Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Perfect location
Location: All major historic sites very close
Good selection, recommended. Senior staff is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Just book it now

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: That we've stayed in half a dozen hotels in the last two weeks but still can't stop raving about this place.
Location: Metro and busses near. Centrally placed for easy walking distance to all major attractions. Much nicer street than Athinas street (for example)
Stayed in 3 hotels in Athens, ranging from 3 to 5 stars. Hotel Amalia was by far the best for location, service and quality. Every aspect was great and this really set the standard for our journey to Europe. Would definitely book this place again if we returned to Athens. Tip: Whatever you do, dont book a hotel North or South of the Acropolis. Book East as you'll find everything much more accessable and a much nicer neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chadderton UK

Great location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Hotel is right in the centre of Athens within easy walking distance of all the main sites. X95 bus from airport stops round corner from hotel ,at Syntagma Square and costs 5 euros. Metro is also opposite hotel. I was upgraded to a superior room on check in and it was excellent although at the side of the hotel. Breakfast was buffet style with both English and continental . I had room service meals on three occasions which were all excellent. Hotel itself was very clean and tidy and all the staff i spoke to were very polite and friendly. I would definitely stay at the Amalia again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and fantastic location!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel is very clean, very modern and seriously great location! This hotel is within walking distance to all of the tourist attractions you will want to see and also has great air conditioning which is key in the summer heat! My sister and I stayed at this hotel and a few travel things unique to Athens is how far away the airport is from all of the tourist attractions in the city. Taxis will cost double from 12am-5am and would not be a good option. This hotel is right by (3 minute walk and safe) to both the 24 hour bus to the airport and the metro that starts running at 6am (both cheap and great options). My sister and I had to leave at 2am in the morning to catch the bus to the airport and the stay even prepared us breakfast boxes to take with us since we would miss the morning breakfast. I would definitely tell any family and friends to stay at this hotel in Athens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great hotel central to everything

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Would stay here again. The room was modern, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Plaka, the Acropolis, Ermou street for shopping and the express bus to the airport. The buffet breakfast was also great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Fantastic

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Accessible to attractions and minute walk to metro station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenience and Value

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, understated ambiance, good breakfast and good value
Cons: We could not fully turn-off the air-conditioning in our room
Location: Excellent - old town and many sights are within easy walking distance
Amalia Hotel was the best value hotel we stayed in over six weeks travelling in Europe this year. It is in an excellent location in the old town of Athens and the bus to and from the airport terminates around the corner. We had a great view from our comfortable room on the sixth floor, an in-room safe for peace of mind and the breakfast (included) was excellent. Staff also held our baggage while we took an overnight trip to Meteora (recommended) in northern Greece and recommended local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great, nice staff, excellent breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Wonderful ! We stayed there for 2 days before our cruise . walking distance to Metro at Syntagma square. When we returned fom the cruise they were very kind and stored our luggage until our later flight and we were able to enjoy more of Athens. Close to Zeus temple, Acropolis museum. Staff was great ! They helped us with tips ontransportation ( like taxi to the Port only 20 euros ! For 4 of us and luggage). Rooms were big, comfortable, excellent free wifi, and complimentary water and dry fruit in the rooms. Breakfast was the best !, Loved our stay will definitely come back again ! Thanks to all the staff at the hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value and location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, price, breakfast!
Just opposite the National Gardens and a couple of minutes from Syntagma Square made this a really convenient place to stay in Athens. The breakfast was superb! So much choice. We were really impressed. Very clean and the air conditioning was essential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
great location walking distance to tube. excellent enormous spread for breakfast. staff very friendly and helpful