Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than surrounding

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Nice,quite night,tight on parking. Need lil attention to detail defrost fridge and shampoo. Overall pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
The team and I appreciate your rewarding remarks. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a nice, quiet, and pleasant stay. Please accept our apologies regarding the refrigerators and lack of shampoo. I will work with my staff to inspect our refrigerators to ensure that they are properly defrosted. I will also work with my housekeeping staff to ensure that we are properly stocking rooms with shampoo. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Decent

Posted Dec 8, 2014
For the price it was okay .average ... and roaches
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I am so disappointed you experienced pests during your stay with us. Please accept my apology. I met with the staff, and we will meet with our pest control to ensure that pest issue is not repeated. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SAMfrom Atlanta

Seemed renovated, Was very Clean

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Seemed renovated, Was very Clean, No issues. Not very spacious though
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to read that your room was clean and that you enjoyed your stay overall; however, I do apologize that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by donafrom Duluth

My stay at Crossland Studios

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed especially the mattress was very hard, pillows are too small with awful bed sheets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a good one. Had better, but I was focused on my personal event so much. I don't think I noticed much. Good or bad, now that I think of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked hotel, bad housekeeping, dirty dish on stove, bra on sofa, empty tube of toothpaste, but the bed was made or looked like it was clean w/ fresh bag of towels on the couch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Say no to dogs!

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The outside and grounds are well kept.
Cons: Clean the carpets. They were disgusting.
This hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for but... some people live at this hotel and have pets. The room next to mine had a dog that barked ALL NIGHT! I called the front desk to complain but nothing was done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate your kind comments about the grounds being well kept; however, we apologize that you experienced noise disturbances from neighboring guests. As well, I apologize that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of our carpets. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure these issues do not continue in the future. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronnie Jonesfrom Norcross Georga

Terrible Place Don't Stay There

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we arrived we had reserved a not smoking room and they offered us a smoling room. We were sent to the room to look at it, was told it was downstairs and it was upstairs. We looked for 15 mintues in 3 different buildings. The lady at the desk took our phone number. When we didn't get back in a few minutes she called out home phone and left a message accusing us of trying to stay in the room without paying. We finally got back to her after still not finding the room. We found out that most of the people staying there were permanent dwellers. We had people following us around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Ronnie - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I apologize that you were given a smoking room after requesting a non-smoking room. As well, I am sorry that you had such difficulties finding the room when you arrived. Your comments will be very useful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future.