Ratings based on 3,349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Cons: Can put up more signs...hotel is very big and easy too get lost. Also need too add smoking rooms for smokers.
Was in the north tower...had a room that look over the casino floor switch was beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. The indoor pool was nice but thought it could've been a little bigger. Had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn NY

Horrible check in

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Room was very nice. Beautiful location. Great view from room.
Cons: Check in . If rooms are not ready, an offer to store luggage or deliver to room later would have made a huge difference
Location: Beach and boardwalk excellent. Very near shopping outlets
Unfortunately the first impression sets the tone for the day.. Three hours from parking garage to room with complete indifference from staff. The room, however, was very nice once we got to it. (South tower). I realize unexpected things can happen but there was no offer to store luggage and not even a chair in the lobby. After a long drive the last thing we wanted was to drag luggage around for hours while waiting for a room key. Feel like we lost an entire day of our trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel for the location.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Information about the hotel at check in.
Location: Hotel on boardwalk, so was very convenient to all local amenities.
Typical casino resort hotel. Very difficult to find you way around the hotel as no floor plan was given at check in and the layout was extremely difficult to negotiate from one wing to another. Although wifi was on offer, it was not available in our room. The lack of carpeting in the room made the room cold and uninviting. The room was clean however, and the linens were clean and regularly changed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new yersey

Nice

Posted Sep 26, 2014
hello very nice hotel I loved it all and hope to return soon thanks nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Newly renovated room, staff was friendly. Layout of hotel and casino was a little confusing but staff was very descriptive with directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matawan,NJ

Fun on a Monday night

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The restaurants are easy to find and pleasingly diverse. Everything is clean and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: The rooms are large,clean and comfortable, albeit with some carpet stains.
Location: We loved visiting the Aquarium and we even took a trip to Smithville .
Needing to get away for a night, my friend and I booked a room at the Tropicana based on friends recommendations. When we arrived check in was easy, the room was ready, and the front desk clerk was friendly. Walking around, the signs were easy to follow and the casino was busy with people. Everything you could possibly want is inside this casino and the Quarter, where all of the shops are, is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel - If watching a game is what you are looking for, avoid A DAM GOOD SPORTS BAR. While there are plenty of tv's, the food is mediocre at best and the service was terrible. It was obvious that our server had too many tables, would be gone for a half hour at at time, but the bar manager was too busy watching tv to notice that customers were not happy. There are other places to watch a game that would be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Great stay, wonderful time.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
I was overjoyed when I push my key in the door and I saw the room. Great room, hardwood floors, comfy bed, very clean bathroom. I am very picky and I couldn't find much in the room to the front desk about. The room was very quiet....did not hear noise from the other guest. We had an excellent view of the beach and other parts of New Jersey. Tropican has a lot to offer in regards to food, entertainment and the casino. I was impressed and I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location & restaurants, but run down room

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Great location, the restaurant was wonderful (Cuba Libre), staff very polite, nice casino, great shops.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded and repaired!!!
Location: Boardwalk, beach, shows, restaurants, shopping, casino, night clubs
Overall our stay was very good. I booked a king room through Expedia. When I checked into the West Tower and entered our hotel room I was surprised to see that it was actually a two-room king suite with a hot tub in the bedroom, spacious bathroom and great view of the beach However, upon looking around the room I noticed it was very run down. Old furniture and televisions, had to move the couch to find one plug for phone chargers, hole in the wall from the door handle separating the two rooms, toilet paper holder was broken and coming out of the wall, bedroom thermostat wasn't working correctly and the cool/heat dial was broken, and difficulty plugging the drain in the hot tub while filling it up to enjoy. There was no map or information in the room about the hotel and it's amenities, casino, restaurants, or room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bronx ny

Nice close to beach,excellent restaurants

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I kept winning just enough money to keep eating.I enjoyed the beach and boardwalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C.T.

They gave me a room that was supposed to

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Poker room, Tina
Cons: a lot
Location: other poker rooms, walk on a nice day, i was impressed with the bycycle rentals.
I will be short, first room north tower, gross black circles on ceiling, table cloth torn on three counters, and I smelled smoke. Three check in hosts where not nice. I then called the desk, who gave me a lovely disability room 4616, a non smoking area in the west side, nice view, I liked the wooden floors. I had a disabiity room. Two inspectors came in to asked questions. I told them that there was no soap dish in the shower and should have strips of non slip materials in the bathtub. I was not blessed with the family next door which is not the hotel's fault. My last night however, produced party noise untill 3am, I had to call the desk who told me they would send security quickly. The crazy noise stopped.