Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel in area of major landmarks of Athens, Greece

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: -friendly, informative staff
Cons: Room space
Overall, good experience. Hotel was close to metro station, which allowed for travel to different locations in city Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's all about the experience

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: I liked the staff and the location.
Location: It's within walking distance from most things in Athens and if you would rather take the train, a station is literally just down the road!
It's all about the experience. The hotel staff really made our stay here fantastic. They were happy to say hello and have a chat every day. When we first arrived we were tired from our long flight and just wanted somewhere near by to get some dinner. The man on the desk recommended this great little tavern just down the road and it was just what we wanted. They have been able to help us with everything we needed and we're happy to have a laugh. Really fantastic. Thanks guys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good proximity to attractions but in sketchy area

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: We were able to walk to all the archeological sites - took about 30 minutes.
Good hotel location, close to everything, but also in a sketchy area. The staff was very nice and helpful, and the rooms were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Cute hotel right by metro station

Posted Aug 30, 2014
It was my first time staying at the best western pythagorion, but most certainly not my last. Hotel staff was very helpful, they made us dinner reservations at a wonderful restaurant. the location is not bad at all, i speak greek and i travel to Greece every other summer and this area is not bad at all. if you don't feel comfortable walking alone or walking at night simply just take a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great city centre hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great city centre hotel. 20 minute walk to plaka or most major hotels. Dont believe the reviews regarding omonia square its not that bad. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Free wifi and use of a pc helpful. Room had a large safe that would easily fit a laptop. No hesitation in recommending and we would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangalore, india

A good choice.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Prompt service, clean and comfortable.
Convenient location, friendly and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

central, close to the Athens metro.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Location: Monastiraki, Syntagma square, Acropolis, Museums
Staff was very helpful and informative. Hotel in close proximity to Acropolis, Metro Stations, Monastiraki. Access to the metro essentially allows one to get anywhere in Athens. Omonia is not the best location in Athens in terms of people, but has been considerably cleaned up since the establishment of the Metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Location and Great value for money.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location walking distance to all places of interest in Athens. Close to the Metro.
This was a great hotel for exploring Athens. We could walk to all the sites but it was quiet at night even though on a main road. We were put off at first by other reports of it being in a sleazy area but we did not find this to be the case even walking back late at night was fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was spotless. We had a room on the top floor with a balcony looking out over the main road to the Parthenon. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it as great value for money. Breakfast was good too ,a cold buffet with plenty of food..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fr the US

Ok hotel for a short stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff at front desk were nice, friendly & speak great English.
Cons: Breakfast was a basic continental and was the same everyday. Not bad unless you are there more than 2 or 3 days.
Location: This hotel is near bus stop 12 for Hop-On Hop-Off bus tour. Ask for a room away from the street so you don't hear all the street traffic & people.
Ok hotel. Front desk staff were very helpful. Clean room, great water pressure & temp, but a bit dated. Air conditioner worked well. But wish I could control the temp & make it cooler. Walls are very thin, I could hear conversations (among other thing) going on from the rooms beside mine. Wifi was alright, but very slow (I was 4 floors above the lobby)- had a much better connection when I went to the lobby. Get a room that doesn't face the street. I could hear all the traffic & people on the street. Hotel advertised transfer to airport for a surcharge (which was one of he reasons I picked it) but they actually just call a taxi to pick you up. Athens offers a flat taxi fee, each way, from the airport to anywhere in central Athens for 35 Euro- don't pay more! If you have the time there is also a city bus to take. This is a 3 star hotel by European standards, if you come here with an American standard in mind, you will be disappointed. All in all, it was worth what I paid. Next time I go back, I'd get a different hotel- one with a view of the Parthenon. But this hotel was like a 10 minute walk to a great shopping area, at bus stop 14 & 15 for Hop-On Hop-Off bus tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodside, NY

Good location, price, and hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Everything! No complaints
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking distance to train and shopping areas, cheap cab rides to them as well. Hotel staff recommended an excellent place to eat (Alexander the Great)
The hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and had space for me to upgrade for a small additional fee. The location is pretty good, 20minute walking distance to Athenia Square (I think that's what it was called, tourist shopping area) and about 5 minutes to a train station, 5Euro cab ride to Syntagma Square. I have no complaints about this hotel, I paid very little for a very nice hotel.