typically stay at The Grove Park Inn but have had inferior rooms the last three years so we decided to try an alternative. How glad that we did. Princess Anne Hotel is convenient, clean and well restored. Not only did we prefer this after our last several stays at The Grove Park Inn, but the price was much less, the rooms superior, convenient parking and it included a wonderful breakfast and wine/cheese bar as well. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet and convenient hotel in Asheville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet, gracious, quality food

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sister weekend - lots of spots to sit and visit: front porch, side porch, living room, dining room, spots on each of the three floors, outside around the koi fountain. Not a stuffy place with fancy people but gracious and comfortable. We loved everything about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Florids

Princess Anne hotel stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location a bit inconvenient but. Hotel itself and amenities were excellent. Staff was helpful but could have been a bit more friendly.