Ratings based on 1,529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really quaint and charming for an overnight stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
For those looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it. It is however a really fun and charming hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed overnight and we had a very pleasant stay. The building is very old and a little drafty but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was bagels/English muffins, coffee, juice, muffins, and cereal. They have a great cafe right next door called Cafe 640. Excellent brunch and dinner. Our room was quiet. Would definitely stay again. It's in a great location, very urban area and safe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice Stay

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The price and the location.
Location: Diners, cafes, bars, shopping and restaurants all within walking distance.
The hotel is very cute and in a fun part of Atlanta. It is quiet. The free breakfast is nice too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for the price

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Nope
Location: Center of everything
Safe, clean, and cheap price, great place to stay. The building is old, so think of it as charm.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Read the reviews before you book your room.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: convenient parking lot.
Cons: replace those broken plastic mini blinds--they are really cheap, so there is no excuse for missing and dangling ones.
Location: very close to Little Five Points, Inman Park and Sweet Auburn--the best parts of Atlanta!
I had read the reviews but was hoping for the best. Unfortunately, everything negative that was said about it turned out to be true, such as the ridiculous bathroom, watery coffee and the crumbling infrastructure. They have made some efforts to spruce the place up, but it really needs a huge injection of cash to make it more civilized. A lick of paint can only do so much. If you are a historian and want to see what life was like in 1927, then this is the place for you as very little modernization has taken place. There is an offbeat charm about it, but you have to put up with a lot in order to enjoy that aspect.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Low on cost and appearance

Posted Feb 25, 2015
When I got there, the receptionist told me I had the larger of the rooms with a full kitchen lol. When I got to my room i was disappointed! My own bedroom was bigger than this room. If it was one of the larger rooms, I feel sorry for those who had a regular room. The full kitchen consisted of a mini frig and microwave. The water NEVER got hot, I saw roaches big as grasshoppers, and the rooms looked like I was in a cheap NY motel. I will never stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I travel quite a bit for work and this was by far my favorite hotel to stay in. It's quirky, full of character and warm. If you prefer a generic, modern hotel.. don't stay here. This hotel gives you history all while making you feel at home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Business trip close to Atlanta

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi plus convenient location.
Cons: While this is an old hotel, the plumbing was terrible. Very little water pressure and you had to wait quite a while for the hot water to take a shower
Location: Good restaurants nearby with a variety of foods to choose from. Close to the city in a trendy part of town.
This hotel while not upscale at all was a good value if you just needed a place to crash after your business was completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Weekend Cheer Competition

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Historic
Cons: I would say nothing.
Location: Lots of stuff to do we did not have time because we were there for a cheer competition but lots of things to do trendy blue's club, coffee shops
We enjoyed our stay this is a historic inn so it is not NEW but if you like old historic things you will love this place. We will go back for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential squandered

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Very pleasant staff, and reasonable pet rate.
The Highland Inn is in a vibrant neighborhood, and you have a sense it was once a jewel. Whether the current owners don't have the financial resources or just don't care to maintain the building, this property, which seems to have a lot of potential, unfortunately is instead just sad. Simple fixes, such as replacing a towel rack that was barely hanging onto the wall, or a toilet whose base was cracked and rusted, would go a long way in turning this run down hotel into a quaint and charming inn. It would be nice if the owners were able to renovate - if not, they should sell it to someone who can.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dalton GA

There was no shower just water fog

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Location: Location is the benefit.h
Then equipment is so old and got problem everywhere