Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Property Just Okay

Posted Sep 1, 2010
Weather was extremely hot and historic property had individual cooling units in each room with fan that swept back and forth across our bed. Was uncomfortable.. Bathroom had chipped and stained tub.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suburban Philadelphia

Roasting ini Absecon

Posted Aug 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
The "in-room" air conditioner was almost useless. The weather was quite hot outside, but inside it never got below 85 degrees. The noise from the in room floor unit made it very difficult to sleep. Breakfast was a sugar loaded large muffin followed by two pieces of french toast covered (drowned) in maple syrup. We were the only two people in the place and now I know why. Stay here only if it is below 75 degrees outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pitney House - nice but hot

Posted Jun 25, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel was quaint, and the man running the place was friendly. The problem was that I forgot the room would be on the second floor. The top floor of a house is always hotter in the summer. The only air conditioning the room had was a mobile one that attached to the window by a tube. It helped, but it didn't really do the job. I have a hard time sleeping when the room is too hot. The house didn't seem to have much air conditioning at all. It was always hot. They might consider putting in central air or at least a strong window unit. If you don't mind a warm (or hot) b&b then this may be for you. This may be normal for a B&B. I haven't stayed in many of them. Next time I will stay in a regular hotel with good air conditioning. On the upside it was close to many shore points.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2009 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Quaint B&B

Posted Jul 6, 2009 on Hotels.com
The Pitney House was the perfect place to stay for a quiet night. It is only a few minutes from Atlantic City, but this B&B is in a quiet little neighborhood a few blocks off the main drag. The bay is walking distance, as are a few dining options. The owner is very pleasant but not intrusive, the breakfast was delicious, and the rooms were nice - a good amount of historic charm, but still very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roxbury, nj

would never go back

Posted Nov 13, 2008
The room was filthy, dust all over everything, stains on the comforter along with hairs, bathroom was dirty, tub was really gross. Dust and cobwebs all over the entire place. Seems like nothing has been cleaned in months.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay but watch which room you stay in

Posted Sep 4, 2008 on Hotels.com
The Dr. Jonathon Pitney House was very quaint, breakfast the next day was very nice, water pressure was awesome. The problem was the bed, we stayed in the "Caroline" room and the Bed was AWEFUL. The mattress was so hard and sunk in the center. We put the bucket from the portable air conditioner underneath one of the bars to try to help. The mattress had a very thin, very thin pad on top of the so called mattress and then a plastic sheet on top! We did not sleep at all. The reason we didnt "blast" the b&b was because of the other guests said there rooms were great, we just got the bad one...We are hoping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alexandria

Great Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 23, 2008 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the talking to the host and learning the Absecon area. We were given advice on where to visit and where to have dinner and they were both great ideas. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to any visiting the Atlantic City area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Delightful bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2008 on Hotels.com
It was a lovely room in a bed and breakfast, although not in the original house. There was a fire place and a jacuzzi tub and it was very quiet and within walking distance of a couple good restaurants. Breakfast was tremendous and the host was a very pleasant person. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to others and plan to stay there again if we are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Much better ambiance than the Boardwalk plastic .

Posted Nov 2, 2005
This bed and breakfast was a pleasantchange from the boardwalk hotels but about the same price. Friendly individualized service. Good breakfast. Updated victorian house was quaint but we preferred the separate newer building. Clean and comfortable but because of the age of the house not recommended for asthmatics.