Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Quiet hotel in Plaka near the Acropolis

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Large quiet room with kitchenette
Cons: This was the best hotel in our 10 days in Europe. Don't tamper with perfection.
Location: The hotel is ideally located just a short walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, and the Temple of Zeus.
My wife and I stayed 3 nights in room facing the interior courtyard. The room was a standard double, but relatively large as well as very quiet, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is ideally located to walk to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, and the Temple of Zeus. We recommend this hotel very highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dania beach, FL

Very nice hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
The hotel is in a great location, the room was clean, big and staff was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Plaka area! Clean comfortable hotel, welcoming sta

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: King size bed, open kitchenette with breakfast area, large shower/bath.
Location: Walk to most sites, many restaurants and shops. A perfect choice for your Athens vacation.
This is a gem of a hotel. Updated, clean, comfortable surroundings, welcoming interior spaces, knowledgeable and friendly staff and, best of all, an excellent location in the PLAKA area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Near Acropolis.

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Comfort, decore, pleasant staff and relaxed and quiet atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking distance of Acropolis and Plaka shops and restaurants.
A really nice ground floor unit with its own private courtyard. Close to most of the major tourist attractions and right alongside the Plaka restaurant district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nicosia, Cyprus

Excellent location and staff

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: We liked everything...
Cons: Keep doing excellent job..
Location: All historical sites at Accropolis are just few minutes walk from the hotel, including new Acropolis Museum which must be visited. many restaurants..
This hotel is in the heart of Plaka and from our balcony we had view of Parthenon and Arch of Hadrian. You can easily walk to any location and historical sites. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. All restaurants which were recommended by the staff have great food. The taxi driver Giannis who picked us and drop us to the hotel is brilliant and very polite. if you prefer small hotel, boutique type, this is place to be in Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, UK

Perfect for historic/central Athens

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Staff friendliness, location, room layout and quality
Location: Accropolis (5 mins walk to entrance), old town of Plaka (2 minutes), Syntagma Sq (10 minutes), great shopping (10 minutes for the main city centre)
The hotel was perfect, just a short walk from everything we wanted to see in Plaka and central/downtown Athens. I found the hotel on TripAdvisor and the descriptions and ratings were accurate. The hotel is comfortable, spacious, very very friendly and in the perfect location. The staff booked taxis, cars to the airport, gave great information and were really welcoming and just lovely. We will definitely be going back. No negatives at all to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Nice spacious rooms with a kitchenette. Linoleum floor is a plus for those of us with allergies.
Cons: Roof terrace to be able to enjoy the view of the Temple of Zeus and the Acropolis and perhaps decaffeinated options in room and hair conditioner.
Location: Located in front of Hadrian's Arch, the AVA hotel is walking-distance to many of the tourist sites, & subway.
I booked the AVA hotel because of it's convenient location near all the tourist attractions and subway. The standard suite are spacious and more than adequate for 2 people (I come from New York City where some apartments are smaller than the standard suite.) I liked having a kitchenette so that I could buy and cook some of the more exotic items from the central market not found in the US or offered on the restaurant menus. Note though that a standard suite has no microwave like the executive and deluxe suite. Suite comes equipped with basics such as a small frying pan and pot, silverware, dishes, salt, pepper, sugar and creamer for coffee or tea but had no decaffeinated options, (though I'm sure if we asked we could have gotten it from the front desk, and no cooking oil) with both a water heater and coffeemaker. And loved that maid service cleaned up afterwards! Small balcony for those nicer days but no screens to keep the bugs out and ample outlets for charging electronic devices. Friendly and helpful staff went out their way to help me book seats for a last-minute trip to Delphi along with a taxi to Terminal B bus terminal in the morning (recommended as many taxi drivers don't speak English very well.) Roomy bathroom but shower had a screen-printed sheet of glass that covered only the front half of the shower that didn't offer much privacy and the drain cover sticks up from shower floor and came loose when kicked. Otherwise I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We only had a quick overnight stay, but on arrival were treated very well by staff. Friendly, helpful and chatty staff helped give a good impression of a very nice hotel, in a great location. I have stayed in Athens a few times, this is easily my favourite hotel so far. A complementary bottle of fizzy stuff didn't do any harm either!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the Plaka

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, Location and cleanliness
Cons: Beds could be more comfortable.
Location: So much to do! Everything is withing walking distance. Acropolis and Parthenon, Temple of Zeus, Acropolis museum, Olympic Stadium, Restaurants/cafes
Excellent location and wonderful staff. The AVA is a beautiful hotel with knowledgeable and friendly staff very close to both the Acropolis Museum and Temple of Zeus. Travelling with three grown daughters, we booked the largest room available which had a cute balcony but a rather small bathroom and two rooms. Unfortunately, one bed was a rollaway and one was a sofa bed - not ideal. The room had a full kitchen which would have made it a fabulous place to stay for two people. As we visited in off-season, it was also surprisingly affordable for such an upscale hotel. I would characterize it as a five-star hotel at 3-star prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Close to all sights, metro and shopping

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location, quiet, mini kitchen in suite. Sofa to sit on and breakfast bar for in room meals. Easy metro access. Great wi fi access.
Location: Excellent location. Walking distance to acropolis, museums, subway, parliment and shopping.
Very quiet, clean hotel with excellent staff. Hotel staff was very helpful in providing info on good restaurants and how to best get to different locations.