Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with easy access to the Atlanta airpor

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Nice staff, great room and 1 minute walk to the Atlanta airport sky train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Cayman

Good hotel; close to airport

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfy and clean.
Cons: Shuttle from international terminal would be much easier.
Hotel was close to airport but as we had lots of luggage and a baby we found it difficult to transfer from international terminal to domestic terminal via shuttle bus and sky train from the domestic terminal. A shuttle direct from airport would have been much easier however, all staff both in the airport and hotel were exceptionally helpful. Staff within the hotel were friendly, informative and helpful and the room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great experience and very convenient for airport travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Convenient located at just minutes from the airport. Nice staff. Very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great hotel once we found it

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Got into Atlanta late at night and went to the hotel shuttle bus stop. Only one Marriott Airport Hotel on the board and so we got on the bus and were delivered to the wrong hotel (ours was Marriott Gateway Airport Hotel...). The best part of our stay was the shuttle bus driver for the airport hotel who was cheerful, made the whole bus laugh with his patter, and who delivered us to the right hotel without blinking an eye when we told him our mistake. Got to the right hotel (should have taken the skyway mono rail) and went to the bar at 11 pm and the kitchen was closed, so no food. The level of service by everyone we interacted with however matched the stellar care that I have come to anticipate whereever I am in Atlanta. Kudos to you for making your city a home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the confusion with the Airport Shuttle Bus but I was pleased to see that the other Airport Marriott driver demonstrated the exceptional level of service that they are known for and quickly brought you to our hotel. I would also like to apologize for not accommodating your food and beverage needs. Each night, our Lobby Bar closes at 11pm but our Champions Restaurant will remain open until 1am. I am very sorry that this information was not communicated to you. I appreciate your kind words regarding the service that you received here at our hotel and the city of Atlanta. I hope that if your travels should take you to the Atlanta area in the future that you would consider us again and allow us to provide you with an experience that is more typical of our hotel. Sincerest Regards, Kevin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not that bad for an hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: it's clean
Cons: that guy at the restaurant, the manager I think, he should learn how to smile. don't come to work with all you troubles from home.
Location: good location
the Hotel is really clean, house keeping is more than on the top of their game. that manager at the restaurant should learn how to smile to clients, he's the only one who's constipated, they should give him a raise or something
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for completing a review of our hotel in Expedia.com. I am very pleased to see your approval of our hotel in general but disappointed that you did not experience the high energy, positive attitude and exceptional service consistently throughout the entire hotel. I will communicate your feedback to my Food and Beverage team so we can take this opportunity to eliminate this impression on our future guests. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will come back and give us another chance. Sincerest Regards, Kevin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood

Overbooking Problems

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The management responded well to my carrot and stick approach and, according to my wife, did their best for everyone else. They get top marks.
Cons: Marriott's reservation system. They'd really have to pay me to use it again.
Location: The hotel is literally 5 easy minutes from baggage claim.
ATL was intermittently closed by Thunderstorms and Delta diverted my wife's flight to Columbia SC to refued. It arrived 4 hours late so her flight to LAX was long gone. While she was on the ground in SC, I booked a prepaid confirmed reservation at this Marriott. I was initially delighted that it was so easy for my wife to reach. However, when she arrived at the front desk, it turned out that Marriot had overbooked to the tune of an estimated 40 people who were gloomily looking forward to sleeping on chairs in the lobby. Having run a lot of ocmpanies, I know how to get things done so, with a combination of a carrot and stick (including getting Expedia to push), my wife and her sister, traveling with her, were given a room that couldn't be rented because the shower didn't work and they got a good night's sleep with the use of the showers in the health club the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for completing a review of our hotel in Expedia.com. I am very much aware of the situation that took place here on Saturday night. It was a very tiring and stressful time for many distressed passengers from the airport. The storms here in Atlanta created some additional demand on all the hotels in the area. I appreciate your comments recognizing the amount of effort that the team made to try and accommodate more requests than we had availability. The room that was offered to your wife and her sister was certainly not the quality of rooms we provide here at our hotel but I am very pleased to hear that it allow them to get the rest that they needed so they could continue their journey home. I apologize for the additional stress and frustration that we may have caused with their reservation. I hope that one day you will consider us again so that you have the opportunity to experience the extraordinary level of service we provide here at the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway hotel. Thank you again for your feedback. Sincerest Regards, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Just take the sky train to airport. Easy to get to.
Cons: Did not like charges for wi fi.
Stayed one night on way to fly out of Atlanta. Convient location to airport and right across from sky train direct to airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Beth Maroni from Austin, TX

near the airport

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Next to airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com