Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great out-of-room facilities.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Rooftop pool/bar and hotel staff
Cons: The rooms themselves need to be changed. Better beds, larger bathrooms, TV should work and be larger, backup generator for rooms.
Location: Central location one or two subway stops from the main areas. Located right off a subway stop for easy access.
The experience out of the room was vastly better than the one in the room. Out of the room, there is a gorgeous rooftop pool/bar where I could watch the World Cup games on a huge projector while sipping a drink from the bar. The reception staff was very helpful in getting me to a late-night sandwich shop around the corner (the hotel probably owned it). In the room was a whole different story. The bed was very uncomfortable - I could feel the springs in my back. The bathroom was ridiculously small. The TV in the room didn't work. There was a good 20 minutes where the room lost power due to a black-out (shouldn't a hotel have back-up generators for the rooms as well as the hallways/common areas?). However, overall it's not terrible because the out-of-room offerings are so good.
3 out of 5
by Rica from Toronto

Hotel was good for proximity to our office

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: roof top restaurant and pool was excellent
Cons: bigger rooms
Location: was a business trip. Location appeared to be handy to major historical sites
was ok. Were there on a business trip. Appeared to be handy to many tourist sites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid!

Posted May 27, 2014
Requested double/queen bed - was provided a room with two single beds pushed together. There was a gap down the middle of the beds. So I really slept in a single bed. Requested non-smoking room. Room I was put in stunk of stale cigarette smoke. I opened the balcony doors to air the room and the traffic noise was deafening. Buffet breakfast included in price - every morning I attended the buffet around 6:30 (not long after opening time). The food was cold and repetitive. Not much changed over the 8 days I was there. Also the restaurant staff were either slow or understaffed and could not keep up with clearing tables and restocking the buffet. Very poor buffet breakfast. I was a solo traveller and the hotel only provided 1 towel per day. I requested 2 per day and this was hit and miss if I received a second towel.
4 out of 5
by cristina from miami bach

Needs improvement

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Close to train station . Restaurant @ top with good food and view from acropolis .
Cons: The rooms need improvement , furniture .
Location: Good location , train just right there.
Clean , close to train station . Needs improvement .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was fine. Possibly due to the economic state, it was much more run down than I expected and the neighborhood didn't seem good. Didn't feel safe to walk around on our own for too long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Seattle, WA USA

A two day stop

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Just around the corner is the subway. Perfect for getting around Athens.
Cons: This hotel needs a make over. Clean rugs and minor repairs sends a strong message to the traveler that the hotel cares about their guests.
Location: We felt the hotel was very centrally located for the things we had on our must see list, and with the subway so close, it was easy to come & go.
The hotel room is a bit worn, carpet needs to be replaced, bathroom fixtures were broken, dresser drawer was missing the front piece, and if your room is in the front, could be a little noisy at night. Short on electrical outlets too. Something to consider in today's world of electronic gadgets that need to be charged. Hotel staff with what interaction I had, seemed a bit standoffish. The restaurant on the roof had good food and a nice view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from London

Enjoyable Stay - Reasonably Priced Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The lobby was impressive. Staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet was good. Virtus restaurant was enjoyable. The roof bar was a relaxing highlight.
Cons: Originally I was in a noisy room on the 4th floor and changed to a higher room at the rear of the hotel. Both rooms were clean though decor was dated
Location: The area is run down BUT it is by a metro station and sites are in walking distance for more energetic visitors.
I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The booking was made a few days before the trip. I was happy with the room rate and was aware of the location having researched other reviews - therefore felt it offered value for money. It is still a central location hotel which is in walking distance of a lot of major attractions. I had one negative experience- on arrival, very late, my room smelt as though someone had smoked in it and the room was noisy (traffic outside). The following morning the receptionist arranged for a change of room. After that I cannot complain about any of my experiences. All the staff I spoke to were genuinely friendly and polite. The roof terrace was an enjoyable highlight with a good view of The Acropolis. The Virtus restaurant on the roof is also to be recommended - the staff were attentive and the selection of traditional food was enjoyable. I would recommend the hotel to friends and would stay there again if I revisited the city. Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
1 out of 5
by Anna from india

THIS IS NOT A FOUR STAR HOTEL

Posted Sep 23, 2013
We booked because of a good deal. The rooms in the pictures were different from what we got. The hotel was in the red light area, anyone who heard the name of karaiskaki square gave that apathetic look when we mentioned where we were staying. Fortunately no bad incident took place. We had to reach the hotel with so much luggage by the metro as there was no pick up. It was convinient because the station entry is right outside the hotel but inconvinient if you have luggage. Even the bell boy did not escort us to the room with all that luggage. Bathrooms were tiny. Could hear what was going on in the next room. Antique air conditioning system. We were asked to consume tap water as there was no complimentary bottled water but after conveying our disgust the manager provided us with drinking water. Breakfast was the only high point that this place had. Good variety. The view from the top floor is okay, nothing great. A mention about the WIFI. IT DOES NOT WORK! EVER! So don't bother connecting because it asks u to enter and reenter the user name & password repeatedly and that's seriously annoying. 3 of the 4 days we stayed they said it had a problem with the company. But after reading some more reviews I felt it's just a cover up. Quite a turn off at the beginning of the trip. I would not advise anyone to stay here unless you really really want to save money but then you'll end up spending reaching the spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Athens

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stay was comfortable but location and surrounding area was not the best.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Dodgy neighbourhood

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lots of shady characters, wouldn't go walking at night.