Ratings based on 1,342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to transportation. Friendly staff.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Wonderful stay in Atlanta. Had minor trouble with room temperature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to The Tabernacle

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Pillows
Cons: ibid.
The Ellis is right around the corner from The Tabernacle, a re-purposed church/theater smack downtown. The proximity makes it a great getaway if you are in from the hinterlands enjoying the big city nightlife. I was only awake in the room about 35 minutes - but they were among the best so far in 2015. To the Staff and management: Front Lobby - It's small so keep unused luggage carts tucked away, and if you are upgrading minimize the furniture - plus, sorry, the lighting in the lobby is 8MM movie bright - like a huge standup tanning salon. Happy Trails
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gainesville, GA

Way overpriced and would never stay there again.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Quality of building, quality of service. There is no way I would pay that much to stay there.
Location: 2 blocks from the Hard Rock Cafe, 5 blocks from World of Coca Cola and the Georgia Aquarium.
My husband and I went to spend Valentine's weekend in Atlanta. The front desk staff was busy but very friendly and pleasant. The room was a little dingy. The desk seemed really old and had nicks all in the wood. That evening we ordered room service. My husband ordered chicken wings and the wings were literally the size of his house key and they tasted like they were from the frozen food section of the grocery store. Next, after being at the hotel for a couple hours, we realized our room wasn't getting any cooler. The room was 73 degrees and going up with just room temperature air blowing out. We called and told the front desk and about 30 minutes later they sent someone up. However, he had no idea how to work on the thermostat. He showed us how to set the temperature like we were crazy people and then when he realized that it was an issue with the actual room his only suggestion was to call the front desk and see if we could get another room. When we called the front desk, it took them another 30 - 45 minutes to find us a different room and even required us to come downstairs to get the keys to the new room. After getting into the new room, the thermostat was barely any better than our original room. I believe other people had the same issue because when we were checking out the next day, multiple people were waiting to speak to a manager and people were actually sweating in the lobby. It also took forever to get our car from the valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Only complaint was main lighting in room had a dead bulb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The location and style.
Cons: Elevator are slow
Location: Aquarium, cnn, all of downtown sightseeing.
Friendly staff, comfortable room, going the extra mile. Happy hour was great with 1$ glass of wine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid for Location essentially

Posted Feb 15, 2015
I paid around 200 for a single king room. Shower was small and not as advertised and the room was not as advertised. The staff were excellent. Besides the parking. Left my car unlocked outside. I wouldn't recomend unless you needed to stay downtown and had no other choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near ATL sites

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Stayed here fir a conference. Clean, nice location. Staff exceptional
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to meeting offices I needed in area

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: nice staff and good area
Cons: noted above
Location: heart of Atlanta, good location for meetings and conventions
I needed a power outlet near bed for CPAP and did not have one available , also the phone did not work in my room, therefore no wake up call.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Old Gem

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the entire staff. They were genuine about assisting the customers. We hated to leave...
Cons: Don't charge for the bottled water!!
Location: America's Mart....
Needed somewhere to stay to go to the Americas Mart. Good location, just a short walk down the street. The hotel is small in the lobby and restaurant but they make good use of the space. Our room was small, but adequate. The bedding was noticeably of high quality and comfortable. Was surprised that they charged $2.00 for the bottled water in the room. Also, our first experience of having to use our room keys to use the elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great location downtown

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, location
Location: Georgia Dome, College Football Hall of Fame, Aquarium
The staff was very friendly and this is a great location, but the rooms are pretty small. Everything was nice and clean, but just don't expect much space.