Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey.

One night stay

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Little more emphasis on maintenance. Lock on front door did not work (deadbolt was OK), and toilet ghost flushed.
Location: A number of restaurants just down the road, as well as shopping. Movie theater just across the street, close to Ohio U.
om frontage beds, quiet at night. Convenient location - number of dining and shopping options close by, easy access to US 50.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Basic Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This hotel was a good value and comfortable - except for plastic coverings on mattress. The otherwise comfortable mattress was hot and crinkly because of plastic. Also breakfast was VERY basic - no fruit or yogurt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok for price

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: needs serious updating
Location: Athens, oh
If your looking for a clean place to stay for a cheap price this is it. The room/bathrooms were clean,. The bed was ok (something decent to sleep on). Room was a non smoking room but smelled like it was a smoking room at one time. The place is just very out dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Krunal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time ti express your thoughts about our hotel.We take great pride in cleanliness and service.If you would had come to front desk about this smoking compliance we could have move you to different room. We look forward to seeing you in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit to OU Athens

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: It was clean and personal was nice.
Cons: The a/c needs work and the room needs updating
The room was clean, but seemed dated. I won't stay there in the hot summer. The A/C needs some work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2014 by Krunal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during your recent stop in Knights Inn, Athens and for taking the time to write a review on expedia. We take great pride in cleanliness and service. We understand that problems like the one you experienced with A/C handled immediately. When any issues arise in your room, we encourage our guest to notify the front desk so we can take proper measures to rectify the problem. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!!
3 out of 5
by Mac from N.C.

Stay in Athens, Ohio

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location was on the main drag.
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to town and restaurants.
We arrived at 3:30 p.m. but were told our two rooms were not yet ready. We came back 30 minutes later, but had to wait another half-hour before the rooms were ready. The shower head was messed up, and one could barely get enough water out for a shower. The lock on the door was broken. Only the deadbolt worked. Food at the continental breakfast was minimal. This place was passable for one night. Glad we were moving on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Krunal Patel, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations. I have researched this situation from our end and found out that two house keepers were sick on that day so rooms were not ready on that day. If you have brought your concern for door lock and shower then front desk was gladly able to change your room. If there is any chance in the future that you would even consider giving us another chance, we will personally see that we provide the best service.
1 out of 5
by Tim from Cleveland, Ohio

Nasty place!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The only reason I stayed here is the fact that I tried to save a little money for our upcoming vacation. I was visiting Athens for my daughters college indoctrination at Ohio University. This motel was a dump and very dirty. I hope I didn't bring any bed bugs home. It would have been cleaner to stay in my vehicle. I love the continental breakfast (NOT), they said they had a waffle maker. The waffle maker was frozen waffles with a toaster. I will never stay here again. I'm not usually one to write these reviews, but this was horrible. I've stayed in many motels with little quirks and uncleanliness, but this was the worst.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2014
I was looking for a hotel to sleep and shower in. We did not arrive til 9:45 pm and checked out at 7am. So this hotel did exactly what it was intended for. We stayed in it for Ohio University orientation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by espnwayne from Kentucky

Below average, but acceptable

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the outside you would think this property would be awful, but is was not as bad as you would think. Having said that, the rooms are something right out of the 1960s. I think the only item in the room that was less than 15 years old was the flat screen TV. Stayed 2 nights and got no maid service (they only put clean towels in room). Not the worst hotel I've stayed in, but definitely well below average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from Louisville, KY

What you'd expect

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the towels were fresh.
Cons: Water pressure. Soap & coffee should be offered. Fix AC unit, blown bulbs, and curtain.
Location: It's a good location. In the middle of everything in Athens, but it's a small, college-type town, so there's not much. Theater across the street
The hotel room was very clean, but had no soap or anything of that nature. They provided you a coffee pot, but no coffee. Our AC unit wouldn't turn off even if you switched it to off. You had to unplug it from the wall to get it to shut off. Our friends had another room there and it was kind of nasty. Ours wasn't, but theirs had stains around the room, even on the walls. The room hasn't been updated in about 30 years. There's still paneling and the bathroom hasn't been updated at all. The water pressure was HORRIBLE. I couldn't even rinse off because it was barely more than a trickle. To wash my hair I had to use the bottom faucet. The shower head never would have rinsed all the shampoo out. There were also 2 bulbs blown and the curtain was broken and hanging there. I didn't expect much though considering its location. It probably doesn't get a lot of visitors. The breakfast was also not much, but there were bananas and juice. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you needed somewhere to sleep, but didn't plan on spending much, if any, time in the room itself. It really was only good for sleeping and a little before bed TV.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anna from Detroit

Room stinks!

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room stinks very badly. Dirty floors. Shower throws water all over the bathroom.