Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A taste of England near Asheville

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Awesome hosts and breakfast experience.
Cons: A fresh coat of paint and a little more thorough cleaning would make for a much better first impression.
Location: About 20 minutes south of Asheville in a residential area; ample off-road parking on a long gravel driveway.
First impression was very bad: there was a large cockroach in the sink, inside of drawers were dirty, cobwebs in the skylight and around the lights, grass on the floor in the closet, hairs on the towels, some mildew marks on ceiling. We almost walked out. However, the cockroach appeared to be a one-off and must have come in the open window. By the end of the stay, the less-than-industrial laundry and need for a good room cleaning/repainting had been forgiven. Breakfast was an old-fashioned delight with the handful of guests sitting together at a large dining table, eating the tasty, cooked (though sadly not quite "Full English") breakfast, enjoying conversation with other guests and the hosts. The hosts are English, have some interesting tales to share, and are masters at drawing out conversation from the guests. They also have an interesting collection of classic cars. It was more of an event than your typical breakfast and lasted 8:30-9:30. If you're looking for a taste of England within 20 minutes of Asheville, are interested in breakfast conversation and perhaps classic cars, and aren't too picky about a spotless hotel room, this would be a good place to stay. If you're picky about cleanliness, an early bird or perhaps prefer a more anonymous experience, this might not be the place for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The owners of the bed and breakfast were nice and hospital. The breakfast was fabulous! However, the accommodations were very dated and were inconsistent with the pictures. The main social areas were not air conditioned so the house felt muggy; the AC unit in the room struggled to cool the room. Moreover the owners told me it was 5 miles from the Baltimore and it was more like 12 miles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from Greer,Sc

Awesome

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I sent a couple of my best friends here for a surprise get away and they came back relaxed and full of glowing reviews!! They loved every minute of their stay. The owners were very personable and made their stay a wonderful experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary Morgan from Happy Valley, OR

Close to Biltmore

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The ambiance and comfort of the Tudor was exceptional. We loved the setting and the friendliness of the owners. We would definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kenneth Mitchell from Tudor House

Not far from Biltmore House

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful home filled with antiques. The hosts are very gracious and the morning breakfast is a treat. Alvie is a bit of a mechanical genius, and this from someone that is one as well. You will enjoy seeing some of his automobiles. The hidden doors in the woodwork are cool. When you go to Biltmore, check the wood paneling. When you come back to the house, you will see much the same. Ask Alvie where he came by the wood for the paneling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Straight down the road from Biltmore about 20min.

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: See my post above!!
Cons: There is nothing that could've improved our stay! It was perfect!!!
Location: See my post above!!
Absolutely loved staying here and can't wait to go back!! Have already recommended it to several people! June & Alan were so very friendly and non-intrusive. Her breakfast was DELICIOUS (and my husband & I are very picky eaters)!! I loved our accomodations!! King size bed, electric fire place, jacuzzi!! All the amenities we wanted and no minimum stay required (which was very hard to come by when researching B&Bs). Alan built a tower in the back yard with a double helix staircase and a hot tub at the top!! Its located at the beginning of a subdivision but you would never know it. It sits far back surrounded by LOTS of trees. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere and can't hear any traffic noise! Once you turn out of the drive way, you have to make one more turn to get out of the neighborhood and the road leads you straight to the Biltmore. It took us about 20 minutes (give or take a few).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Special place to stay

Posted Oct 27, 2013
The accommodation is a comfortable and quiet Tudor house keeping all promises of the name, wonderful interiors and British atmosphere; it is nestled in a natural setting just a few dozen yards from the main street that magically disappear when you reach the place. It is very close to the access ports of the local National Parks and to Asheville, all within a few tens of minutes of car. Don't miss Chimney Rock Park and with the breathtaking view on the valley and Lake Lure and the Blue Ridge Parkway, this last I recommend to arrive from the 215 South near Canton possibly at Foliage peak. The owners are very friendly and generous of good advice about the amenities in the area; long, interesting and stimulating evening conversation in front of the fireplace (needed for the season) for a different holiday. Pleasant breakfast, quality of ingredients simple but effective preparation and wonderful presentation. My only concern is to be more than 10 hours drive from my hometown having not so much opportunities to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kare from Jupiter, Fl

Ol English House

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: It's tucked away from the road near a residental area. It's a older house with alot of charm.
Cons: Grounds and sitting areas outside need some cleaning up so you can actually sit on them.
Location: About a 15 min ride to Ashville, of course the Biltmore is nearby which is a whole day experience. A ride up to Mt. Mitchell is fun in the fall.
We enjoyed our visit to Tudor House with June and Alvin. They were wonderful hosts. Loved all the Englishness of the house. June serves a great breakfast, and the upstairs room we had was so cute and rustic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Sandy Springs, GA

Good times

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a one night October stay in Asheville for a wedding. The typical chain hotel prices were very high due to leaf peeping season. Some places wanted a two night minimum. We found this "hotel" on this site and thought our first B&B would be worth a try. It turned out to be a nice place to stay. We used the jacuzzi tub for a good soak after our 10 mile hike, returned from the wedding and slept with the windows open, and awoke the next morning to a nice breakfast where we spoke with other guests admiring the nice craftsmanship throughout the house (amongst other topics). The owners are friendly and treat you well.