Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central, very nice, very expensive

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Very beautiful, clean room, nice bathroom. two free water bottles per day in the mini bar.
Cons: free wifi, free breakfast included. Mini bar prices were extremely high.
We chose this hotel as the last of three hotels we would stay at in Greece for our honeymoon. It has a good location, and is very beautiful, with excellent staff. However, it was much more expensive than the other two, and did not include free wifi or a free breakfast. Our stay happened to coincide with a few protest marches around the adjacent Syntagma Square, but we felt very safe behind the rows of Greek protest control police.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from germany

Nice hotel in the center , near everything

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Cons: I would like the hotel to have tea and coffee machine in the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Freddie from Kentucky

Best hotel in Athens

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were close to restaurants, shopping, most attractions. We did a (3)mile walking tour and saw most attractions. Subway stop is in front of hotel.
Great location, had a good restaurant on top with great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry from Charleston, SC

Old world style with up to date comfort.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Food, views, service, restaurants, location.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi in the rooms and better satellite TV.
Location: Walk to shops and restaurants, old and new.
Located in the heart of Athens, HGB offers every amenity plus spectacular views of the Athens skyline. One of the finest hotels we have enjoyed in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mrt from Florida, US

Very nice "old style" hotel with much class.

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Location: The best place to be for a short stay in Athens. It is an the center of everything.
Very good and pleasant hotel. Excellent internet service at lobby. Should be extended to rooms. nothing more annoying to me than a separate charge for something that has become a basic necessity. Think what the reactions would be to a separate charge for TV. Reserving that for frequent customers is an obsolete practice (and mind you, i am a member of the SPG club). High speed in room Internet is now for me one important condition for choosing a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adalys from Chicago, Illinois

Excellent location

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Hotel was beautiful.
Cons: I can not think of anything. I thought it was excellent.
Location: Great location, close to restaurants, shops and sightseen.
Wonderful hotel and will recommend. Excellent service and very polite staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MAC

Great Location!

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Within walking distance to everything but the beaches! Great location/amazing service and accommodations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr. and Mrs. Wooodward from D.C. metro area

Close to five stars, but not enough

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was lovely, immaculate and noisy on the 7th floor. Good place to stay if you are a minimalist regarding room amenities. Extra for everything, long room service waits, tiny, paid-for coffee carafes. We stayed in another five star hotel on the same trip, paid less, and were treated to sooo ... much more... Extraordinary breakfast, attentive service, sincerity, better views, etc. The other hotel made sure our comfort was included in our paid stay. That is what makes a hotel five star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Unfriendly staff

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I love Athens and we had a wonderful tour of the city and historical sites. The staff at the Hotel Bretagne I found to be less than pleasant especially at the check in desk. We came back to our room at 2pm and it had not been cleaned. When we called to ask for maid service we were told they were very busy and they would get to it when they had time. I would look for other accommodations on my next stay. Unfortunate because the hotel is quite lovely architecturally and well located.