Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Definitely recommend.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Bit of a hill to main center but not bad.
Just a short walk up to main center. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great pool. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Athens

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Great hotel, great location. Very clean room and nice bathroom. Air con worked well and we had a nice antique balcony where I say drinking wine at midnight. My balcony had a small view of acropolis. We had our 2 kids with us and they let us check in early so kids could sleep, staff helped with suitcases into elevator. I don't do breakfast much so I did not sample. I would stay again and have recommended to friends already. I enjoyed the orange trees on the street too. Magical
2 out of 5
by Jane from Oxford

Nothing to recommend it

Posted Jun 22, 2014
A bit grim and in need of a complete refurbishment. Reception staff friendly but unprofessional and more interested in chatting to each other. Room very basic, everything worked, but depessingly dingy. Location is grim noisy backstreet, but nicer areas are only moments away. Breakfast poor, by my standards, but the best thing about the whole place is the warm, friendly, helpful breakfast lady.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Hotel is good for the price - the lobby is nice & the staff was extremely helpful. The room is bare bones, but just fine for a quick/cheap stay in Athens. The location worked well - just 5 min walk to a metro stop, 15 min walk from the acropolis, and lots of cute restaurants/shops/bars everywhere around it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel near Monastiraki district of Athens

Posted May 28, 2014
My room was very quiet. The listing on Expedia said the buffet was included, but it was not. I parked my rental car on the street a few blocks away and it was broken into, so pay for a parking garage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

3 Days in Athens

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel does not look like it does in the picture. Although, the inside is nice. The outside does not look like it says. There is an abundance of graffiti but that is the entire city we found out. Great hotel Not a fan of having to turn in my room key every time I left the hotel. Otherwise, worth the service and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Austin, TX

Wonderful experience

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Close to the Acropolis, Plaka and many wonderful things. Lots of cafes and fun nightlife nearby.
I had a great time at this hotel. The location was great for the attractions that I wanted to see while in Athens. Yannis and Sophia were very welcoming and became friends while we were there. I would definitely stay at the Hotel Carolina again and hope to in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

you can't beat the location

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: It is a modest little family run hotel. The location is excellent if you want to enjoy old Athens. It's kept in good repair.
Cons: It is a modest little hotel with the classic two-person cage elevator. Charming. If you need a Hilton, stay elsewhere.
Location: An easy metro ride from the airport to Monestraki Square. you're at the foot of the Akropolis, near the Agora, and the Plaka.
We always stay at the Carolina. It is modest, quaint, clean, and has a delightful location on narrow Kolokotroni street within easy walking distance of the Akropolis, Agora, Syntagma, and the Plaka. CVL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erik from Sacramento, CA

Excellent location in the active area or Athens

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Clean and simple.
Cons: Beds could be improved.
Location: Excellent access to restaurants, historical sights, flea markets and shopping.
I have stayed here twice. The staff was very helpful; they had the room ready early. The location is excellent for engaging in the activities of Athens from touring the Acropolis through the central market and flea markets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andy M 1709 from Uk

Great value

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall very good considering the bargain price. Only real complaint is the showers which were very poor - no pressure or hot water