Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West of Cleveland, OH

College visit

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location was good
Cons: Allow customers to control the air / heat / fans better.
Location: Real close to Ohio U, the whole point of visiting Athens.
The fan, when set to high to make room "white" noisy, would run for 30 seconds and then cut out for about 10 minutes, All night long. Also there was an occasional hum. Refrigerator?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel close to Ohio University.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Nice clean hotel. Indoor pool was a little to cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try somewhere else first

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Hotel falling apart. Fitness room a disgrace. Not even a box of Kleenex in the room. If it's the last place left in town stay there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Good value for a traveling salesman

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Need to fix security door to side entrance. Door does not lock. Rooms have smoky smell, even though they are called No Smoking rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Stuck in a back building that was undergoing renovations - no wall paper on walls just spackled drywall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Old & dated, but clean

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Needs updated furnishings, carpets, etc., but was clean, convenient, and economical. Breakfast was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was close to family that we were visiting.
Cons: The rooms seemed small and the furniture was old and worn. Plus there seemed to be a musty smell to the place.
We have stayed here several times over the past 8 years because of the location and the price. For the most part our stays have been pleasant. The rooms have been ok, the best thing we liked about the rooms were the beds. There were comfortable and we slept well. We have a family of four and the rooms are pretty tight for all of us to try and get ready. the staff has always been easy to get along with, very helpful if we had any issues and they help to make the stay a pleasant one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn, MI

Comfortable stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Our room was always very clean well made when we returned from our days out. The King bed was VERY comfortable.
Cons: A larger range of breakfast choices would have been nice.
Location: The hotel is in the city where Ohio University is located. We stayed for a family reunion in Athens.
I have read the negative comments and ratings about this hotel, however, I do not agree. We recently stayed at this location for 4 nights. The King bed in our bed was extremely comfortable. The room was always very clean. There was a refrigerator in the room which worked very well for our needs. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast choices were minimal. It would have been nice if there were healthier choices for breakfast rather than 3 sweetened cereals and raisin bran. The fruit was always fresh. The only hot item available were the waffles which is another carbohydrate. Rather than have the sweetened yogurts choices, it would have been nice to have some more "adult" type yogurts such as a Greek yogurt option. All in all, our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Clean and Handy

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Best thing about hotel is that it is clean and handy to any point you are going in Athens...OU, shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. Is currently being remodeled which should boost future ratings.