Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Damian from Wales

The pictures tell a fairy tale story...

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: The beds were clean and tidy with ample towels.
Cons: The air-con had a few settings that included: Hot air, hot air, hot air and at the lowest temp, hot air.
Location: The location, according to the taxi driver, is right smack bang in the middle of where people from Iraq and Iran are staying. The economy has suffered
...That sadly does not come true. The drains literally stink and something really has to be done. I'd, normally, never write such a review but I've recently been to Morocco, Paris, Rome and Venice and the SOHO hotel was simply the worst hotel I've stayed in. You cannot tell what it is 'currently' like from the photos! Be warned. There's a load of random guys standing around and, the Sparta Hotel next door, seems to feature a lot of Police.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BJ from Seattle, Wa

Location

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: it was clean and the price was good
Cons: they need to have some sort of breakfast
Location: there is really nothing to do close to the hotel the metro is difficult to get to and Omonia metro
The Hotel was clean and smelled good, the only thing that didn't work for me was the location for a single older women alone it was not convient , it would have been better if they had some sort of breakfast that you could pay extra for but over all the hotel its self was nice and well worth the price, the staff was helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Houston, TX

Inexpensive & well-situated to tour Athens afoot.

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: We liked both the price and the location.
Cons: For the price, no complaints, whatsoever. Staff was most friendly & helpful. We felt safe with continuous police presence, but locals also friendly.
Location: The Acropolis, the diplomatic part of the city, museums (War, Acropolis, etc.); all were most impressive. Also, food was exceptional & inexpensive.
Hotel was comfortable, with very friendly staff. The location was ideal, and enabled us to maximize our ability to see Athens (primarily on foot, as we like to walk a lot). With this particular location, we felt like we got to see what Athens had to offer, and got a good sense of the district where it was located, as well as adjoining districts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by voyager from Truro

Great for 1-2 days of Athens

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was great for our purpose - cheap accommodation at the heart of Athens, before moving on to the beach. The hotel itself was clean, with friendly, helpful and uncomplicated staff. The room was perhaps a bit more like an upmarket youth hostel (although to be fair there were 4 of us sharing!). Previous reviews have highlighted that the area is a bit dodgy. We would not have wanted to be walking around there all night, but felt perfectly safe during the day with a 3 year old in tow. The center is a short stroll away - we walked to all the important sights (again, with a 3 year old!), which was just fantastic. All in all definitely worth the price, but if you want luxury this might not be the place to go.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by c from van

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is terrible...only nice thing is the wifi...room stunk of smoke..carpet was disgusting never took my shoes off...no water pressure in shower not to mention the massive yellow and brown stains on floor of the tub...laid down the only clean things in the room (towels) in the tub to stand on Thank god this place was only $25
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jackie from Canada

Not bad at all

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's not the nicest hotel, but honestly, you get what you paid for. The price was too good to pass with reviews that seemed decent. Yes, the area isn't the prime location, however, the people are friendly and we got great prices for water around there vs in the town. Like anywhere else, don't judge a book by its cover. The room itself was small, with uncomfortable beds and the air conditioning was OK but we had a good size balcony and a fridge.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kathy from So Cal

Awful place to stay

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
When you check in and the clerk tells you Americans are not safe here that's a turn off. The pictures on the site and the hotels website are fake. All Photo-shopped. I'd like to upload a few of my own but this site does not take travelers photos.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Caleb from Los Angeles

Disgusting Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Dirty Hotel, in the worst neighborhood in Athens. Most of Athens is dirty and disgusting (and I am not hard to please), so do yourself a favor and spend extra money on a better hotel. You will be glad you did. This hotel was worst than staying in a hostel. Good Wifi though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Taz from Melbourne VIC, Australia

One night pit stop

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Stayed at the SOHO as a pit stop between a long flight and traveling to the islands, it's a simple place but clean and friendly and in close proximity to the Metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value as a budget hotel in central Athens

Posted May 27, 2013
Great value as a budget hotel in central Athens. The Omonia area in which the hotel is located looks a bit run down but security was not an issue during my stay. Clean, unpretentious and confortable hotel.