Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Good value for a traveling salesman

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Need to fix security door to side entrance. Door does not lock. Rooms have smoky smell, even though they are called No Smoking rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Stuck in a back building that was undergoing renovations - no wall paper on walls just spackled drywall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Old & dated, but clean

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Needs updated furnishings, carpets, etc., but was clean, convenient, and economical. Breakfast was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It was close to family that we were visiting.
Cons: The rooms seemed small and the furniture was old and worn. Plus there seemed to be a musty smell to the place.
We have stayed here several times over the past 8 years because of the location and the price. For the most part our stays have been pleasant. The rooms have been ok, the best thing we liked about the rooms were the beds. There were comfortable and we slept well. We have a family of four and the rooms are pretty tight for all of us to try and get ready. the staff has always been easy to get along with, very helpful if we had any issues and they help to make the stay a pleasant one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn, MI

Comfortable stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Our room was always very clean well made when we returned from our days out. The King bed was VERY comfortable.
Cons: A larger range of breakfast choices would have been nice.
Location: The hotel is in the city where Ohio University is located. We stayed for a family reunion in Athens.
I have read the negative comments and ratings about this hotel, however, I do not agree. We recently stayed at this location for 4 nights. The King bed in our bed was extremely comfortable. The room was always very clean. There was a refrigerator in the room which worked very well for our needs. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast choices were minimal. It would have been nice if there were healthier choices for breakfast rather than 3 sweetened cereals and raisin bran. The fruit was always fresh. The only hot item available were the waffles which is another carbohydrate. Rather than have the sweetened yogurts choices, it would have been nice to have some more "adult" type yogurts such as a Greek yogurt option. All in all, our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Clean and Handy

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Best thing about hotel is that it is clean and handy to any point you are going in Athens...OU, shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. Is currently being remodeled which should boost future ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Quiet and easy to access from OU campus.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Cons: The room did have a smoky presence about it. That could be improved.
Location: There were restaurants near by and the highway was accessible. It was not far from OU or downtown shopping.
My daughter, her friend, her friend's grandmother and I stayed at the hotel. We slept comfortably and during our stay, we noticed that the hotel was being repainted and cleaned well. Overall, we were quite happy there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Terrible

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: lady at the desk was nice.
Cons: Needs updating badly. Rates need to be adjusted according to quality of the facility. Hallway and entry to rooms needs to be cleaned and deodorized. I
Location: close to freeway and two restaurants. Several miles to Ohio University Campus and downtown Athens.
This place was terrible, especially considering the very high price of the room. The "secure" entry was open when we first took our bags to the room. The area inside and out around this entry door was run down, dirty and smelly. When we entered the hallway to the rooms wall paper had been torn off the wall and was laying in big piles. The carpet was dirty, worn and the odor was very bad. The room seemed clean. But there was no bedspread or quilt or bed skirt on the two queen beds, just sheets and a blanket. I've never stayed in a room like this! The box springs were visible! Towels were o.k. air conditioner worked only on the very lowest setting and the T.V. only had one channel (the remote control didn't work). The furniture was old and really beat up. The bathroom was so tiny, you had to walk in the room and get behind the door and close it in order to use the commode. For the price, this should have been a deluxe suite! Our trip was an overnight for student orientation at Ohio University.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renting rooms out while the hallway is painted?!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Renting rooms out while the hallway is been painted and carpet is been changed?!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Close to Ohio university.
Cons: A lot
Location: Near everything great location
Room was on second floor non smoking room .we walked up to second floor carpet was being replaced and room stunk like smoke. Ac was so loud and toilet flushed by itself every five minutes.told front desk about at check out they did not seem to care.