Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from israel

stalis hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
the hotel has a great staf and everybody is really nice. the bads are geart and there is WIFI in all of the rooms. the only bad thing is the location whitch is in a bad neighborhood, but still close to enething you want to see! thank you stalis for that price you are the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

It suited my purpose

Posted Jun 30, 2011
I loved the location because it was easy to jump on the metro and go anywhere. It looked nice but it seemed as if the floors weren't cleaned on a regular basis. Also there seemed to be something going on with the ceiling in the bathroom (mold?) Other than that I was very comfortable. The great thing is that the staff was friendly and spoke English. A few went out of there way to make sure that I was taken care of. The WIFI was great which I wish I could say for some four star hotels I've stayed in. They also offered for me to stay at their partner hotel if I didn't feel comfortable in the neighborhood since I was a lady travelling alone. The neighborhood wasn't that bad. I suppose most people would think it was bad because it isn't as pristine as the rest of the city and there are many immigrants in the area. A lady at the hotel had a her purse stolen. I made sure I had my purse/backpack securely in my grip and was aware of my surroundings at all times as I would in any city. She had her purse stolen the first day. I stayed there almost 3 weeks without any problems. If I needed an inexpensive place in Athens I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Good place for the money

Posted Jun 21, 2011
If I ever go back to Athens and Im short on budget I would stay here again. Good hotel for the price. Clean, ok size room (good for Europe standards). Service was OK, (I didn't expect much and I didn't ask much). They barely speak english at the front desk. Kind of close to the touristic areas (15 min walk to Acropolis). The only bad thing is the neighborhood. Drug addicts walking, sleeping, screaming around the area (you cant hear them from the rooms) Just call a taxi and you wont even notice. If you are a delicate person and like luxury and don't want to see certain things while you travel, avoid this hotel. If you are on a low budget and can look the other way while passing by the drug addicts, this is a good place. Have a nice trip and Paracaló
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel but horrible neighborhood

Posted May 19, 2011
This hotel was nice inside and close to the city center but the surrounding neighborhood was extremely bad, we were a group of 4 (3 guys, 1 girl) and we felt very unsafe walking back to the hotel after dark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely bad neighbour

Posted May 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
the hotel is in a drug dealers' area. loads of junkies!! no matter during days or nights. it's very scary even for a man like myself. I saw one of them making injections in the middle of a very busy square nearby. going to hotel after dark is like entering a war zone. even the hotel reception locked the hotel front door to avoid dangers. nothing happened to us but if you like scary movies, nothing can beat this. about hotel maintenance, my room's main light bulb was not working when arrived. toilet flush was broken which caused flushing water overflown in toilet/bathroom. in the second night, the flush is still not working perfectly. I had to manually open the flush tank to stop water running and overflowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Texas

Great value hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2010
The staff was friendly and the hotel was a great value that is a walking distance to all the major Athenian sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Good value

Posted Oct 20, 2010
We arrived late, after midnight, and found the proprietor waiting for us at the front desk. We had to summon him again to our room because we didn't know that the key card must be placed in the slot for the lights to work. Small room but a beautiful balcony and everything clean and tidy. Not the best neighborhood, but a good value.3
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

Clean, Friendly, Comfortable and Excellent value

Posted Sep 21, 2010
I had read a few reviews really slating the Stalis for its location and the "gangs" of young men and seedy characters hanging around. Well there is a shop owned by an African down the street but there is also a Bar filled with elderly Greek men opposite it and everyone seems to get on very well!. OK the area is a bit run down, but so is most of Athens these days. There are always Police visible on the city streets and it never felt even remotely unsafe. It is about 20 metres from a main road Basically the Stalis is clean, comfortable with very friendly staff, air con in the rooms, free wireless, free (simple) continental breakfast and VERY cheap! The room was quite small, but more than adequate and the bathroom was spotless and typically Greek (wet room style with no shower curtain). The view from the room was basically a wall but I was there on business so this was not an issue and I was on the first floor. Views may be better from rooms on higher floors. Also there was a balcony to sit out on. It is 5 mins walk from Omonia Sq and about 30 mins walk from the Acropolis. If I am in Athens again this is where I will stay - I have stayed in Hotels 5 times the price which were half as good - what more do you want?
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels.com