Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Binod from Kolkata, India

Nice Apartment Hotel over looking Auckland Harbour

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The views from the top floor Rooms !
I had booked a Harbour view room ... what a gorgeous view of Auckland from the 36th floor Room balcony !! The Reception staff were very helpful. The Hotel Rooms have well equipped Kitchen & very comfortable seating area with TV. They provide FREE internet facilities. However, the Hotel does NOT have any restaurants. We used an India Restaurant a couple of 100 yards away and also cooked a few meals with grocery from a India Grocery shop even closer. This shop also had India snacks (eg Samosas, Idly etc). There are several Car Hire Companies on Beach Road ... which was convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marilyn from Brisbane

Great location for ferries, shops

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Central location, views, convenience of washer/dryer as we had a small baby
Cons: More crockery and utensils
Location: Close to Harbour ferries and shops, restaurants
We stayed for 6 nights. The apartment was fairly small in living area but comfortable, clean and quiet. We had good views of the city and harbour. The freezer needed defrosting and we could have done with a bit more crockery but managed ok. Room service was good and the staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deb from UK

Good price, central, helpful staff, outdoor pool!

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Spent 6 days in hotel while relocating to NZ. Brilliantly positioned for walking to city centre/ viaduct area. Apartment spacious, clean, comfortable and well furnished. Little kitchen well kitted out. Staff were super helpful, would recommend to family and friends looking for somewhere convenient that doesn't cost the earth!
2 out of 5
by Milfy from Dunedin

How on earth did this get 4.5 stars?

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: not a lot!
Cons: Your star rating!
Location: Location was great shame about the hotel
I had booked a one bedroom "executive" room, was quite excited by the photos on the web.....ONLY to find it was dark smelly no balcony and quite honestly refused to stay in this room. I asked for another room telling them this was hardly "executive" only to be told they were busy and I would have to pay another $40 per night! I had no choice - I could not stay in this room. Once I paid more than a one bedroom executive rate ( which was $105 per night on special) the room on the 30th floor was much better. Guys come on this is NOT 4.5 stars and really an executive room should be just that - not a dive someone refuses to stay in - disappointed and would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city center.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Very clean and tidy. Friendly staff making everything about you.
Cons: Didn't read anywhere that there is a charge for local calls made from the rooms phone. Found that out when I went to vacate.
Very pleasing experience. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a room in Auckland.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good but could do better

Posted May 21, 2014
Shower head doesnit work probably in room I was staying when water pressure up takes off like a firehose. My laptop (which hadbn't done it anywhere I take it) keep blowing the main room switchboard and Reception could find the number for Auckland Taxis (largest Taxi Company in NZ) only quoting their preferred Taxi Company. Close to Queen Street, Britomart, Waterfront and Viaduct basin though.Overall I was a little disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Colour schemes in rooms
Location: Shops and the water very close by
At first I was disappointed as I had my mother with me who is disabled. The bathroom proving the main issue. After a complaint was sent in, everything taken care off with the attitude of staff first class
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Harald from Santiago, Chile

Good hotel, central location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Very close to wharf
Good service, very clean room, booking worked well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Westport

Close to main shopping and ferries

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location was key for me, close to where I needed to be.
Cons: Some minor issues, the blinds were damaged and needed replacing. Bit dated.
Location: Very handy for Queen St, Ferry's and just a short stroll to the viaduct.
The one bedroom apartment was very comfortable with all the amenities. Very clean and serviced daily. On the 10th floor, a bit noisy from the surrounding area, but otherwise very adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately dissappointing Star

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel has 5 elevators which are modern and fast.
Cons: See above.
Location: Hotel is excellently located inmid downtown AKL.
The advert of VR hotel chain promised their hotels would offer complimentary breakfast, but Auckland Harbour Oaks does not. The bathroom needs urgent renovation, as does the rest of the apartment. However, the equipment with electrical devices was very good. The reception was not very helpful in getting space in the hotel garage, although we phoned twice immed after booking. We had to find some other place where to park. The recommendation of the Hotel turnend out to be extremely extensive. These are only few examples to cut a long story short.