Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from india

Great convenient location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We reached hotel in the evening and the checkin was quick and smooth. The room was very small and the television was somehow perched up on the table. The decor in the room is dull. No kettle no complimentary drinking water. The hotel corridor had worn out carpets same was the story in the room. It was at the max a three star hotel by indian standard. The lounge is much smaller than the pictures on net. Now the good part. Hotel had a very good breakfast layout with delicious choices. It was inclusive in our case. It is just next to syntagma square so one can take metro to and from airport easily. We had to checkout early so coffee and biscuits were provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley CA

Great central location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Visitors to Greece will experience a range of accommodations especially if they travel to islands or Peleponnese so a stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel like the Amalia is welcome respite
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great local hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Very central, comfortable hotel. Close to attractions and local restaurants. Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Decent hotel in central Athens (Syntagma)

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The accommodation and the breakfast.
Cons: Staff professionalism and a decent restaurant.
Location: Situated right next to the parliament, the national garden, Attica department store, Ermou street and Monastiraki shopping district.
Overall, Amalia hotel is a very good choice if you prefer staying in Syntagma. It is situated next to Attica department store, Ermou street and Monastiraki shopping district. However, the hotel lacks a decent restaurant, and the staff wasn't friendly and even sometimes rude especially at the reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Perfect location
Location: All major historic sites very close
Good selection, recommended. Senior staff is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Just book it now

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: That we've stayed in half a dozen hotels in the last two weeks but still can't stop raving about this place.
Location: Metro and busses near. Centrally placed for easy walking distance to all major attractions. Much nicer street than Athinas street (for example)
Stayed in 3 hotels in Athens, ranging from 3 to 5 stars. Hotel Amalia was by far the best for location, service and quality. Every aspect was great and this really set the standard for our journey to Europe. Would definitely book this place again if we returned to Athens. Tip: Whatever you do, dont book a hotel North or South of the Acropolis. Book East as you'll find everything much more accessable and a much nicer neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chadderton UK

Great location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Hotel is right in the centre of Athens within easy walking distance of all the main sites. X95 bus from airport stops round corner from hotel ,at Syntagma Square and costs 5 euros. Metro is also opposite hotel. I was upgraded to a superior room on check in and it was excellent although at the side of the hotel. Breakfast was buffet style with both English and continental . I had room service meals on three occasions which were all excellent. Hotel itself was very clean and tidy and all the staff i spoke to were very polite and friendly. I would definitely stay at the Amalia again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and fantastic location!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel is very clean, very modern and seriously great location! This hotel is within walking distance to all of the tourist attractions you will want to see and also has great air conditioning which is key in the summer heat! My sister and I stayed at this hotel and a few travel things unique to Athens is how far away the airport is from all of the tourist attractions in the city. Taxis will cost double from 12am-5am and would not be a good option. This hotel is right by (3 minute walk and safe) to both the 24 hour bus to the airport and the metro that starts running at 6am (both cheap and great options). My sister and I had to leave at 2am in the morning to catch the bus to the airport and the stay even prepared us breakfast boxes to take with us since we would miss the morning breakfast. I would definitely tell any family and friends to stay at this hotel in Athens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel central to everything

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Would stay here again. The room was modern, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Plaka, the Acropolis, Ermou street for shopping and the express bus to the airport. The buffet breakfast was also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Fantastic

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Accessible to attractions and minute walk to metro station.