Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, CA

Awesome Location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location & Service (staff)
Cons: Nothing.
Location: 5 minutes walking distance to all the key sites.
Location. Location. Location. This hotel is close to everything and the view of the Acopolis from the top floor (restaurant) is the best in Athens. The rooms are clean and decent in size. The showers are excellent. The service is excellent and special thanks to Thomas. The breakfast is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

Nice hotel close to tourist attractions

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Nice place,, staff very helpful. That knocked on our door on the second day to check everything was ok, could not fault the place and such an amazing view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Lovely smaller hotel in central Plaka area

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Lovely inside. Great staff. Very central location.
Location: Very central. Parthenon/Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Parliament and residences nearby with the must-see guards goose-walking. Explore Plaka on foot!
Lovely hotel, beautifully finished without being over the top as many of the big hotel chains are. They have friendly courteous staff and it is very close to all the central Athens tourist spots. It overlooks the ancient Temple of the Olympian Zeus. The top floors and the rooftop restaurant have magnificent views of the Parthenon. We walked everywhere from here. We've stayed there twice and would again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Wonderful location!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location and views from the restaurant.
Location: The Temple of Zeus is right across the street and the Acropolis is about a five minute walk.
The location of the hotel was wonderful, with many of the sites within walking distance. The view from the top of the hotel is amazing. I enjoyed eating breakfast and dinner up in the restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable. No complaints at all about hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable hotel in centre of Athens

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Its central position and very high degree of comfort.
Cons: The breakfast- see above!
Location: In the very centre of Athens-just about everything Athens has to offer-and very close to a metro stop so you can get anywhere easily on the metro.
I stayed for 4 nights in July. The hotel is very central, facing the Olympeion, and very close to the Acropolis and the museum, as well as to the Plaka and to Syntagma Square, and is thus a great base for exploring Athens. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant (I did not eat at the restaurant at night, but had breakfast there each morning) is spectacular. I found the room very quiet (double glazing is effective) despite the central Athens traffic outside- I did not get traffic noise in the room. Beds are very comfortable, the air conditioning works perfectly, the TV has BBC world news; the decor is neutral and creates a calm atmosphere, the bathroom is a good size and has a shower bath with an efficient shower. The only very minor issues were a bit of noise from corridors from around 7.00 in the morning (I think the cleaners may start about then), and the fact that the included breakfast wasn't all that good- scrambled eggs and bacon very overcooked and unappetising, there were small slices of bread- had to gather about 4 to make the equivalent of a slice-seemed odd when you can get great bread elsewhere in Athens- fruit seemed tinned, and coffee may have been real, but tasted like instant, weak and a bit flavourless. It wasn't awful, just that for a hotel with as high standards as this, I would have expected better. The overall experience with the hotel was very good and I would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT, U.S.A.

If you plan to stay in Athens....

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The design,decor and cleanliness of this hotel is very impressive.The staff are friendly, professional and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel
Cons: This hotel met and exceeded all expectations.
Location: Some of the world's most important historic landmarks: the Acropolis, Temple to Zeus and Athen's Gate, all within walking distance.
This hotel is spectacular: location, location, location. Your stay here is within minutes (walking distance) of the Acropolis, Temple to Zeus and a great neighborhood for dining and shopping. You will be very impressed by the beautiful, clean, modern decor of this newly renovated hotel and the professional, friendly staff. The rooftop (open air or indoor seating) restaurant offers a fantastic view of the Acropolis at night and the food is outstanding. It is truly a world class hotel in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Nice hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Good location, nice interior, friendly staff
Cons: I'm not sure if I just wasn't figuring it out right, but the A/C in my room wouldn't stay turned on for more than 20 minutes at a time. It was hot.
Location: The acropolis, temple of olympian zeus.
I found the staff here to be extremely helpful and friendly, even when I was checking in at two in the morning. My room had a view of the Temple of Olympian Zeus, which was cool. Five minute walk to the Acropolis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa on

Perfect hotel for visiting tourists

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I was very pleased with my stay at the Athens gate hotel during my recent trip. I found the hotel well situated and within a walking distance to all major attractions. The room was on the smaller side but most importantly it was clean and had everything I needed during the trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay there again if I'm ever going to visit Athens again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location, fantastic roof deck.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location and the roof top restaurant/deck
Cons: Free wifi in the rooms.
The location is perfect for a short stay as it allows you to walk to many of the highlights of the city. The roof top deck is a very nice feature. The one drawback is that it is a bit pricey for a fairly small room. Free wifi in the rooms would be a very nice and cheap added feature that should be there for the price paid. Staff is very friendly but the directions they gave to restaurants were off by a mile - followed their directions to get no where and then figured it out on our own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Great hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: location and price.
Location: It is 5 minutes from Acropolis and shopping streets.
We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was great hotel in location, service, and price. The breatfast is western style. It is 5 minutes away from Acropolis. The room was specious, which was what we really like. The staff are great in helping out.