Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel with great views

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We loved staying here as it wasn't directly in the city but easy to get to via the ferry. The hotel room was really nice and the view from our room was wonderful as we could see the bridge in one direction and the city from another. The staff were really friendly and were happy to provide assistance whenever needed. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

lovely location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Out of centre of town but not to far.I enjoyed taking ferry.
Cons: Little 'lost' . Lacks a bit of character .I understand it is a business but seems a little bit 'just moving along' when it could have a bit more spark
Location: Little close by yet very near town and all it offers(short trip via ferry for traveller such as myself) . Can drive there I came via airport bus/ferry
lovely location with easy access to main part of town via ferry. Very friendly staff but it lacks things to do in immediate area if that's what you are looking for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Location: Lovely dinner at Mecca, Devonport.
Hotel states 5 star, but in my opinion unfortunately it is not. Also, although Takapuna is in its name, this hotel us not near Takapuna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay. NZ

A very nice hotel with a quiet location.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, friendly service and convenience.
Cons: The sofa in the room could be more comfortable.
Location: N/A
The Takapuna Oaks is well located for the Northshore or Auckland City using the ferry service. It's location is very quiet ( no traffic noise ) with wonderful views across the harbour to Auckland City and ample off street parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Nice hotel, lovely staff

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Every single person who works there were so lovely! Nice hotel :-) only bad thing was the sofa bed was really uncomfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua

Nice views

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It wasn't too big
Cons: It would've been nice to have another TV in the bedroom as our son was using the fold out couch to sleep. So we weren't able to watch tv.
Everyone at the Hotel were lovely to deal with nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Close to city by car and by ferry
Quiet, clean and comfortable. Great facilities. I enjoyed my stay there and wished I had spent more time in the hotel. The full apartment and kitchen make it a great option for self catering which saves money. Price was pretty competitive and better value than most other options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

terribly uncomfortable mattresses

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: it is at a great location and the rooms are specious.
Cons: the mattresses and the service.
Location:
We were staying at the hotel for 6 nights. The mattress was very uncomfortable. it was extremely soft and we felt like we are sinking. every morning I told reception and they promised to change the mattress for us but nothing has been done. My husband and I came for our holiday but we couldn't sleep for 6 nights. It was very frustrating and upsetting.We would never go there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Relly enjoyed staying in this hotel, a bit of noise from the buzz of the city, but a quiet location in general. Clean and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The view was relaxing and quiet, very tidy.
Cons: Mayb have the painters come in the morning or when guests are out, rather than closer to dinner time. Better ventilation around the paint fumes.
Location: Location was perfect for the event we attended.
We were very happy with location an the room itself. The unfortunate experience was the paint fumes. The floor that we were on had painters in the corridors @ 6:00pm, so the strong odor of paint was unpleasant, as well as plasterers dust. We had to put a towel under the door to reduce the fumes...