Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly considerate staff
Cons: more consideration could be given to the firmness of the beds
The Tropical Hotel sits close to the sea, it was clean with very friendly and helpful staff. public transport to the middle of Athens was available and plentiful and we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The only things we found wrong were that the patio doors didn't lock (could be a danger for children) and of course security, our only other complaint was that the beds were uncomfortably hard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Next to a strip club, unfriendly staff, wouldn't give us a queen bed but pushed to small beds together instead, internet did not work
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Athens is great, hotel can be better.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The complimentary breakfast buffet, close to public transportation, restaurants, beach across the street. Big balcony view. Serve dinner as well
Cons: The rooms, bed was really hard the mattress was more like a box spring. WiFi connection was in and out, had to go outside the room to connect.
Location: Beach directly across the street, Restaurants on the same strip,bakery and markets really close by. Tram and bus and train right on the same strip.
Amazing city with great people, great food and amazing culture. The nightlife scene is very alive and happening, not just 1 type of crowd hanging out and exploring. People of all ages converge and explore the city and it's attributes, everyone should and must explore downtown Athens especially Syntagma Square and the corresponding markets that surround it. The beaches are a must to visit and explore, take a trip down to Alimos, Atticos it wont ruin your experience, it'll only make it better. The music, the food, the people, the atmosphere is nothing but fun, fun, fun. Their is literally an inflate-able water park in the ocean. Their is so much to do and see, the ease of access to the tram, train and bus. is another huge plus. Food can be a bit pricey if you are on a tight budget, but worth it in some establishments, the grocery store/market is your friend if you have time to stop and shop. The restaurants differ depending on your personal taste and preferences.Real Greek food will taste great and delicious no matter the price point so don't be afraid to eat all over. Try everywhere you can it's a different experience for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Nice and close to beach

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Staff were very friendly and helpfull, the cleanliness of the hotel was very good. Only problem was single beds were much to small. Found myself on the edge a few times Could do with an extra few inches added on to the widths. Overall though good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location for beach, tram & buses

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The hotel is very comfortable and well presented, the breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and the meals in the evening were very tasty although not as much choice. The location is very good in that it is close to a beach and you can easily catch a bus or the tram to visit Athens itself or along the coast, but, the hotel is right next to a six lane (3 each way) very busy road, all day and all night so it is not relaxing to sit on your balcony as it is very noisy, also the walls are very thin so in our room we could hear doors slamming, drawers closing, people talking loudly and bodily functions. Apart from a couple of people I felt the staff were not very friendly or helpful, but taking everything into account I would still recommend this hotel. One other thing I would recommend would be to buy the 5 day weekly ticket for the tram/buses and metro (it does not cover transport to and from the airport) for ten euros, you can buy it at the tram stop in Syntagma Square, we used it every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close beach.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Everything is very good, hotel is clean and staff r nice. But little far from down town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: all of it
Location: right by the dirty beach
it was a good location but on a six lane road. The beds were to hard. If you wanted to make a cupper then you had to ask for a flask of hot water from staff who were not that happy about customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traceyfrom Devon, UK

Great for exploring, close to beach & transport

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location - out of the manic bustle of the centre, near the beach and public transport on your doorstep.
Cons: Maybe some soundproofing - the road is busy 24 - 7! Other than that, all good.
Location: Beach, bus & tram stops across the street. Loads of places to eat & drink, kiosk for supplies a few footsteps away. Access to everything really easy.
We didn't spend much time at the hotel as we were so busy out on the town or using the tram (across the road) to venture out. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave great tips on using public transport to get where we wanted to go - saving us a fortune had we booked excursions (one trip alone saved us about 70 Euros). It's about an hour to the centre of Athens by tram, you can also get to Pireaus Port in one direction, and Voulas in the other. A short bus trip from Voulas takes you to Vougliamenis beach, which is really worth the trip. We only had breakfast on one morning, as we were making the most of the coffee shops and tavernas, but the day we did eat at the hotel it was good - buffet style with lots of options, plus coffee and fruit juice. Great value hotel in a good location. Only downside is that the main road at the front was loud, but we wore ourselves out enough to sleep through it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurafrom Hamilton, ON CANANDA

Nice small hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, proximity to the sea, nice view from restaurant and balcony.
Cons: Bed and pillows were awful.
Friendly staff, except for I think the owner. He was a little prickly. Clean nice room, but uncomfortable bed and old tatty pillows. Pool and Jacuzzi closed for the season. View of the sea from small side balcony. Public beach across from hotel not maintained very well during winter, but very nice beaches just to the south within walking distance. Not near town, so you will pay 12 to 15 euros to the Acropolis by taxi. Tram and buses are right out front if you are confident enough to use transit. The hotel and other guests are quiet, but if you have the windows open you will hear drag racing up and down the street at night. Double doors on balcony to filter out the noise. Very busy highway between hotel and beach, pedestrian crosswalk not far. Excellent breakfast every day included. Coffee shop, gyro restaurant, and newsstand/kiosk all on the next block.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: it's situation
The main road passing by, it an be a bit noisy if you forget to close the double door on the balcony