Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, terrific staff, amazing location

Posted Feb 3, 2015
I adored this hotel - very modern, comfortable, and it's literally on an island in the middle of the Nile. You're far enough from town not to hear the persistent horn traffic, but there's a constantly running free boat shuttle that quickly gets you to town. On the other side of the hotel, you have great views of the desert and Kitchener's Gardens. The pool is terrific, well kept, and has great views of the city. Truly, such a romantic setting, delicious food, and really very friendly staff. I can't help but suggest this - I'd go back again in a flash!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom buenos aires

a Paradise in paradisiac island

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: location, swiming pool, the view
Location: in the north of the elephantine island. nothing to do nearby, but you have free ferry connections 24 hs. which takes 5 minutes and you are in downtown
beautiful, magnificient view from the cafetería in the 13th floor, friendly people, great swimming pool, even in Winter you can swimm. a Paradise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Moevenpick Resort Review

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The best thing was the Sunset Tea on the 13th floor. For about $18 USD, you each get a huge tray of goodies and coffee with an amazing Aswan view.
Cons: The drapes in our rooms all had problems with opening and closing.
Location: Take the camel safari to the Nubian Village.
We arrived in Aswan on the Mirage I and we were anxious to get off the cruise (rated as a 5 star but was barely a 2) and into a great hotel. We had booked 2 junior suites at the Moevenpick Resort. Upon arrival, we were given the "botanical" view. I wasn't too happy about this at first, but after looking at other rooms, I was happier. There is a large hotel under construction next to the Movenpick, so most of the views are spoiled by this eyesore. Our stay on the main floor with the botanical view hid this problem. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was nice. In USA this hotel would be rated 3-3.5 stars. The rooms were a bit worn--don't expect a turn-dwon service or any chocolate strawberries. Bring duck tape or band-aids to put over the lights on the smoke alarms. These alarms are positioned right over the king beds and they flash like a strobe every 10 seconds which can drive a sane man crazy in just one night. Our junior suites (we had 2 of them) were very roomy with 2 floors. One of our stairs steps was loose. Just outside the lobby is an onsite pharmacy which is really just a space where someone sells toothpaste, a few Maxi-pads, soap and so on. I stopped in to get some dental floss and they didn't have any. A seamstress is available onsite. A very nice man runs the shop but he cannot fulfill his orders. He claims to be able to make you a custom suit or dress in 3 hours. He took measurements and cut them but 2 days later they still were not done & we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Top class hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was excellent. Especially, Manager's swift sevice was super.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom dubai

Amazing location with very friendly staff

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Cons: Rooms and facilities update and renovation
Location: Ferry trip to Nubian village, eating at dohka restaurant, dinner during sunset at move pick 13th floor restaurant
We were thinking to stay at this hotel or old cataract. This hotel offers very good value. It is nicely located on the beautiful elephantine island. Staff are vey friendly especially mr. Bahaa, the restaurant Manager. The ferry trip from and to the hotel is pleasant and always available. I highly recommend especially for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charleston, sc

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Cons: needs free wifi
great hotel. room was modern, grounds were well kept, pool was nice, breakfast was good, view from bar at top was great. on an island with only other hotel guests. when we were there i only saw about 20 other people. it was like we had the island to ourselves. if ever back in aswan, the movenpick resort is the only place i'll stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california, USA

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The pool was wonderful. The poolside restaurant staff was the best.
Cons: We went during Ramadan , their holy month so many shops and restaurants were closed so the poolside restaurant was a life saver.
Location: The hotel is right across from downtown and the souq is just up a block if you are brave enough to face the gauntlet of desperate vendors.
We stayed six nights and the staff was first rate and willing to please. The staff helped us arrange private taxies to all the sights and the felucca sail to Kitchener island was wonderful. The breakfast buffet featured English, European as well as our favorite Egyptian specialties. We spent our afternoons at the pool and having diner poolside. The boat ride over to elephantine island was easy, never a long wait, and kept the busy noise of the city at bay. Our room overlooked the Nile and we sat on our balcony at night watching the world go by. Of all the hotels we saw during our stay we would highly recommend this hotel, especially in the hot summertime that we were there. Surprised await if you stay here, just come to egypt and help their economy. There were only four other couples there, which was a crying shame.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down for a 5star

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Disappointing for a 5 star Hotel in name only. Run down, pool no shader, bed hard as a rock. Had better rooms in 3 star hotels no wifi (additional cost) food average. Wife sick after eating. Moved hotels after 3 days to another 5 star that was truly 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Strabon75from Paris

Excellent séjour

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Chambre confortable avec vue sur le Nil, buffet généreux, belle piscine . Le personnel est agréable, serviable sans être obséquieux. Seul point négatif : la connexion internet payante, service désormais proposé gratuitement dans toutes les chaînes hôtelières. Special thanks to Ahmed Nouss, captain of the Nubian Adventure for his knowledge of the Nile river and the Nubian culture