Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of the city.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Stayed there for a weekend in Athens. Staff is very well trained, checked me in in less than 2 minutes which was excellent after long day of commuting. Room was very comfortable making the most of its small city space. A crack in the sink is probably something that maintenance will take care of soon. I'm definitely going to choose it again for my Athenian weekends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

central but quiet, ultra-modern designer hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: good value, in the poshest safest area of Athens city centre, very quiet on a residential street, modern design, Tempura mattress toppers, great staff
Cons: Our double bed was actually 2 single beds with a single king-size mattress (with Tempur topper) but it was still very comfortable & hardly noticeable
Location: 15min walk from Syntagma on quiet residential street in the centre of Kolonaki, posh designer shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, Hospital, Metro nearby
I was really surprised to find this gem among all the Athens hotels on Expedia as I didn't know about it at all and I come from Athens originally. I was looking to stay close to Syntagma Square and that's how I found it. It is really close too (10-15min walk). I was impressed by the photos on Expedia as they didn't look anything like a 2 star hotel (more like 4-star actually!) and by the fact they have Tempur mattresses (like I have at home!) and when I got there it still felt like a 4-star hotel even though it's hidden in a residential area on a quiet little street. Black marble everywhere, fully air-conditioned (so welcome as we had 38 degrees that week!), and there was this lovely fresh peppery smell everywhere. Fantastic minimalistic design and colours (dark / light grey), en-suite shower with bathrobes, flip-flops and toiletries, a hair-dryer and a safe. The only thing missing really which is probably why it's classed as a 2- rather than a 3-star hotel is a kettle. Opposite the hotel is an unfinished block of flats which made us worry a bit about building work and noise but we didn't hear a sound from there throughout the 8 days we stayed. On our 1st morning however there was a lot of drilling on the street as the Telecom was putting some cables in. My partner flipped and was quite abusive to the reception staff about the noise, but they handled it perfectly. They moved us to a room at the back of the hotel which was really quiet and there was no more drilling after all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cmpmce from NY

Gave us umbrellas for a rainy day.

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We used to stay here when it was the Athenian Inn. The location is perfect for us. Hotel has a lot of fun details associated with a periscope and submarines. The breakfast was terrific. My Eggs Benedict was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul Cullen from Dublin

Great location, good value, suupportive reception

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't beat Kolonaki location! Attentive and welcoming reception. Comfort and cleanliness is enhanced by good breakfast. The exterior on-street seating is a mean of easing guests into the ambience of passing street activity, Thank you for a most pleasant short Spring break!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great deal, excellent location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Location is great, walking access to all of the major sites, just a few blocks below the trail network on Lykavittos Hill, 6 minutes walking from Evangelismos metro station, maybe 15 minutes from Syntagma square, 30-35 minutes from the Acropolis. Rooms are somewhat "scandinavian" in design and very modern, I really liked them. Breakfast is great but quite expensive if you don't get a deal to include it with your room. Because the street is quiet there is no business in the restaurant at night, I suggest walking to any of the many places within a few blocks. Periscope has a deal (free of charge!) with the Holmes Place gym, we used it often. It is an absolutely excellent and very modern facility, much better than my gym at home. The front desk staff was very helpful and polite, they even lent us an adaptor for our computer power cord.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very happy we choose Periscope.Highly recommended

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: How comfortable we felt in the hotel and especially in the room.
Cons: Price was a bit high but we already knew that. The area is very safe and that was important because we had our little daughter with us.
Location: Location is one of the strong features of this hotel. It is safe, there is a good market nearby, there are good restaurants and bars very close.
We spent there three nights and we loved our stay. Our room had a perfect size, the bed was very comfortable and the stuff was very polite and helpful. Also the area is very good and you have easy access to the public means.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: It's decor, the greys and the whites. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Helpful also!
Cons: Some sort lounge area.
Great design hotel. Good and safe location. Within walking distance of major attractions, alternatively the metro is very easy to use and 14 euros for a week pass! Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was as expected from reading other reviews before booking, so no complaints. In fact, exceeded expectations. Eggs benedict was a favourite. Rooms were comfy and clean. Large enough for myself so happy with that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Half Moon Bay, CA

Great Hotel in Best Part of Athens!

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Periscope Hotel was a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The daily breakfast was superb, as was the staff in the restaurant! My only wish is that the menus for lunch and dinner would be improved as I would have loved to dine there for these meals as well. However, given the limited menu, the restaurant is unfortunately empty except at breakfast. Cleaning staff did a fantastic job. One other minor thing to note, the electronics in the room need updating or at least to have all the remotes in working order with fresh batteries. Overall, fantastic experience and I would return in a second if ever back in Athens!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Barbara Feeser from USA

Convenient location

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good italian restaurant right around the corner