Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the Parthenon and Plaka.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: NIce staff (and helpful). Clean hotels and rooms. Location is great. Elivator. Breakfast is tasy and satisfactory. Air Conditioning.
Cons: It takes some time untill room is fully airconditioned, due to the fact that room is large.
Location: LOcation is in the center 10 min. drive to Acropolis and Plaka.
We took 2 triple rooms. Fair hotel, close to the Parthenon and Plaka. Parking included (and if nor - a parking garage is nearby). Welcoming staff. Elivator is a plus. Good and satisfactory breakfast, served in a nice hall. Large rooms. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HKG

Greece Trip

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Easy to access by Metro
Cons: Regular change the cover sheet (cloth) for the beds
Location: Very convenience and to access by Metro
A comfortable accommodation, Nice Hotel, appropriate facilities. Easy to access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Very good at what it offers...................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murrieta, CA

Great Roof Top View!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The rooftop bar has an amazing view of the Acropolis and if you get a room on the 6th floor facing the right direction you get the same view!
Cons: The mattresses and the pillows were a bit stiff.
Location: The metro is very close and its only a few stops to Snytagma Square.
We really enjoyed the roof top bar and restaurant—we ate dinner there every night. The kababs were excellent and very reasonably priced. The beds were stiff and the pillows a little hard, but the view more than made up for it. The neighborhood is a little run down, but we never felt uneasy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

close to the metro station

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: for a three a 3 star hotel nothing.
Location: Close to the metro station some kiosques around and coffee shops.
Polite staff very helpfull,nice view from the roof terrace,were I had a few meals, caring bar lady,good breakfast ,nice bedroom with aircondicinor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel and very convenient.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Convenience and Cleanliness. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and are fluent in many languages including English.
Cons: May be, the hotel should consider building more rooms.
Location: All the places of interest like Akropoli, Kolonaki, Omonia Square and Syntagma Square are very nearby. The City Center is only a few minutes away.
I have stayed at this hotel four times during the past five years. The Apollo Hotel is only 3 minutes walking distance from the Metaxourgio Metro Station. It is one of the nicest and cleanest hotels that I came across in Athens. The hotel staff are very friendly and one of the hotel staff knows me quite well. All the staff speak English very fluently along with other languages like German, French, and Italian. I had a very good view of the Parthenon when I stayed in Rooms 506 and 606. Also, I had a very good internet connection (free service) and free breakfast buffet daily. This hotel is really worthy of the money that we pay for staying in the hotel. This area is pretty safe for anyone to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

approach with the right frame of mind

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location... subway stop right outside. All key areas are a quick tube away. Lots of late night cheap eats as it's close to taxi depot.
Cons: there is a shower door but it leaks. You might as well just consider it a wet bathroom.
Location: Acropolis, Plaka, Monastiraki district/ Flea Market
For the price I paid (under USD 50!), in the US this would mean a room at a budget hotel chain, slightly run down motel and/ or a private room in a hostel... outside of major metro area. If you approach Apollo with the right frame of mind, you wouldn't go wrong. It's location is the best draw card - Plaka is just 10/15 mins subway ride away, and Monastiraki district/ Flea Market is even closer. The rooms are very basic; TV does work (badly), the interior facing rooms have no light and the shower door was broken. But hey, it's somewhere to rest your head... and the bed was clean and comfortable (if you like firm mattresses, which I do). This hotel is best for people who are just quickly stopping through Athens en route to the Islands, for example.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Great Location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect and the staff was really nice.
Cons: The internet connection went out often.
Location: almost everything was in walking distance.
The hotel was in the middle of Athens. 45 min drive from the airport. Walking distance to a tour bus. Great view of the Parthenon. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was nice to start your day. The restaurant on the roof was a nice place to eat after a long day of sightseeing (great views).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole from Texas

Pretty good value in Athens

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very close to the train station and it's convenient to get around town. The staff was very helpful and gave us instructions on where to go and how to get around town. Especially Mr. Panos was helpful and jolly. Breakfast had plenty-Boiled & scrambled eggs, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, bread, peaches, yogurt, toast, etc. Living room is big enough and clean enough, no mosquitoes. A/C worked. Fridge in room. The only drawback was that they had just revamped the Internet system in the hotel so that there was only high-speed Internet on the ground floor in the lobby. Not in any of the rooms. And the connection in the lobby was spotty and not superstrong. That was our main desire in all the hotels that we stayed in throughout our trip, so it was difficult for us to not have Wi-Fi. It was about a 10 minute walk from the Monastiriki and Plaka market areas. We liked the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gabi from San Francisco, CA

Great Hotel and Staff!

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I paid $38 euros for the hotel per night, so I was not expecting anything fancy. What I received was what the reviews previously had stated. The hotel is in a very convenient spot as it is just a few steps away from the metro line. You can be at the Acropolis in just 5 minutes! I went back and forth from the hotel to the sites whenever I wanted to, just bought a day metro pass for 4 euros everyday. The staff was incredibly friendly, funny, and helpful. They explained where everything was - the shopping, the sites, the good restaurants! The area around Metaxourgio Station, is not nearly as bad as people were telling me. It is just the working class area and not all touristy. I am a young woman in her 20's and I felt completely safe because I was so close to my hotel. I would certainly stay here again!