Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L

Beautiful boutique hotel near the beach!!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Wow! Best hotel I have ever stayed. Warm inviting atmosphere. Customer service is the best. Period. Anything you need the staff makes it happen for you. Excellent restaurant and food right at the hotel. The free breakfast is top notch. Good location if your looking for something away from the main city but just a short taxi ride away. Tons of beaches and restaurants within walking distance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel retreat. Just ideal

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great experience. Staff were warm and welcoming and internal surroundings from ones room to the pool bar were harmonious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

My favorite hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Decor, staff, pool, ambience, food.
Location: Astir Beach, Lake Vougliameni, local tavernas around the corner. Great paths and sidewalks for walking.
I have stayed at the Margi many times, including one month 15 years ago when it was my primary residence. It is the perfect place just outside Athens to adjust after flying in from US or to decompress after touring all the wonderful Greek historic sites and islands. It's just 30 minutes by car from the airport and worlds away from the hectic pace one you walk through its portal and inside its walls. The decor is a cross between west and east and the pool an oasis with splendid lounges, a full bar and dining room. The cuisine is excellent. The rooms may be snug (but roomy by European standards) and all have either a patio or balcony overlooking the sea (one block away) or the hills that surround the hotel. We keep going back. We will be back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Cons: Tea & coffee facilities and tap water regularly provided in the room.
Location: No sea view but very near three different beaches. Lovely restaurants like Rafale nearby.
We had a great stay. Very couples friendly. Top class food on the A La Carte and plenty of room to chill out by the pool when we went. Spotless and great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Boutiquey feel with Amazing Staff

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Had a great couple of days here. Really chilled out and relaxing, be it swinning in the pool or lounging at the pool side bar. The staff go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and you won't find one of them not smiling. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annafrom Stockholm

Sem/konf

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fint hotell, inte prisvärt personal mer inriktade på att det ska verka fint i lyxigt än he service. Ingen dryck hann serveras under luncher/middagar. Flexibelitet= 0. Men som sagt fint hotell o personalen försöker ha service. Anastasia i baren lyfte upp hela stället m sin personlighet o inställning.. Men kommer tyvärr aldrig åka hit igen om de inte halverar sitt pris= ej prisvärt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Good hotel with fantastic staff Friendly without being oily efficient but not officious and they're brilliantly trained. Room furnishings were tired and needed replacing The hotel is handy for . local beaches and there is a lovely pool with a bar Watch out for incessant piped music with whilst supposedly gives off you a cool vibe is just annoying. The bar is open late and is the only one so if you have room overlooking the pool beware. We were disappointed with the transport facilities into downtown Athens you have get a taxi all the way or to the nearest tram or metro - at least 5 kilometres away. The tram is slow but great fun Metro is super fast - both are very cheap There no no facilities for tea/coffee making in your room so expect to pay for everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warwick, England

Why the Margi trumps its competitors

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Ambiance, style, beautiful decor, wonderful staff
Cons: A larger mini-bar fridge would be useful for stocking a few food purchases. Limit music from the poolside bar (or its volume) late at night.
Location: Plenty of beaches in the area (e.g. the very good but pricey Astir), some good restaurants just down the road, 10 minute walk to a supermarket.
The Margi wins on so many levels. Real style and tasteful decor boasting the wow factor. Good food (breakfast was a treat). Magical pool/bar area (check out the photos on the website). Terrific staff... and I mean really terrific. The smallest requests are met with a smile and a wonderful can-do attitude. They make you feel comfortable and relaxed... and relaxing is something that comes naturally at The Margi. Everyone we spoke to in Athens had heard of The Margi. Nobody had a bad word to say about the place. Now into its 50th year it clearly enjoys a terrific reputation. And rightly so. Gripes are few. Music from the poolside bar can be a nuisance late at night if your room faces that side of the hotel. But another side faces the road - not a great view and again, it can be a little noisy. A garden or pine forest view might be your best option if you're planning on early nights. If, as we did, you want to get the most of the balcony, you'll want a decent view. We chose to face the pool, simply because it's a beautiful sight in the evening. Check with the hotel before travelling. Superior suites are not spacious, but the decor and quality make up for it. Overall though, staying at The Margi is a wonderful experience. It's luxurious, but subtle. It's stylish, but not flamboyant. It felt like an intimate friend by the end of our stay. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Den Bosch

Belooft meer dan wordt geleverd

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Algemene ruimtes ademen een aangename en luxueuze sfeer uit. Zwembadgebied 's avonds sfeervol als bar/loungegebied. Wifi gratis en werkt goed.
Cons: Zie algemene review. Gasten inferieure kamers aanbieden is een zeer slechte zaak. Laat eerlijk zien waar en hoe het hotel in de omgeving ligt.
Location: Directe omgeving goed voor een luie strandvakantie. Astir Beach Club perfect. Athene vlakbij. Diverse goede restaurants in nabijheid.
Foto's op websites gepubliceerd, zijn zeer goed genomen. Vervallen, braakliggend terrein naast hotel en leegstaand hotel aan overkant. Hotel ligt toch nog 10 minuten lopen van het strand. Let op: het hotel ligt NIET in het gebied waarvan op de websites een luchtfoto te zien is maar rechts ervan in een zoals al gezegd enigzins vervallen zijstraat. Zwembad ziet er op foto's mooi uit maar is klein en er is geen enkele schaduw dus lekker verbranden of naar Astir Beach Club om de hoek @ 20 - 25 euro p.p. p/dag. Hadden Executive Room geboekt. Kregen bij inchecken gelijk al een verkeerde kamer, en na naar een andere kamer te zijn verhuisd bleek ook deze niet van de geboekte klasse: we hadden geen terras noch een bad zoals wel wordt verkocht. Hotel reageert slecht op vragen: dit was zowel voor aankomst als na vertrek het geval. (Expedia reageerde wel meteen op onze klacht.) Personeel restaurant onhandig. we betaalden meer dan 2.000 euro voor een vakantie van vijf nachten. Het gebied staat bekend als upscale maar doet toch aan als vergane glorie. Restaurants die gesloten zijn, publiek strand waar veel graffiti te zien is. Geen winkelfaciliteiten op loopafstand. Je moet overal op je alert zijn dat je niet teveel betaalt: zelfs in e e n van de betere restaurants in de buurt (Ithaki) werd een verse tong bijna dubbel berekend: zowel de prijs per kilo als het gewicht bleek opgeschroefd. En dan de taxi's... Griekenland, voor ons niet snel meer. The Margi: geen 5* en doet SLH geen eer aan...
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom la valette

Hotel a cote d'un terrain vague

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: La literie est tres confortable
Cons: Le menage des deux chambres reservees a visiblement ete fait de maniere superficielle, poussiere sur les meubles, taches de doigts sur les vitres...
L'hotel est a cote d'un terrain vague, la hauteur de l'immeuble de l'hotel ombrage la piscine des le debut d'apres midi.