Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johns Creek, GA

Good find on the road

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was great and the amenities, especially the breakfast/TV/work station area was well set up, especially the mini library.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We were passing through so only looked for proximity to I-75.
This was a last-minute reservation for a road trip and I was pleasantly surprised. I chose the Holiday Inn Express because I have always had good experiences with the brand. This one in Athens exceeded my expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by WB6RHF from Long Beach,CA

In transit to Dayton Hamfest

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Everything worked.
Cons: In room Fridge could be much quieter
Location: I don't know the area well enough to comment.
Hotel staff worked with both myself and expedia to clear up a booking error .The breakfast is equal to those at the Mariot in my evaluation, without the access cards and cost.The pool and spa were great, clean , and everything worked. I would have chosen two softer pillows and that aside the room was clean and well appointed. Perhaps my only complaint was the built in fridge was very noisy.It could have been my being more sensitive after a long travel day. The wi-fi was free and worked well. Overall my impression was one of getting much more than I expected in an area where I expected the Hatfield and McCoys with stills and guns. PS. several great food places available within walking and short driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim Marshall from Davison MI.

Average Room

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing special. The pool was closed. The breakfast was good, but Shoney's, just down the road, has a great breakfast buffet for seniors. Should have cost less since the pool was closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

christmas in tenn.

Posted Jan 16, 2014
I'm from NY and my inlaws moved to Tenn. so my niece, mother, and I went to visit at christmas 2013. Everyone was very nice and always had a smile which for me is hard to do when not home for Christmas. The staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Fort Lauderdale

Loved the place

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Good breakfast, clean room, well maintained and friendly.
Cons: Forgot our wake up call.
Location: Plenty of food place, located between Knoxville and Chattanooga with many attractions and plenty of shopping.
Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well maintained. The only thing I can say that is negative is we asked for a wake up call and did not get one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, Virginia

Good travel stop

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: Coffee!
We booked 7 rooms for a mission team travel stop. Public areas were very clean. Staff was helpful. Close to a variety of places to eat. Breakfast was okay, but coffee wasn't good. One non- smoking room smelled like smoke. But overall a good place to stay. We will most likely stay again next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by New from Germany

Great place

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We know this hotel for years as we come to visit friends in Athens once a year. This year we had been impressed even more: they have improved the hotel a lot. It is completely updated. Very clean and the stuff as nice and supportive as can be! Definitely more than you can expect of a Holiday Inn!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Athens Holiday Inn Express

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought the hotel staff was extremely rude. The lady at the front desk was very confrontational about everything. The next morning when I came down for breakfast it was 9:25. I was told to hurry up and get it while it's out. There was one sausage and 4 of those nasty folded eggs left. All the cinnamon buns were gone already and they weren't going to make anymore. This is one location I would stay away from. Unless you really like not eating and sleeping on old pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com