Ratings based on 1,479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cary, NC

Great location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: location, ambience
Cons: breakfast room: toaster was barely functional
Location: tons of restaurants in easy walking distance; charming street
The location of this hotel can't be beat - walking distance to parks, a terrific movie theatre, and many wonderful restaurants. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is definitely vintage - I was charmed by its old fashioned ambiance, but that comes with old fashioned amenities: small bathroom, dated carpets and uneven floors. I was impressed at how quiet it was in the room, even on a busy Saturday night. I was charmed, would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but good location

Posted Jan 12, 2015
we stayed here one night. The room is small and bed is small too. The air conditioning is too noisy. We could not sleep with it on because of the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmington, NC

Bohemian style hotel in a great neighborhood

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Cost, vibe, great neighborhood.
Cons: Leaky faucet in the bathroom.
Location: Jimmy Carter Presidential Library. Cool shops and restaurants.
My partner and I recently stayed at The Highland Inn and really enjoyed the experience. We arrived a few hours before check in and the hotel clerk let us check in early and was very welcoming. It's a funky, cool hotel complete with a house cat and a friendly vibe. They have an outside courtyard where you can smoke and socialize.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

A Good Hotel but needs some attention to detail

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: It is in a good downtown area.
Cons: Kindly have a door lock for the bathroom doors.
Location: You can visit the aquarium and coke factory that is just 10-15 minutes away
We checked in really late night like 1 A.M and I should appreciate the person at the counter for still being energetic to receive us well. The hotel rooms were neat. I had booked three rooms with double bed so that four of us could stay in one room. The only thing that disappointed me was the bathroom in our room had two entrance and both of them did not have a door lock, so anyone could get into the bathroom while you were still in it. That made me feel uncomfortable. One of the door's handle bar was very loose and It seemed as if it would fall down any moment now.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was friendly and clean

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Hotel was clean, small, and quaint "ish". Staff was friendly. Walking distance to several places. Shower/tub... Horrible! No water pressure and took 10mins to get water warm. Took 20 mins to rinse my hair :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Nice clean hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Was about a 15 minute drive from the airport,close to the MLK historic sites,very convenient and clean place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom destin fl

Good for a night in the highlands

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Just staying the night over the holidays. We hit a few bars in the area and enjoyed the hipster vibe of this location. This is the second year we've stayed here during the holidays and have enjoyed the quirkiness of this unique hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tn.

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This hotel is old, but well kept and clean. Being a old hotel and vintage is what makes it appealing. The staff was great!!! They were always very helpful and polite. The hotel is located in a very good place. Plenty of great restaurants and shops in walking distance. If I have to travel to this area again, this is where I will stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Excellent Inn! Great for the the price!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
We booked the Inn for 2 nights. The location is great, especially for the price! Service is very nice and friendly. The coffee shop next door, Cafe 640 is excellent. Had no problem going in and out. We will recommend the Inn to our friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Perfect location for a night in Virginia Highlands

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Cute, charming, boutique character. I prefer this style to the big cookie cutter chain hotels.
Cons: The taps on the sink were loose.
Location: Great bars and restaurants all very close by. Taco Mac, Murphy's, Fontaine's, Hand in Hand, Dark Horse Tavern (with live band rock karaoke) boutiques
It was my husband's birthday and a group of us were going out to dinner and a few bars in the Virginia Highlands area, so wanted somewhere close by and cheap-ish to crash for the night. I was unsure about this place just based on a few reviews saying it was old and small, but it was a good price and literally 2mins walk from where we planned to be ending the night. So glad we chose it, we could walk everywhere so no need to pay for taxis, free parking, free breakfast, room was great (yes, hotel is old and small but it didn't matter) This place has charm and character unlike the big chains. It really depends what you are after. I wouldn't stay here for a long period of time but 1-2 nights to be close to the area attractions it is perfect. I thought we had booked a small room but turned out to be 2 queen beds so plenty of room. Kind of weird set up with TV on other side of room and couldn't easily see it from either bed as bathroom is weirdly placed in middle of room but that was not a big deal! Parking lot was confusing as only certain spots are for the hotel, but all are clearly labeled we just had difficulty as we arrived when it was dark. Overall a pleasing stay and would stay again. Breakfast was very basic and not many tables.