Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Frank Lottfrom New Zealand - Waikato

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything, worst hotel we have ever stayed in
Location: Too isolated, Too noisy, awful areahard to find
Facilities: Shabby, Horrible, Run-down, badly maintained broken ; Value: Rip-off, misrepresentednot 3 star; Service: Inoffensive, Polite, adequate; Cleanliness: Smelly, Grubby, cigarette burns on carpet; hard lumpy bed & pillow, ad said 3* but barely 1*, filthy carpet/drapes,broken lamps & shower,no shower curtain,no blanket. sheets were clean though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orléans

Hôtel pratique en banlieue d'Athènes

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Chambre correcte. Vue côté cour sans intérêt. Les portes du couloir sont bruyantes. Cette adresse est pratique sur le chemin de l'aéroport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unacceptable conditions

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It is not as presented in the images with dirty carpets and smelly rooms
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by CNfrom London

It is OK but not great.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Internet connection
Cons: Heating not working.
Location: I thought it was a bit of walking from main road.
Proteas Hotel was very basic and just OK hotel. It is good enough for the price. They have a great internet connection in a room. The heating was not working so it was a bit cold.
3 out of 5
by Marina Macartneyfrom New Zealand - Northland

Posted Jun 17, 2012
Pros: Huge spa bath, nice room color, late checkout 2pm.
Cons: Room stunk of damp mould and smoke, I asked for non smoking
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff run dow room

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great, 10 minute walk from Ambelokipi tube station, safe area, close to a supermarket and a few places to eat. The room itself was very disappointing, the carpet had holes in it and so did the sheets, but it was relatively clean. Shower not great and TV very small with only MTV Greece as English speaking channel. The 1 great thing was the enormous balcony. As I was on the top floor I saw a beautiful sunset and sat outside to ear breakfast in the warm sun
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Kansas City, Missouri

Nice enough for a few nights

Posted Sep 21, 2011
When choosing a hotel for my three nights in Athens I wanted to avoid the noisy touristy neighborhoods and the seedy area around Omonia. The Proteus fit the bill and offered a good rate. It is rather a long walk to the nearest metro station, Ambelokipi, and a longer walk to the center of Athens. But I am a walker, so no problem there. The hotel is nice, modern, not too big. The neighborhood is mostly residential. The décor of my room looked like something that belonged in a brothel -- red carpeting and pink furniture, but for a few nights it was fine. The hotel does not offer breakfast but there are cafés, even a Starbucks around the corner. On my next visit to the wonderful city of Athens I wold like to stay somewhere closer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

Ok for cheap clean place to stay

Posted Jun 30, 2011
The hotel Proteas in Athens was clean and Ok for low budget hotel. If you live in the top floor it was very inconvenient as it had no wifi ( although sold as free wifi access when booking the room which is misleading) and I could not make any international call from my room as the phone did not work. I had to go all the way to the lobby to make any call. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was near shops and Starbucks was round the corner as well other eateries nearby. It was about 20 minutes walk to the nearest metro, Amberolkipi and not easy to drag your suitcase across the uneven pavements. I would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel.