Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gokul Vigneshfrom birmingham

only if you can't find a place nearby

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed just a night. quite a spacious room and infact had an extra bed. no baby cot though even though we mentioned it at the time of booking. The kettle was dirty and teach cups were not clean. No soaps or bathing gel or liquid in room but tons of shampoo and moisturising solutions in the toilet. It was only mid october, raining heavily. It was cold overnight but the central heating was lukewarm. the place right next to my friends house whom we were visiting. He mentioned a similar experience with heating before when his relatives stayed in the place. Didn't try the breakfast there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Great staff and wonderful views

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Really friendly staff, stunning views
Cons: Some of the decor is a bit dated
Location: Views of the Downs were stunning but didn't have time to explore.
Stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding nearby. Lovely welcome, room was fine and had everything we needed. They were able to cater to my dietary requirements for breakfast and kitchenette meant we could have a quick snack in the evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Countryside Lodge

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: charmant outdated guesthouse waar de tijd heeft stil gestaan en daar is niks mis mee
Met een open mind overnacht in Downsview Guest House, de foto's geven goed aan wat er te verwachten valt en als je uit bent op het IBIS, Holiday Inn of Premier Inn idee dan hier niet komen. Jean heeft een vriendelijk woord voor een ieder en relaxte wijze van omgang , de kamers heerlijk countryside en outdated, wat de charme geeft aan dit guesthouse. Even terug naar af en lekker rustig aan...... Ik kom nog wel eens terug hier.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart, Germany

Historical style

Posted Sep 27, 2014
2 choces of breakfast: continental 5 bp, english 8 bp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire

Convenient hotel - very quiet

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff.
Location: Not too far from coast and Canterbury. Good train service to London.
We needed somewhere to stay close to Wye for a wedding and this was perfect. It was clean and quiet and staff were helpful. Our room had a lovely view of the Downs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Alberta Canada

A very high end experience.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The service was especially good.
Cons: Well, maybe if it were closer to the train station :)
Location: Ashford i is a sort of train centre for the southeast of England, so that day trips to Hastings, Canterbury, and many other places are easy.
My wife and I spent two nights here recently, and found the room large and beautiful, the service excellent, and the breakfast wonderful. I recommend this place, though you should have a car if you come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely 1 night stay, Sean on reception was super friendly, helpful and efficient :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicofrom London

Perhaps the Worst Place in Ashford

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was expecting to arrive at a lovely and hospitable B&B for a change from the usual impersonal hotels elsewhere in Ashford. The reviews read elsewhere led me to expect something special, however it couldn't have been further from the reality. Firstly this is a house with an extension comprising six rooms, probably built 30-40 years ago these rooms are made-to-fit hotel rooms but... from 30 years ago. Horrible flowery bed-spreads, cold neon lit shower rooms with toilet and the basics you'd expect in a hotel (such as iron and fridge). The alarming thing (apart from the disgusting decor) was that the rooms stunk awfully of dust and I had two horrible night's sleep. It was so bad I contemplated just leaving. I respect the fact that this probably started out as a nice family run business but today it's just a way to pay their mortgage. Owner's welcome was bizarre, he apologised for 'not providing a woman for comfort' with the room and due to his own breathing difficulties which he confessed was a result of years of chain smoking he could barely do the check-in. The breakfast lady was a proud UKIP supporter airing her views over breakfast, which I thought was odd given that it looked like much of their clientele came from mainland Europe and they probably depend on that quite heavily!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jfrom Paris

Nice hotel but nothing special

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is quite comfortable but has nothing that is extremely special. Breakfast is OK but not amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Caleysfrom West Yorkshire

Convenient location

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good clean ensuite room. Good size comfy double bed. Good breakfast. Convenient location. Helpful staff. Will stay again if in the neighbourhood. Proprietor/s - please ask guests not to use the fire escape door to exit early in the morning.