Ratings based on 5,363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms for decent prices.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms. Nice large pool. Quick easy check in and out.
Cons: There were a number of restaurants in the casino that were closed.
Location: Close location to shops near by, beach, and boardwalk. Bit of a walk to some of the restaurants and other casinos.
Overall a pleasant experience. We were able to check in quickly and early. They were also able to give us our two rooms close together which was very helpful. The room was spacious and clean. One of my few complaints was the overall smoke smell all over the casino floor, surrounding areas, and hotel hallway. Luckily the rooms themselves were not smokey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarrytown, NY

Still Good With all the Bad News in Atlantic City

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: location, location, location. D├ęcor is maintained besides a few paint chips. Rooms are nice. Casino is big with plenty to do.
General Condition: I stayed at the Taj Mahal Sunday night - Monday morning as a 1 day get-away from my job. The general condition of the hotel was well maintained with a touch of paint chipping off the ceiling, but honestly it's really not noticeable. The shops and restaurants inside the casino were clean but the waiter that served my food didn't seem to care about his job. He dropped half my BLT on the ground as he lowered my plate towards the table, asked if everything was okay, and walked away. The food was served quickly and the half of my sandwich, that didn't hit the carpet underneath my feet, was good. My Room: My room was clean and quiet. The bed sheets, towels, and pillows were bright white and smelled like fresh linen. I did spend a little extra money to stay in the Chairman tower, I don't know if that makes a difference, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the room at all. Location: This was my first time in Atlantic City, I'm not a "big" gambler, in fact I learned how to play craps by watching Youtube videos the night prior to leaving. If you want to walk on the broadwalk and see the pier, the Taj Mahal is the best in terms of location. The Casino: Like I mentioned earlier, I'm not a huge gambler. I went into the casino floor with 200 dollars and went to the craps table. The casino staff was very patient with me when I didn't bet correctly and they even offered to explain different things. Ending: Great experience, go before more places close!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Hotel looks and feels old inside and out. Rooms were nice and clean. Nice place to sleep but not for a younger crowd.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel and Casino across from beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: General upgrading. Better and more frequent shows in the casino. Better slot payouts.
Location: On the Boardwalk and near other casinos.
Hotel is a good deal. A little worn down. Had a good time. Filed for bankruptcy during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great Hotel directly across from the Steel Pier!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the beach and the quality of the in- house restaurants is what makes this hotel particularly attractive.
Location: See above.
The Taj Mahal has a welcoming staff who work to make your stay a comfortable one. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom is nicely stocked with convenience items (shampoo, soap, etc.) and plenty of towels. Our room had a view of the ocean which was lovely to look at. There is a safe in your room for your valuables and a coffee maker. There are great restaurants on the property. Try the Trattoria IL Mulino for an excellent Italian meal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beaach

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: some updating of elevators and furnishings
Location: good location for beach. Seems that there wasn't as much going on around the Taj as further down the Boardwalk
Enjoyed the Taj hotel. Very interesting with all the lights, bit Vegas like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Close to the beach, front entrance on boardwalk

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Had good time there, enjoyed the Casino experience, the diner at HardRock Cafe and walk on boardwalk. Tanger Outlets is very close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Miscommunication..

Posted Sep 12, 2014
We had reserved a room with a Jacuzzi. When we got there they said they were sold out. So they placed us in another room. It was hot where the ac was not working properly. The refrigerator did got keep out food cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel- long walks to get everywhere

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Comfortable room- long walk from lobby to parking lot to Casino to dinner- no signs to tell you where to go- staff acts like you shoul know where to go and don't offer directions like proper customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Staff deserves pay. Staff earns their pay.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful, and on the day it was announced that they will either loose their jobs, or do the same work for less.
Cons: Better management. The place is so big. I can't see how you can't make money with a casino at the beach, but these guys have figured it out.
Location: Right on the boardwalk, last live casino, next to the dead Showboat, and the disaster that is Reveal
Certainly didn't book at Trump because of the Trump name, but the staff was so professional and nice, we had a lovely time. Even though Trump is irritating and made his money by going bankrupt.