Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Great, quiet, safe location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Bags of character - great area for a family stay.
Cons: Beds too soft/springy - but it looked like many were in the process of being replaced.
Location: Not too far from downtown and close to interesting neighbourhoods, like Little Five Points, MLK centre etc. Hotel has plenty of character.
Travelling as a family of 4, we stayed for 4 nights. It's not luxurious but the area, convenience and general feel make up for this. Kitchen/breakfast area has youth hostel feel. Always felt safe here. The chance to meet people from a wide mix of nationalities was appealing. Renovations were being carried out and the beds were too soft - but overall, our favourite place on a 3 week touring holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macon, GA

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Location: Area is older but a lot has been renovated with small shops, eateries, bars, etc.....neat area
Hotel was hard to find with GPS...had to call. The carpet in common areas was atrocious. There was a sign saying excuse the mess while they re-carpet but no signs of work. Walking to room there was a major problem with the floor with mats thrown over it and a sign saying to beware. One area on the way to room had been taped off for some reason?? The room was small but that was ok. Seedy guy standing in hall as i went in my room. The shower was small and I didn't think the cold water worked until almost done...so shower was a little hot. The TV started good and then went fuzzy. The bright side is the rate and the area is pretty cool although I didn't have time to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! So sorry you had trouble finding us. We will look into improving our listing to see if we can remedy the issue. As far as the mats on the floor and the blocked off hallway are concerned, those are areas that we are replacing flooring/carpet and painting. We are working to replace all the carpet in rooms and the hallways in the next month. Sorry if this inconvenienced you during your stay. Our rooms vary in size and decor and we would be happy to upgrade you to a larger room if you decide to stay with us again in the future. We were having issues with our cable provider (not the televisions) during your stay but those issues have since been resolved. We hope you get the opportunity to come back and see the work we have been doing completed as well as the opportunity to experience our wonderful neighborhood the next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Kristin Anderson Assistant Hotel Manager The Highland Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The rooms are small but clean. Bed was comfy. The sink and toilet had been recently upgraded to a modern model.
Cons: Shower and carpet were gross, bring flip flops!
Location: One block up from Virginia Highland. Walking distance to a ton of bars and restaurants and a very short cab ride to Midtown - 2 miles. Cafe next door.
This hotel is very close to midtown ($6 cab ride) and is at least half the price of neighboring Midtown hotels. In walking distance to Virginia Highland which is a great neighborhood. The other reviews I read were very accurate about the hotel; old but clean and safe. There is parking watched over by security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iving

A nice quaint historical inn

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: IT was quaint, and historical
Cons: The continental breakfast and the attitude of some females from the front desk!...The males were nice
Location: I liked you could take the bus
It was very comfortable with a nice bed, but need more outlets in the room for stuff like the computer and charging my cell phone. When I asked the front desk for change to wash my clothes, they were NOT very cooperative and only gave me $2. Needed at least $3 for the washer and dryer. IT would have been nice if they put the pet owner away from others like me that don't have a pet, the dog would always bark when I left or came in or walked in the hallway..However, housekeeping was very nice. Did not really care for the continental breakfast, plain toast or rolls would have been fine!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4-star review! We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve. I apologize for your experience with the front desk attendant and I assure you that this will be addressed and is not in keeping with how we want our guests to be received. Our staff have been trained to provide guests with excellent customer service and we receive many complements regarding the level of service provided. I will be sure to address this at our next employee meeting as well as placing guests with pets in the designated pet-friendly area of the hotel. Thank you for your suggestions regarding our continental breakfast. I will discuss this with our management team to see what we can do about adding one or both of the items mentioned. Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in Atlanta. We'd love to have you back! Take care, Kristin Anderson Assistant Hotel Manager The Highland Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice place to stay , close to great dining

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This was last minute decision. Very nice stay and all accomadations were met . Very personable ,friendly environment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartersville, Ga

When I asked of anything the staff was very prompt

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Not only were the rooms nice, the staff was very accommodating. If I asked a guestion the answer was right on or they wrote it down for me. When I was in bed at night there was no outer noise and I liked that. Very nice place and people!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price, not bad

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Loved the decor of the hotel outside. Inside it's not terribly bad. Did not have the fan problem that others talked about, but overall my one night stay was comfortable. They are doing some remodeling/painting to the place Pro: Price, and cafe next door. Cons: The bathroom shower. Had to take a shower with flip flops because the tub was not clean at all. Defiantly bring along or buy some AJAX cleaning products. Also, there was a cigarette odor coming from outside into my room which i was not too happy about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Cheap for a quick overnighter

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Price, location
Cons: Breakfast was a joke, toast and coffee. AC was a window unit. Understand why it was so cheap
Location: Convient to downtown Atlanta
Reminded me of my room when I went on a cruise. Was small, but easy to check into and easy to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good for overnight stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
It was a cute little and in close proximity to the downtown area. Although the room was small, it was perfect for my one night stay. And it was clean. I also like that it was next to a few places to eat. I would recommend this hotel if you are there just like for the day or two. But not for a longer stay. I was there for one day for a concert at the Georgia Dome. It did not take me long to get from the hotel to the dome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Quaint hotel in a great neighborhood

Posted Jul 14, 2014
An older hotel, but service was good, rooms were clean and comfortable and the neighborhood was great. I would definitely stay there again.