Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ohlala queenstreet on Friday night. For under 21

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Cons: TV was not working in my double/ensuite bedroom.
Location: Queenstreet in the weekend. Picture it. Not my cup of tea but it is very close to bus terminal. I arrived at 1am and left at 6am. What can I say.
(false) Fire alarm at 5.30am. Staff responded excellent. No panic -all (young) guest were evacuated without any problems. Compliments to the 2 staff members working that night/early morning. Thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Hostel centre city

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Staff did not give us any info on where we could find bathroom or kitchen facilities or overnight parking, also had not been told prior to check in we would be changed $20 for a key Bond. wait was long to check out as there was not sufficient staff to serve us promptly. However location was awesome and had no trouble with noise etc
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney , Australia

Allen and arun are rude and unprofessional.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: rudeness and unprofessionalisms , con-men and daylight robbery .
Cons: Their attitudes towards overseas travellers , Discrimination against travellers from Australia .
I call internationally from Sydney to Auckland as soon as I realise that I have booked and paid for the wrong date of arrival , the 7th-Oct ( I am scheduled to arrive on the 8th -Oct) .My call was only a few hours after I have booked and paid A $eighty-eight dollars for the room by credit card . Allen was rude and try to day-rob me that I have to pay $ one hundred and eighty dollars for the room that I have mistakenly booked and paid in full on the 7th . When I arrived at the Hotel on the 8th -Oct ( around 8pm ) to negotiate for a room that I have fully paid for , Arun again refuse to provide the room I paid for and try to sell me the same room for NZ $ one eighty dollars. This Hotel blames expedia.com for not notifying them of the cancellation before the 48 hours policy .I keep explain to Allen and Arun that I have just booked and fully paid for the room less than a few hours before the international call and this is not falling within their definition of changing my minds . They keep accusing me that every client can use this as an excuse despite I try to insight them that this is a genuine error on my part and I apologise for that .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and decent

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Just spent one night there and it was nice and chill. Everything was well maintained etc. Only thing that kinda bugged me was that the staff at the counter were a little rude and when we went to check in, the lady at the desk was just chit chatting to a man for about 10 mins before someone else came to the desk to assist
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Locatipn

Posted May 22, 2014
Good value but staff need customer service trainning
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible double room

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: luggage storage
Double room for 65$, NO Window, Air Conditioning is not controlable running all night, loud as you would try to sleep in an aircraft
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Cheap hostel in good location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: Clean bathrooms, upgraded.
Basic and tidy hostel in an excellent location off Queen Street. We wanted cheap accommodation for a night ot in the city. It was very cheap and just what we needed. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was very dated and not the cleanest. there were 2 toilets, 1 was broken. But I wasn't too concerned as we weren't spending much time there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by maryfrom Oamaru

Nice accommodation in the centre of Auckland!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: I liked that you could choose different grades of accommodation depending on price. ie room and shared shower or room and ensuite available.
Location: Handy to Vector Arena where all the best concerts are. Handy to local bars. McDonalds right across the street. Bus stops out front.
The staff were very helpful, the room was just as advertised and we were right on the main street of Auckland! Close to all the action!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mandyfrom Australia

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great central location with friendly staff.