Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Faros hotel Athens

Posted Jun 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
Perfect for a quick overnight stay in Athens if you are heading for the Islands the next day. Close to the port and easy to get to from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Swansea Wales

Faros 2

Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels.com
Not so easy to find if you get off the airport bus and the street numbering is chaotic but the effort is worth it. Friendly, very clean and quiet and comfortable. Much better value than anything in Athens and great for the islands. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Norway

101

Posted Jun 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
Room nr101 made me smile for a week:) we missed the ferry to santorini, and had too stay for a extra night in pireaus, and we got the room for 50€, and it's worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario, CANADA

Good hotel, good location, good price!

Posted Aug 4, 2010
We stayed at the Faros 2 hotel for 1 night. The hotel was a 5 minute taxi ride from Pireaus. Our room was on the 2nd floor, but it is a bit of a walk up as the elevator was tiny (which is typical for all of Greece). The room was very nice, spacious and clean, had A/C and even had a balcony. There was a shower with hot water, which is all we needed to get the salt off our bodies! The beds were comfortable and had clean sheets. The location of the hotel is about 5 minutes walking to the Marina, where there are shops and restaurants and some beautiful yachts to see. It is also about 5 -10 minutes walking the opposite direction to get back to Pireaus. The room rate was cheap. All in all, we were satisfied with this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, FL

Great Value

Posted Nov 23, 2009
Great price for a clean place to sleep.... not overly impressed with the neighborhood and it turned out to be an inconvenient location for our specific needs. Although we requested a non-smoking room, all that meant was that no one happened to be smoking in it at that moment. Hallways were so smoky that we might as well have a smoking room. Did NOT like that aspect. Staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating. By far a great deal for an inexpensive hotel. Fairly close to metro station, and island travel, if that's what you're after....
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Conveniant - Great for a one night stay

Posted Oct 29, 2009
I enjoyed our stay as it was excellent for a one night stay as we were catching the cruise ship the next day. The neighborhood is not bad and as for the hotel I thought it was good - you get what you pay for. Overall, good. The conveniance store around the corner was a great place to buy water and snacks. The musueum is right around the corner. The only complaint is the location. This hotel is very hard to find, especially if you don't speak Greek.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Stay away from this place! (if you want to enjoy Athens)

Posted Oct 14, 2009
This place is moderately clean, with very convenient location close to the port and the city center. But the noise is horrible. It doesn't matter where your room is - facing the street, or inside, your sleep can be interrupted in the middle of the night because of some drunk sailors screaming at the bar next door, or by some late guests coming back to their rooms at 3 in the morning. I stayed there for 3 nights, and every night was the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, Al

Great hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2009
We stayed at this hotel during a trip to Athens. An easy walk to the metro for a cheap (1 euro) trip to the city and a short walk to the port or taxi service. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they even stored our luggage for a 4 day trip south. The breakfast and bar in the lobby was very good also. Service was excellent. There is a bar across the street that can be noisy at night but closing the balcony door and the shutters solved the problem
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Not impressed

Posted Oct 7, 2009
We stayed here on our way back from Santorini to be close to the ferry's as we arrived at 10pm at night. We were told it was within walking distance from the ferry's so we didn't take a taxi to the hotel. We asked 4 different people how to get there and they all said the same thing so we walked for about a mile and it ended up being the wrong hotel. We then called a taxi and he took us to the address we had but it was actually the Faros 1 hotel, not Faros 2. I've read other reviews that said it was hard to find and now I know why. The address does not correspond to the correct hotel. The hotel was alos EXTREMELY noisy throughout the night and we felt like people were trying to get into our room. Probably had something to do with the marble floors and close vicinity of the rooms together. The elevator also only fits one person and a small suitcase so don't plan on getting to your room with anyone else accompanying you. If someone pushed the elevator button on another floor, you may end up not being able to get out on your floor and have to ride it all over again. My friend and I had a great sense of humor about that one, of course, as she and others kept ending up in the lobby after they had already gone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, VA

Close to Port

Posted Oct 5, 2009
This hotel was clean and nice. Close to the port and was able to walk with backpacks to the cruise terminal. Good for a night before departure but I would not spend more than one night here. The neighborhood is not very nice.