Ratings based on 3,295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlantic city nj

Room

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We really didn't care for our room. There was no air vent in the bathroom. The floor was this plastic material. Was not comfortable walking on. The bathroom should have more than one bathmat considering the size of the bathroom and due to it being tile. There were also no dresser drawers to put clothes in. Not very happy with our room at all. It was supposed to be a nonsmoking room and it smelled like weed. :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Sep 7, 2014
When you only stay one night, you shouldn't be woken up but housekeeping at 9am when you're checking out at 11am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OTTAWA, CANADA

VERY LARGE HOTEL COMPLEX

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: NICE LAEEGE, CLEAN ROOMS
Cons: THE RESTAURANTS LEFT SOMETHING TO BE DESIRED AND I WAS DISAPOINTED TO FIND NO $5 BLACKJACK TGABLE
Location: ALL THE SIGHTS OF THE BOARDWALK AND THE BEACH ARE RIGHT OUTSDE THE DOOR
IT TAKES A DAY OR SO TO GET ONES BEARINGS IN THIS LARGE COMPLEX
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trenton, NJ

I do not gamble

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel room was fine.
Cons: The problem with AC, which I love, is they've put all their eggs into the gambling basket. I go to AC because everything else is right there!!
Location: Everything is in AC. They have everything LV has and they have the 'water'. AC is the place.
The room and the stay were fine. However check in was exasperating. I booked a room in the South Tower, king bed and no smoking. When we got there, only about 3 hours after confirming the room, we were told there were no rooms in the south tower, no more king size beds and no non-smoking rooms in the entire complex. I explained my wife had extreme asthma and could not have a smoking room. She went into the back and when she returned there was a non-smoking, king sized bed room in the South tower. I'm looking at my wife thinking if none of these request were available 3 minutes ago how is it that all three are now available in the same room. Why did I have to go through that? We went to our room. The next day after posting on facebook and people saying they got comped rooms, I went to find out why I have never been comped. The guy asks if I used a card when I gambled. I say I don't gamble and don't have a card. He says that's why you have to gamble. I say I spend more money on other things than most people spend gambling. He says Tropicana doesn't care what you spend money on or how much if you don't gamble it doesn't matter to them. I spent over $1000 in a day and a half at that hotel and my wife, who does gamble, spent another few hundred I'm sure. If spending my money doesn't count with Tropicana I'll gladly go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Nice hotel next to everything!! Great food!! This is going to be the hotel I stay every time I am in AC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

1st time at AC overnight

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The slushi bar is the spot to go get hammered. The girl there let my try many flavors and the staff at this place was phenomenal.
Cons: Keep the restaurants open longer
Location: perfect spot
I stayed on a WED night and got a deal for total price of @$80. It was a great getaway for the price. The place has a great atmosphere and cool bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Okay for the price, clean, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The accomodations were comfortable and inexpensive. The room does not have carpeting, which would accumulate sand, but was otherwise a good size.
Cons: The room was very spartan. There was no chest of drawers, no wall decorations. The bathroom pipes made a loud long noise when flushed.
Location: The hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood. It's away from the other big hotels, and there's little nearby. But it has its own food and shopping plaza.
We booked Tropicana because of its proximity to the beach. However, keep in mind that this is a gigantic resort hotel which takes up several city blocks. So, even though the hotel itself is beachfront, my room was actually over a block away from the boardwalk and did not face the ocean. Checking in was quick and convenient. The path from there to your room takes you through the casino. The room was very plain looking. The walls were painted in flat colors. The television was adequate but kind of small. There was no dresser to unpack your clothes into, just a desk with no drawers, and a nightstand with one small drawer. The queen sized beds were very clean, firm and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size but the sink, bathtub and toilet were just standard, they didn't have any deluxe features. No bidet, no snaking showerhead. There were some spots where the paint had flaked off the walls, and the shower chrome had a bit of rust or discoloration. When the toilet was flushed, the pipes continued to groan for a very long time, which also happened if guests in another room flushed. I was awakened by this at least once. The Tropicana has a large Havana themed retail/dining promenade with bars and several brand name establishments. It was okay but not exceptional. The hotel is in a sketchy part of AC so you will expect to either drive elsewhere or to dine in the hotel Promenade. There was a slightly out-of-date air to the hotel, including the casino area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pleasant and satisfying very happy would definitely return .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Check in was horrible. was hung up on front desk

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: nothing had a better experience at Harrah's
Cons: close down
Location: Nothing. I had to walk to everything 3 miles down the boardwalk
Took forever to get my security back. called about it. front desk so rude got hung up on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York , NY

I was a great getaway!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
I booked the Tropicana for our weekend getaway because of the rates that were offered. We stayed on the 19 th floor, with an ocean view with a king size bed. The room was clean, smelled great ( we all know smell matters at a hotel). The staff was friendly and always helpful. We ate at 2 of the hotels restaurants and we were happy with the service there as well.